Page: 4 of 4

Air Conditioners: Ratings of Sources

Total of 9 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
May 2, 2016
Energy Efficient Window Air Conditioners
by Mary H.J. Farrell
Our AssessmentThis article, which is free to non-subscribers, reveals which air conditioners came out on top in ConsumerReports.org's latest round of air-conditioner tests. Top picks among models for small, medium and large rooms are named. However, you'll need a subscription to see the full test results as well as the test results for other models.
2. TheSweetHome.com
May 19, 2016
The Best Air Conditioner
by Liam McCabe
Our AssessmentFor TheSweethome.com's review on window air conditioners, editors combine advice from experts with their in-house testing, then use attributes such as energy efficiency, price and features to narrow the list down. The LG LW8016ER is identified as the best air conditioner for most rooms, while two other models from Frigidaire and Haier are named as good alternatives. However, the review only looks at models rated at 8,000 BTU, which the editors say is the most popular size at retail.
3. HomeDepot.com
As of June 2016
Window Air Conditioners
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com carries hundreds of window air conditioners and accessories, as well as a few through the wall models. Site features include a handy diagram to help shoppers select the right size window air conditioner and narrow the field according to BTU, square footage and price categories. Some models get only a handful of reviews, others get hundreds -- though those totals may include reviews originally posted on the manufacturer's site and also available elsewhere.
4. Lowes.com
As of June 2016
Room Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowes.com also sells a good selection of window and in-wall air conditioners from various makers, though Frigidaire models get the most feedback by far. Users say whether or not they would recommend their air conditioner. As we see elsewhere, some of these reviews may be culled from the manufacturer's website.
5. Walmart.com
As of June 2016
Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentThis retailer sells window air conditioners online and in its stores, carrying major brands such as GE, LG and Frigidaire. Many models have at least a handful of reviews, while some have hundreds and even more than a thousand. Window air conditioners make up the bulk of the offerings, but there's also a separate category for through-the-wall models and portable air conditioners.
6. Amazon.com
As of June 2016
Window Air Conditioners
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells a large variety of room air conditioners, including window air conditioners. Sizes range, from small 5,000-BTU units to large models that are 13,000 BTU and over. Most models only get a handful of ratings, though other -- especially older -- models could get hundreds, or even thousands of reviews. Elsewhere on the site, you can find feedback on through-the-wall and casement air conditioners. All reviews at Amazon.com are written by the site's users.
7. Popular Mechanics
Not Dated
7 Window-Mounted Air Conditioners in a Cool-Down Competition
by Heidi Davis
Our AssessmentPopular Mechanics tests seven window air conditioners in various sizes and presents its findings in a series of brief blurbs. Testing isn't well explained, but high points and low points are discussed. A few models are discontinued but several others are still readily available at retail.
8. BestBuy.com
As of June 2016
Window Air Conditioners
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentQuite a few window air conditioners are sold on BestBuy.com and many models have ample feedback -- 100 or more reviews in some cases. All reviews are from Best Buy users. The site also pulls in feedback from manufacturer sites but keeps that separate. In-wall models are also available, but, as typical, get scant feedback.
9. AJMadison.com
As of June 2016
Room Air Conditioners
by Contributors to AJMadison.com
Our AssessmentAJMadison.com is a NY-based Internet retailer dealing that sells lots of home appliances and electronics, including air conditioners. At last check, there were nearly 330 window and in-wall models offered. Most models don't get a ton of feedback, and what's here is sometimes supplemented by reviews originally posted at the manufacturer's site, but it's still worth checking out to get some additional insights into an air conditioner you are considering.

Back to top