Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Air Purifiers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
April 2012
Air Purifiers
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org conducts the most unbiased scientific tests of air purifiers. Editors test 32 air purifiers, ranking them from best to worst and identifying recommended models. Testers rate each model for dust, pollen and smoke removal (testing room filters on both low and high speeds) and noise at low and high speeds. Editors also estimate the annual cost of ownership for each model, based on energy and filter costs. Six air purifiers earn recommendations.
2. AllergyBuyersClub.com
Not dated
Air Purifiers
by Editors of AllergyBuyersClub.com
Our AssessmentAllergyBuyersClub.com is a retail website specializing in products that make life easier for allergy sufferers. Editors perform particle-removal testing in an unsealed office environment, and subjective criteria such as mechanical efficiency, noise level, ease of use, cost of ownership, filter access and customer feedback are factored into the ratings. Air purifiers are available in a variety of categories, from pet air purifiers to whole-house air purifiers. Models from IQAir are consistent winners across several categories.
3. AllergyBuyersClub.com
Not dated
Furnace Filters and Air Conditioning Filters
by Editors of AllergyBuyersClub.com
Our AssessmentRetailer AllergyBuyersClub.com also reviews furnace filters. The top ratings go to pricey washable furnace filters; they cost hundreds of dollars initially, but save money in the long term by eliminating the need for disposable filters. Disposable Filtrete filters -- which get the highest ratings elsewhere -- earn middling scores, while editors award EnviroSept Electronic and AC Furnace Filters with a perfect 5-star rating.
4. Air-Purifier-Power.com
As of July 2013
Top 10 Air Purifiers
by Ed Sherbenou
Our AssessmentAir-Purifier-Power.com is dedicated exclusively to air-purifier information, providing general background on air-quality issues as well as detailed reviews of more than 85 air purifiers and a top 10 list. Ed Sherbenou, who has multiple-chemical sensitivity and uses several of the units in his home and office, rates air purifiers based on 10 criteria, including construction quality, ozone issues, gas and odor removal, noise level and price-performance ratio.
2013 Directory of Certified Portable Electric Room Air Cleaners
by Editors of the Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers
Our AssessmentThe Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM) uses an outside lab to verify clean air delivery rates (CADRs) quoted by manufacturers for dust, tobacco smoke and pollen, and whether each air purifier meets the current FDA ozone limit of 50 ppb for medical products. Three Blueair air purifiers meet the ozone standard and deliver good performance (above 350 CADR) in removing dust, pollen and tobacco smoke.
6. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
Air Purifiers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThere are more than 7,000 products listed at Amazon.com in the air purifiers category, consisting of air purifiers, filters and related products and accessories. Honeywell air purifiers consistently get high ratings here, as well as some less expensive models by Whirlpool, Winix and Hamilton Beach. Several air purifiers have accumulated hundreds of owner-written reviews.
7. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
Furnace Filters
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com lists furnace filters separately from stand-alone air purifiers. Filtrete models get the highest ratings from consumers here, but overall most furnace filters earn high ratings from reviewers.
8. Apartment Therapy.com
April 8, 2008
Best Product: IQAir HealthPro Plus
by Gregory Han
Our AssessmentEditor Gregory Han tests the IQAir HealthPro Plus in his Los Angeles apartment alongside less expensive purifiers from Holmes and Honeywell. He measures particulates using a $2,000 laser gauge, also on loan from the IQAir company. The IQAir purifier drastically reduces particulates, far beyond the capabilities of the cheaper units. The review is detailed and easy to read.
9. Epinions.com
As of July 2013
Air Purifiers
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentThe majority of air purifiers listed at Epinions.com have just one or two reviews, if any. There are a few models which have accumulated a few dozen reviews or more, but it's necessary to scroll through dozens of pages to find products that have been reviewed. This site is most useful for finding further feedback on specific models after you've narrowed your options to just a few air purifiers.
10. The Washington Post
Nov. 26, 2009
Eliminating Pollutants from Your Home
by Beth Luberecki
Our AssessmentFurnace filters are designed to keep the furnace system clean -- not clean the air in your home, says Glenn Fellman, executive director of the Indoor Air Quality Association and Indoor Environmental Standards Organization. He tells The Washington Post that HEPA filter-based air cleaners are the best option if your home's air is dirty. The article notes that IQAir's HealthPro Plus earns top marks in reviews.
11. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
Healthy Household Helpers
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping tests and recommends four products to improve air quality or prevent the spread of bacteria. The Blueair 201 (now Blueair 203) air purifier is included for its ability to remove smoke, dust and pollen from the air. No other air purifiers are discussed or compared.
12. Today
Oct. 19, 2007
Clear the Air! Tips to Find Your Breathing Room
by Amanda MacMillan
Our AssessmentPrevention magazine editor Amanda MacMillan says ionic and other ozone-generating air purifiers can be harmful to health and that desktop air purifiers of any type are too small to make much difference. She advises switching to a true HEPA-filter model, specifically recommending the Honeywell HEPAClean 3-in-1 for its UV light and odor neutralizer.
13. The Daily Beast
April 3, 2005
Technology: A Breath of Fresh Air
by Editors of TheDailyBeast.com
Our AssessmentThis short article discusses four air purifiers for combating springtime allergies, based on features and price. The Blueair 201, Bionaire BAP1250, IQAir HealthPro Plus and WindChaser Ionic Humidifying Air Washer AAT2003 are mentioned. Editors say the IQAir was tested "in a basement that had been collecting dust for 20 years," but no mention is made that the other three models were tested.
14. AchooAllergy.com
Not dated
Top 5 HEPA Air Purifiers
by Editors of AchooAllergy.com
Our AssessmentAchooAllergy.com, also dedicated to products for allergy sufferers, does not recommend air cleaners that emit ozone, such as the Ionic Breeze. Editors do test some of the units, although not as scientifically as ConsumerReports.org does; for example, the site's reviewer says the "IQAir air purifier can remove up to 100 times more allergens than traditional HEPA air purifiers." Editors name the top five air purifiers based on their assessments.
15. AirPurifiers.com
As of July 2013
Air Purifier Reviews
by Editors of AirPurifiers.com
Our AssessmentAlthough geared toward sales, this site also provides detailed information on popular air-purifier brands, including some that aren't sold here. Alen and IQAir are given a Premier rating, with AllerAir and Austin Air rated as Very Good. Various air-purifier technologies are discussed; HEPA units are recommended over UV, ion-generating, ozone-generating and electrostatic units. While we take the ratings with a grain of salt, the general information is helpful.
Sponsored Links

Back to top