Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4

Baby Cribs: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. Baby Bargains
10th Edition, 2013
Chapter 2: Nursery Necessities: Cribs, Dressers & More
by Denise and Alan Fields
Our AssessmentThis comprehensive book evaluates baby gear and common baby brands. Evaluations of popular cribs and baby furniture are based on expert testing and parents' reviews, as well as information from manufacturers and retailers. The website offers up-to-date information, additional reviews, recall information and forums for parents to discuss baby products.
2. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Crib Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org editors evaluate 20 cribs on their safety, construction and ease of assembly. They also test slat strength to the breaking point, look at compliance with federal safety regulations, and review mattress support integrity and hardware. Ease of assembly is rated based on the amount of time needed to assemble the crib plus the clarity of the instructions.
3. BabyCenter.com
2012
The Best Cribs
by Editors of BabyCenter.com
Our AssessmentEditors of BabyCenter.com team up with baby gear guru Jamie Grayson – and consider parent reviews from the BabyCenter.com blog and other websites -- to pick the winners and runners-up in their first annual BabyCenter Product Awards. They also factor in their own experiences as parents and solicit input from more than 2,000 moms.
4. Babble.com
Not dated
Babble Best Picks: Cribs
by Michelle Horton
Our AssessmentThis roundup lists the best cribs in 10 categories such as vintage, modern and more. There are also 15 "readers' choice" cribs. Reviews are brief, but include pros and cons. Horton doesn't explain the criteria she uses to make her picks, but she's a prolific and well-known product reviewer.
5. 10rate.com
Not dated
Best Baby Cribs: Top 10 Rated Baby Cribs 2013
by Brittany Rowland
Our Assessment10rate.com lists its top-10 cribs for 2013 after evaluating price, construction quality, safety certifications and features, features like changing into a toddler bed or having wheels, weight of crib, recall history and how well the features work together. Cribs are rated out of 10 points and ranked accordingly. The article also includes a buying guide.
6. iVillage.com
Aug. 1, 2012
Our Favorite Budget-Friendly and Beautiful Cribs -- Most Under $400!
by Julie Seguss
Our AssessmentiVillage.com lists 11 "budget-friendly and beautiful cribs" but shares no criteria other than price. Featured cribs are often found in other best-of lists, and reviews are brief and don't note any cons.
7. TheBump.com
Not dated
10 Cribs We Love
by Editors of TheBump.com
Our AssessmentEditors compile a list of their favorite cribs that cover a range of prices. Reviews are brief, and there are no drawbacks listed or comparisons made to other cribs. They also don't specify the criteria used to choose the cribs they evaluate.
8. About.com
Not dated
Top 8 Baby Cribs Under $250
by Heather Corley
Our AssessmentHeather Corley, the About.com guide to baby products, names her top eight baby cribs costing less than $250. Reviews are very brief and only positives are noted. She also doesn't explain the criteria she used to make her picks, other than price.
9. Amazon.com
As of March 2013
Cribs
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is one of a parent's best resources for real-world reviews of cribs. Posts are often quite detailed and even-handed. Some cribs may get less feedback than others, especially as the price goes up. Prospective buyers should read carefully, since owners sometimes wrongly fault a product for bad experiences with a seller or shipping. Readers should also beware of older reviews, which might discuss an older version of a product with flaws that have been fixed.
10. Babies 'R' Us
As of March 2013
Cribs
by Contributors to BabiesRUs.com
Our AssessmentSeveral very popular cribs are sold exclusively through BabiesRUs.com, making this a valuable source for real-world reviews of specific models. Dozens of owners post comments on most cribs, and they tend to be highly detailed and list both pros and cons. User feedback typically includes their experience with assembly and later conversions of the cribs.
11. Target.com
As of March 2013
Cribs
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentCribs don't get quite as many reviews here as at Amazon.com, but they tend to be thorough and honest, discussing pros and cons. This is a good source of information on real-world use of cribs, from assembly to long-term usage, and is especially helpful for making decisions about style and quality.
12. Buzzillions.com
As of March 2013
Crib Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentReviews at Buzzillions.com tend to be spread out over several styles, models or colors, and some older posts may refer to models or styles that are no longer available. However, there's a large amount of feedback here, and the site features a pros and cons breakdown at the top that makes it easy to find the highlights (or lowlights) of each crib.
13. Viewpoints.com
As of March 2013
Cribs
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentOwners post opinions on the pros and cons of their cribs and rate them on a 100-point scale. There's also a helpful rating of how many people would recommend each crib to a friend. There tend to be fewer reviews here than at other sites, but they're detailed and informative.
14. BabyEarth.com
As of March 2013
Cribs
by Contributors to BabyEarth.com
Our AssessmentThere are fewer reviews at BabyEarth.com than at other retail sites, but since it focuses on baby products, user comments tend to be very detailed. Some contributors come back a year or more after purchasing their crib to share updates on their experience and how well the crib has held up.
15. Giggle.com
As of March 2013
Cribs & Beds
by Contributors to Giggle.com
Our AssessmentThere are a good number of owner reviews at Giggle.com. They cover the pros and cons of cribs they purchased, but tend to be briefer than at other sites. One bonus is that the site often responds to customer issues, helping them solve problems they may have with the purchase.

Baby Cribs Runners Up:

Graco Lauren Convertible Crib *Est. $149

5 picks including: About.com, Amazon.com…

Ikea Gulliver Crib *Est. $100

4 picks including: BabyCenter.com, iVillage.com…

Baby Cache Heritage 4-in-1 Lifetime Crib *Est. $550

3 picks including: BabyCenter.com, Baby Bargains…

Stokke Sleepi *Est. $800

2 picks including: Amazon.com, BabyCenter.com…

image
Graco Lauren Convertible Crib, Cinnamon
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $179.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Stokke Sleepi Crib, Walnut Brown
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $799.99 $799.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top