Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

All-in-One Printers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
All-in-One Printer Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org exhaustively tests 74 multifunction printers and provides scores for photo, text, graphics, scan and copy quality, as well as photo and text speeds, power use, versatility, convenience and maintenance ink use. Editors also calculate monthly ink costs before picking best buys. Users are invited to add comments on each printer, too, and some have amassed dozens of user reviews. Each printer gets a short write-up, where editors discuss details like ease of scanning and networking.
2. ConsumerReports.org
June 2013
The High Cost of Wasted Printer Ink
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentIn this free article, ConsumerReports.org reports that buyers often won't get as much mileage out of an ink cartridge as professional testers do. Editors run a real-world test -- printing just a couple of pages, every other day or so, and shutting off the printer between uses -- and find that only Brother printers are "consistently frugal with ink."
3. Computer Shopper
As of March 2014
Multifunction Printer Reviews, Ratings, and Pricing
by Editors of ComputerShopper.com
Our AssessmentComputerShopper.com thoroughly tests all-in-one printers and picks the best buys. Editors judge the printers' speed, quality, features and more. Printers get star ratings, so it's fairly easy to compare models -- although not as easy as at ConsumerReports.org, with its handy ratings chart.
4. PCMag.com
As of March 2014
MFPs
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentPCMag.com regularly reviews multifunction printers. Reviewers do an excellent job of comparing and reporting relative speeds complete with comparison charts, but we'd like to see direct comparisons of print quality as well. The best models earn an Editors' Choice rating, and editors maintain up-to-date lists of the top 10 all-in-one printers overall and top 10 wireless MFPs.
5. Which? magazine
Not Dated
Printer Reviews
by Editors of Which? magazine
Our AssessmentU.K.' s Which? magazine (similar to ConsumerReports.org in the U.S.) tests 118 printers and picks 31 best buys, including a large selection of all-in-one printers. Picks from a year or two ago are still included on the list, but plenty are up-to-date, top U.S. printers. Which? also surveys its members to find out which printer brands are the most -- and least -- reliable.
6. CNET
As of March 2014
Printers
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentCNET doesn't review as many all-in-one printers as the top sources do. Reviews spend more time on design and features than performance, but testers do judge print quality, and comparison charts show the print speeds of each model relative to the competition. Editors pick the best printers in several categories -- best overall, best all-in-one inkjet, etc.
7. PCMag.com
July 31, 2013
Readers' Choice Awards 2013: Printers
by Ben Gottesman
Our AssessmentPCMag.com conducts annual surveys of its subscribers. Readers rate printer manufacturers (though not individual models) on their reliability, tech support and frequency of repair. They also say how likely they would be to recommend the brand to others. Brother wins for the fifth straight year. Like Canon (its co-Readers' Choice), Brother printers very seldom need repair. Honorable mentions Samsung and Xerox have higher repair rates.
8. TrustedReviews.com
Feb. 19, 2014
Best Printer 2014: 5 Best Printers You Can Buy
by Michael Sawh
Our AssessmentThis roundup of printers covers the best models in several categories, including all-in-ones. Although only a short summary review is provided for each printer here, there are links to the full, detailed original reviews that include test results for speed and cost per page. While some of the models reviewed at this British site are available in the United States, others are not.
9. PC Advisor
As of March 2014
Multifunction Printer Reviews
by Editors of PC Advisor
Our AssessmentPC Advisor fully reviews many popular all-in-one printers, testing speed and print quality as well as setup and copying. Several all-in-one printers have achieved 4 out of 5 stars in the past year, but only one of them -- the Canon Pixma MG5550 -- earns a "Recommended" tag.
10. PC World
Nov. 26, 2013
Best Multifunction Printers (MFPs)
by Melissa Riofrio
Our AssessmentPC World's all-in-one printer reviews are not especially lengthy, but they generally cover the key issues, such as setup, speed and quality. PC World doesn't test as many multifunction printers as the top sources, but editors have found a few Epson, HP and Canon inkjet all-in-one printers worth recommending within the past year.
11. Expert Reviews
As of March 2014
Inkjet Multifunction Reviews
by Editors of Expert Reviews
Our AssessmentBritain's Expert Reviews posts a good number of reviews of multifunction printers. Write-ups are test-based, but not as well detailed as those found at some other top review sites. Editors name the best buys in several categories (budget, business, etc.). Many of the all-in-one printers reviewed here are available in the U.S., but under different model numbers.
12. Staples.com
As of March 2014
All Printers: All-in-One
by Contributors to Staples.com
Our AssessmentStaples sells lots of all-in-one printer models and attracts hundreds of customer reviews. The most popular multifunction printers (all HP and Epson models) have more than 1,000 or even 2,000 reviews. Brother and Canon all-in-one printers also attract lots of customer feedback. Like most retailer sites, Staples.com doesn't censor users posting negative reviews and plenty can be found.
13. BHPhotoVideo.com
As of March 2014
Printers
by Contributors to BHPhotoVideo.com
Our AssessmentThis retail photo equipment site sells a wide range of photo-centric printers -- including all-in-one photo printers -- and draws hundreds of customer reviews for the most popular ones. This is a great place to check owner feedback if you plan to print photos with your printer.
14. Amazon.com
As of March 2014
Printers and Ink
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon sells all-in-one printers from most major brands. Some multifunction printers have hundreds of reviews, others only a handful. The review page for each MFP includes a box that contrasts the most helpful positive and negative reviews, and that can be useful.
15. TechRadar.com
As of March 2014
Multi-function (MFD) Rated
by Editors of TechRadar.com
Our AssessmentThis British site's all-in-one printer reviews are testing-based and substantive, and ratings are provided. However, editors have reviewed only a few multifunction printers within the past year, and only one (the HP Photosmart 7520) earns TechRadar.com's "Recommended" tag.

All-in-One Printers Runners Up:

HP Photosmart 7520 e-All-In-One Est. $175

4 picks including: Amazon.com, PCMag.com…

Epson Expression Premium XP-810 Small-in-One Est. $165

3 picks including: Amazon.com, PCMag.com…

HP Officejet Pro X576dw Est. $700

3 picks including: Amazon.com, CNET…

Canon ImageClass MF6160dw Est. $340

2 picks including: Amazon.com, PCMag.com…

image
HP Photosmart 7520 Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $246.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Epson C11CD29201 Expression Premium XP-810 Small Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $199.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
HP OJPro x576dw Wireless Color Photo Printer with Scanner, Copier and Fax
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $1,022.21   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Canon Lasers imageCLASS MF6160dw Wireless Monochrome Printer with Scanner, Copier & Fax
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $399.00 $263.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top