Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Acne Treatments: Ratings of Sources

Total of 26 Sources
1. PaulasChoice.com
As of April 2013
Beautypedia Reviews: Anti-Acne Products
by Paula Begoun
Our AssessmentSkin-care expert Paula Begoun reviews and rates skin-care products from more than 200 brands. Begoun, who cites medical journals, cosmetic industry reports and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in her opinions, provides helpful information on the common ingredients found in skin-care products and cosmetics. In her reviews, she discusses value and effectiveness, listing the top picks for many categories. The website also includes several informative articles about acne and skin care in general. In short, this is a well-researched reference for beauty products across the board.
2. The Lancet
Dec. 18, 2004
Comparison of Five Antimicrobial Regimens for Treatment of Mild to Moderate Inflammatory Facial Acne Vulgaris in the Community: Randomised Controlled Trial
by Hywel C. Williams, et al.
Our AssessmentA British study of 649 participants compares the efficacy of five different antimicrobial skin-care regimens for the treatment of acne. These include benzoyl peroxide, oral antibiotics, topical antibiotics and combination treatments. Results show that benzoyl peroxide is the most effective treatment when considering efficacy and cost. No specific brands or products are mentioned in the article.
3. ConsumerReports.org
November 2011
Review of Acne Treatments
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors of ConsumerReports.org compare the efficacy of three benzoyl peroxide-based topical acne treatments as well as two heat-zapping devices. All of the topical treatments were effective and produced similar results. Editors recommend choosing benzoyl peroxide treatments based on the price. Although the heat devices were somewhat effective, they only reduced about 13 percent of targeted blemishes.
Meta-analysis Comparing Efficacy of Benzoyl Peroxide, Clindamycin, Benzoyl Peroxide with Salicylic Acid, and Combination Benzoyl Peroxide/Clindamycin in Acne
by E.M. Seidler, et al.
Our AssessmentThe authors of this report reviewed 23 studies, including 7,309 patients to compare the effects of 5 percent benzoyl peroxide, 1 to 2 percent clindamycin, benzoyl peroxide with salicylic acid and combination benzoyl peroxide/clindamycin. They concluded that a combination of benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid yields the best results, especially at two to four weeks of daily use. Combination benzoyl peroxide/clindamycin treatment yielded similar results at 10 to 12 weeks. The authors don't mention specific brands nor do they state the strength of the salicylic acid used. The results of each study aren't discussed.
5. Allure
October 2012
Best of Beauty: Skin Care
by Editors of Allure magazine
Our AssessmentAllure editors, cosmetics chemists, and dermatologists test thousands of products, choosing 245 as the best in their categories. Both old and new products are tested in order to find the best on the market. However, judging criteria are not clear, and non-winning products aren't mentioned. This year's winning acne treatments are Clean & Clear Advantage Acne Spot Treatment and La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo.
6. CEW.org
Not dated
2012 Beauty Awards: Winners
by Editors of CEW.org
Our AssessmentCosmetic Executive Women, a beauty industry trade organization of more than 4,000 executives, announces the winners of their 2012 Insider's Beauty awards. Beauty winners are chosen in several categories by CEW members, industry professionals and beauty experts. Kate Somerville Skin Care 24-Hour Pimple Punisher is the only winner in the acne treatment category. There is no information given as to why this product was chosen over others.
7. InStyle
May 2012
Best Beauty Buys 2013: Skin
by Editors of InStyle magazine
Our AssessmentInStyle editors list top beauty picks based on the favorites of industry experts. The winners are categorized by skin type, and a brief description is given for each. Acne treatments chosen include products from Bliss, Mario Badescu and Clinique. We're not sure why these products are chosen over others or whether they were tested and compared.
8. TotalBeauty.com
June 22, 2011
Clear Skin 101: Get Rid of Acne Scars
by Anna Jimenez
Our AssessmentThis article from TotalBeauty.com discusses acne scars and offers tips for reducing their appearance. Most of the products recommended, however, are designed to prevent acne rather than diminish scars. Makeup tips for concealing redness are also included. Although each of the over-the-counter products in this article are rated and reviewed by TotalBeauty.com members, their recommendations don't appear to be based on overall ratings.
9. Women's Health magazine
March 16, 2012
Get Clear Skin: OTC Acne-Fighting Ingredients
by Lauren A. Greene
Our AssessmentWomen's Health magazine discusses various over-the-counter acne fighting ingredients, including benzoyl peroxide, salicylic acid, glycolic acid, sulfur, retinol and tea tree oil. Product recommendations are given for each category, but nothing else is said about the products, and they don't appear to have been tested.
10. The New York Times
May 16, 2012
When 'Younger' Skin Is Not a Blessing
by Ayren Jackson-Cannady
Our AssessmentThe New York Times discusses acne treatments that are suitable for older women as well as the differences between adult and teenage skin. Several product recommendations -- mostly prescription medications -- are given by dermatologists interviewed for this article.
11. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
Double Trouble: Pimples and Wrinkles
by Nina Judar
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping offers suggestions for treating adult acne -- which tends to be different than teenage acne, if only because skin tends to get drier with age. Various products are recommended, but they don't appear to have been tested, and they aren't rated.
12. Prevention Magazine
November 2011
Best Adult Acne Treatments
by Jennifer Goldstein
Our AssessmentPrevention magazine discusses several possible causes of adult acne, including hormonal changes, diet and stress. A handful of acne treatment products are recommended, but it isn't clear if any of them have been tested.
13. Self Magazine
May 2012
2012 Healthy Beauty Awards: Face
by Editors of Self magazine
Our AssessmentEditors of Self magazine list the best beauty products of 2012. Top products are listed under face, body, makeup, hair and sun categories. Dr. Brandt Pores No More Pore Thing Tightening Memory Gel and Yes to Tomatoes Clear Skin Spot Stick are chosen as the best acne treatments. No comparison information is given, and the process in which products are chosen is unclear.
14. Better Nutrition
October 2011
Sensational Skin
by Emily Kane, ND
Our AssessmentBetter Nutrition magazine discusses natural ways to combat acne that don't involve use of hormonal treatments or antibiotics. The author suggests avoiding dairy and other "high-testosterone" foods such as beef, pork and other sources of mammal fat. She says that deep fried foods and "cheap" chocolate can also contribute to breakouts. Several supplements are recommended for prevention purposes.
15. About.com
Dec. 20, 2011
Bargain Acne Spot Treatments
by Angela Palmer
Our AssessmentAngela Palmer, About.com's acne guide, is a licensed esthetician and skin-care educator. In this article, she recommends several acne spot treatments. She says it's important to use them sparingly in order to avoid red and peeling skin. Each product is given a brief description, but it isn't clear if any of them have been tested, and none of them are rated or compared to others.
16. About.com
Not dated
8 Adult Acne Facts (Plus, How to Treat It)
by Julyne Derrick
Our AssessmentJulyne Derrick, About.com's beauty guide, discusses eight facts about adult acne. She states that one in five women between the ages of 25 and 40 suffer from acne but that treatments differ from those that are effective on teens. Several products are recommended, including the Zeno Acne Clearing Device, but none are rated or compared.
17. Cosmopolitan
Not dated
Zapped-Zit Rehab
by Editors of Cosmopolitan magazine
Our AssessmentEditors of Cosmopolitan magazine offer tips for reducing redness and scarring associated with acne. Daily sunscreen along with Visine eye drops and hydrocortisone cream are suggested for keeping redness at bay. For scars that have already formed, editors say that VersaPulse laser treatment is the best option.
18. MakeupAlley.com
As of April 2013
MakeupAlley Product Reviews -- Treatments
by Contributors to MakeupAlley.com
Our AssessmentOne thousand facial treatments, including acne products, are reviewed by members of this website. Product reviews can be sorted in a multitude of ways, making it easy for users to find the highest consumer-rated products as well as those that are reviewed most often. Some products receive hundreds of reviews while others receive only a handful. Among those with many reviews, Clean & Clear Persa-Gel 10, Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Lotion Exfoliant, Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment, Acne.org Treatment, and Desert Essence Tea Tree Oil receive the highest ratings. You must register (for free) to read the reviews on this website.
19. Acne.org
As of April 2013
Product & Treatment Reviews
by Contributors to Acne.org
Our AssessmentThis informative site was founded by Daniel Kern, a longtime acne sufferer. Kern uses the site to provide information and tips to those with acne-prone skin as well as to sell his own line of Acne.org products. He also posts user reviews and rankings for various acne products from other brands. Acne treatments with high ratings include Acne.org Treatment, Carley's Clear & Smooth Skin Treatment, Queen Helene Masque -- Mint Julep and Clean & Clear Persa-Gel 10.
20. Drugstore.com
As of April 2013
Acne Care
by Contributors to Drugstore.com
Our AssessmentConsumers can read and post reviews for products sold at Drugstore.com, which include several personal care items. Most of the acne-care products listed are reviewed at least once, but a few of them are reviewed hundreds of times. Of those that are reviewed the most, Neutrogena Clear Pore Cleanser/Mask, Bye Bye Blemish Drying Lotion, and Clean & Clear Persa-Gel 10 rate the highest.
21. Amazon.com
As of April 2013
Face Treatments: Acne
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentMost acne treatments listed for sale at Amazon.com are only reviewed a handful of times. And those with the most reviews aren't well known or easy to find in stores. Products from Neutrogena and AcneFree are among the highest-rated acne treatments with the most reviews.
22. Dermatology Times
Aug. 1, 2010
Birth Control Pill Added to Other Therapies Tackles Acne Flares
by Louise Gagnon
Our AssessmentDermatology Times discusses the efficacy of birth control pills in treating acne. It is suggested that birth control pills are effective at reducing hormonal flare-ups, but they are best used in combination with traditional acne therapies. Specific products are not rated for this article.
23. WebMD.com
Not dated
Coping with Acne: Your Care Plan
by Ayren Jackson-Cannady
Our AssessmentWebMD.com discusses acne scars as well as things that can exacerbate them. Treatment options are also covered -- including cortisone and fade creams -- but no specific brands are mentioned.
24. About.com
Nov. 19, 2012
What Is Acne?
by Angela Palmer
Our AssessmentThis informative article discusses the causes of acne as well as various treatment plans. Angela Palmer, an aesthetician and About.com's acne guide, calls acne "the most common skin disorder in the United States" and insists that there is no cure. She does, however, state that most cases can be controlled with an effective treatment plan. Palmer does not make any specific product recommendations but provides information on a variety of issues, including cystic acne and acne in skin of color. This site is helpful as an information source.
25. Prevention Magazine
November 2011
Fight Acne with a One-Two Punch
by Dana Hudepohl
Our AssessmentDana Hudepohl recommends combination treatments for people suffering from acne. Retinoids, for example, can be effective for all types of acne, but they are even more so when used in combination with hormonal, antibiotic or benzoyl peroxide treatments. A combination of benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid is suggested for those with mild cases of acne and those with severe cases might need prescription-strength medications. No specific products are reviewed, but a list of alternative, natural remedies is included.
26. About.com
Not Dated
Simple Tips to Cure Your Acne Naturally
by Jennifer Thoden
Our AssessmentJennifer Thoden, About.com's holistic healing guide, says natural remedies can be just as effective as medications in combating acne. She lists simple tips, such as washing the face twice daily and taking a multivitamin. It is suggested that it may take up to four weeks to notice results. No particular products are rated or recommended here.
Sponsored Links

Back to top