Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4

Antivirus Software: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. PCMag.com
Dec. 10, 2013
The Best Antivirus for 2013
by Neil J. Rubenking
Our AssessmentPCMag.com reports on antivirus protection offered by stand-alone software and multi-application security suites. Neil J. Rubenking puts security and antivirus products through several tests and reports on the percentage of rootkits, scareware and total malware they are able to defend against, with separate results for malware blocking and removal. Independent lab results are also taken into consideration, and top performers are identified in twice-yearly roundups. Here, Rubenking names the best 2014 versions.
2. AV-Test.org
As of December 2013
Detailed Test Reports
by Editors of AV-Test.org
Our AssessmentAV-Test.org, an independent IT security institute, tests consumer antivirus programs on Android- and Windows-based systems. Programs are tested for malware protection, detection, performance and usability, with a separate score assigned for each criterion. The majority of products receive certification, but you can sort the list to find the very best performers.
3. Download.com
As of December 2013
Antivirus Software for Windows
by Editors of and contributors to Download.com
Our AssessmentDownload.com, a service of CNET, tests lots of stand-alone antivirus programs. Like many technology reviewers, Download.com doesn't always perform its own effectiveness tests, relying on independent lab tests instead. However, editors do judge the software's usability (installation, features, speed, etc). Users can also chime in with their own opinions, and they sometimes differ significantly. Antivirus programs with the best expert and user ratings earn a Download Pick.
4. Download.com
As of December 2013
Antivirus Software for Mac
by Editors of and contributors to Download.com
Our AssessmentDownload.com also rates antivirus software for Macs. Testing appears to be done, but write-ups are seldom as detailed as they are for many Windows antivirus programs. User ratings are posted as well.
5. PC Advisor
As of December 2013
Anti-virus Reviews
by Editors of PC Advisor
Our AssessmentThis British website tests the latest security software, including a few stand-alone antivirus programs. Each product gets an overall rating, with sub-ratings for ease of use, features and value. Write-ups are thorough, explaining what each program is like to use.
6. AV-comparatives.org
As of December 2013
List of Awards
by Editors of AV-Comparatives.org
Our AssessmentThis independent, nonprofit organization exhaustively tests antivirus programs' performance. Separate ratings are provided for different aspects of antivirus productions, including file detection, anti-phishing, real-world protection and more. However, full reviews for the latest versions aren't available yet.
7. AV-comparatives.org
Revised Aug. 19, 2013
Mac Security Review
by Editors of AV-Comparatives.org
Our AssessmentExperts at AV-Comparatives.org test eight antivirus programs on a Mac running OS X Mountain Lion, similarly to the way they test PC versions. All but one earn the site's Approved Security Product award.
8. Virus Bulletin
As of December 2013
VB100 Results Summary
by Editors of Virus Bulletin
Our AssessmentComputer magazines and websites don't always conduct their own antivirus testing. Instead, they contract with organizations such as Virus Bulletin. To earn Virus Bulletin certification, an antivirus program must detect all viruses "during both on-demand and on-access scanning," with no false positives. Dozens are tested, and most major brands pass the testing criteria. As a result, Virus Bulletin is helpful for ensuring your chosen software effectively prevents malware, but it's less helpful for picking the best programs overall.
9. Amazon.com
As of December 2013
Computer Security
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentOwner reviews are an excellent guide to issues that professional reviewers sometimes don't encounter -- such as system conflicts on a typical machine. However, reviews of the newest versions aren't particularly plentiful yet and free versions aren't rated at all.
10. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Security Software Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org performs excellent, unbiased testing of antivirus software -- but although a press release says this update was published in June 2013, it doesn't include the latest software versions. For example, one of the top-rated 2014 antivirus products gets a mediocre score here, because the 2013 version was tested.
11. Lifehacker.com
May 3, 2013
The Best Antivirus App for Mac
by Alan Henry
Our AssessmentLifehacker.com recommends Sophos Anti-Virus for Mac because it detects both Mac and Windows malware (so you won't unknowingly pass an infection to your Windows files). It's also "pretty resource light," Alan Henry says. Henry discusses the pros and cons of a few rivals (ClamXav 2, Avast and Avira) and mentions testing, but test methods aren't explained.
12. The Safe Mac
Nov. 14, 2012
Mac Anti-virus Detection Rates
by Thomas Reed
Our AssessmentThis website, dedicated to security on Macs, tested the ability of 16 antivirus software products to detect 51 malware threats on a computer running Mac OS X 10.8.2 (Mountain Lion). Sophos performs best, detecting over 90 percent of malware. Reed says Sophos "will probably become my top recommendation." In January 2013, he ran a different test for malware detection on the same programs (plus a few more), but he doesn't change his recommendation.
Sponsored Links

Back to top