Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Baby Monitors: Ratings of Sources

Total of 28 Sources
1. Baby Bargains
Tenth Edition, 2013
Around the House: Monitors, Diaper Pails, Safety & More
by Denise and Alan Fields
Our Assessment"Baby Bargains" covers all manufacturers of baby monitors in depth. Authors Denise and Alan Fields consider performance, ease of use and the brand's track record to come up with their overall rating for each brand. They also pick a few specific best-bet models. Reviews are comparative, thorough and unbiased.
2. BabyGearLab
May 28, 2012
The Best Baby Monitor Review
by RJ Spurrier
Our AssessmentThe editors of BabyGearLab.com review 14 popular baby monitors, subjecting them to tests that include range, sound clarity and battery life. The monitors are also compared by ease of use and features. BabyGearLab.com selects best overall and best buy. It also suggests ways to monitor your baby using an iPhone. BabyGearLab.com's product reviews are highly descriptive and detailed, going through each monitor feature by feature and discussing how it fared during testing.
3. BabyGearLab
March 28, 2012
The Best Video Monitor Review
by RJ Spurrier
Our AssessmentThe editors of BabyGearLab.com review eight popular video baby monitors, subjecting them to tests that include range, sound clarity, video quality and battery life. The monitors are also compared by ease of use and features. The editors select the best overall and best value, and they suggest ways to monitor baby using an iPhone. BabyGearLab.com's product reviews are highly descriptive and detailed, going through each monitor feature by feature and discussing how it fared during testing.
4. Which? magazine
As of March 2014
Baby monitors: Best Buys
by
Our AssessmentWhich? magazine, the U.K. equivalent of ConsumerReports.org, tests and rates 32 baby monitors for range, durability, sound quality and ease of use. While some of the models it covers are not widely used in the U.S., there is some crossover among major brands, making this a good resource for thorough reviews.
5. Babble.com
Not dated
Babble Best Picks: Audio Monitors
by Michelle Horton
Our AssessmentBabble.com editors chose 10 sound monitors for this roundup. Picks are made in a series of unique categories, including best overall, best value and best multi-tasking. The short reviews are balanced, offering pros and cons, and often comparative as well. But it's unclear when this report was written.
6. TheNextWeb.com
Sept. 4, 2012
What Is the Best Tablet or Smartphone Compatible Baby Monitor: Withings, BabyPing, iZon or Foscam?
by Matthew Panzarino
Our AssessmentTNW.com stands for The Next Web, and it's one of the largest online publications covering Internet technology news. Reviews tend to be written article-style, rather than roundup style, comparing several different models or technologies. The products are tested, and the reviews are thorough, including pros and cons and real-world advice.
7. Gizmodo.com
April 4, 2012
Withings Smart Baby Monitor Review: Always Watching, Always Judging
by Mat Honan
Our AssessmentGizmodo.com is a high-tech gadget blog that does product reviews and previews, as well as covering gadget culture in general. Its basic review model is discussion-based. But in the case of this review, the baby monitor was thoroughly tested by the writer.
8. The New York Times
Dec. 11, 2013
Keep an Eye on Children, or Other Valuables
by Kit Eaton
Our AssessmentThe New York Times, one of the nation's most respected newspapers, periodically includes product reviews such as this one on Dropcam. Reviews are thorough, well researched and balanced, though the relatively well-educated audience often focuses on pricier products.
9. Time magazine
Aug. 8, 2013
WiFi Baby Offers Beautiful Day or Night Video and Peace-of-Mind Mobile Monitoring
by Matt Peckham
Our AssessmentTime, a well-respected news and general-interest magazine, features several product reviews in its technology section such as this one on WiFi Baby. Reviews are thorough, well researched and balanced, though the relatively well-educated audience often focuses on pricier products.
10. BabyCenter.com
Not dated
The Best Video Monitors
by Editors of BabyCenter.com
Our AssessmentBabyCenter.com's roundup of five video monitors includes brief reviews that note pros and cons for each model. Picks are based on a combination of editors' opinions as well as parent reviews. It's unclear whether there was any actual product testing.
11. Amazon.com
As of March 2014
Baby Monitors
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAs one of the largest online retailers in the U.S. with a long-standing tradition of collecting user reviews, Amazon.com offers a wealth of user feedback on current and popular baby monitors. We were able to find numerous reviews of most monitors covered in this report. Amazon.com user reviews are useful for anecdotal information about monitors and for gathering consensus about a monitor's overall reliability.
12. Buzzillions.com
As of March 2014
Baby Monitor Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions
Our AssessmentBuzzillions.com is another helpful owner-review product site. Reviews are not quite as detailed, but a helpful feature tallies each listed pro and con so prospective buyers don't have to comb through every review quite as thoroughly. The site includes reviews from popular merchants such as BabiesRUs.com.
13. Target.com
As of March 2014
Baby Monitors
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com is a popular destination for purchasing nursery accessories and gear. It sells fewer monitors than Amazon.com, and there are fewer reviews overall. But user feedback tends to be detailed and helpful.
14. Walmart.com
As of March 2014
Baby Monitors
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com offers parent feedback on a range of baby monitors and is a particularly good source for opinions on basic models, such as analog and digital audio baby monitors. Customers rate products on a five-star scale and note whether they would recommend them to a friend.
15. Viewpoints.com
As of March 2014
Baby Monitors Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com allows users to rate and review consumer products that they own. Unlike users who post reviews at retail sites soon after purchase, reviewers at Viewpoints.com tend to have owned the product they are reviewing for a longer time, making it a good source for information about a product's reliability.
16. TopTenReviews.com
Not Dated
2014 Best Baby Video Monitor Reviews and Comparisons
by Karina Fabian
Our AssessmentTopTenReviews.com ranks 21 video baby monitors in the following categories: video monitoring, audio monitoring, design, and help and support. While reviews are in depth, noting pros and cons and comparing models, the methodology is unclear.
17. AlphaMom.com
Nov. 23, 2013
Baby Monitors: Which One Is Right For You And Your Baby?
by Kelcey Kintner
Our AssessmentAlphaMom.com is a website that caters to moms and moms-to-be. Its contributors provide thorough, comparative product reviews. Though the reviews are based on real-world testing, it's unclear how the products are picked.
18. Bestcovery.com
Aug. 21, 2013
Best Baby Monitor
by "Jamie C."
Our AssessmentBestcovery.com makes five audio and video picks for the "best baby monitor overall" category. The short reviews are informative, but they are not comparative and do not note many cons, if any, for each model. The product guide "expert" chooses top picks, and runners-up are based on user reviews from around the web.
19. Mashable.com
Feb. 27, 2013
5 App-Enabled Baby Monitors That Work With iOS Devices
by Amy-Mae Elliott
Our AssessmentMashable.com, a general interest site "for the connected generation," often features product roundups and reviews. This roundup of five baby monitors highlights important features, but it doesn't note any cons or reveal how these models were chosen for inclusion over others.
20. About.com
Heather Corley
Top 5 Baby Monitors
by The Best Digital and Analog Audio Baby Monitors
Our AssessmentHeather Corley, About.com's guide to baby products, selects the five best digital and analog audio monitors for this roundup review. While her reviews are nicely detailed, the article has not been updated for some time, and it's unclear whether models were tested.
21. About.com
Not dated
Best Video Baby Monitors
by Heather Corley
Our AssessmentHeather Corley, About.com's guide to baby products, selects five video monitors for this roundup review. Corley includes key details and benefits of each monitor, but it's unclear when the review was last updated or whether the models were tested.
22. InventorSpot.com
Not dated
Top 5 Best Baby Monitors
by Tamara Warta
Our AssessmentInventorSpot.com spotlights "new innovations, inventions and ideas from around the world." It features several product reviews and roundups. This roundup of five baby monitors features short but thorough reviews that note pros and cons, though it's unclear whether any testing was done.
23. GizMag.com
March 1, 2012
Withings Smart Baby Monitor Lets Apple-Users be Baby-Watchers
by Ben Coxworth
Our AssessmentGizmag.com offers technology-focused articles and reviews, and it has written about several high-tech baby monitors. This informative blog post details the Withings Smart Baby Monitor's capabilities without commenting on how they function, making it unlikely that testing was done.
24. ReviewMonkey.net
Not dated
Baby Monitor Reviews, Top 5 Best Baby Monitors
by Editors of ReviewMonkey.net
Our AssessmentReviewMonkey.net bases its picks on expert and owner reviews from around the web. Reviews are fairly thorough, including important specs, but they sometimes only have positive information. The baby monitor picks are accompanied by a buying guide that has helpful information but is poorly written.
25. Parents.com
Not dated
7 Baby Monitors
by Jessica Hartshorn
Our AssessmentParents.com selects seven baby monitors in this online roundup. The piece simply notes the best features of each model. It is unclear whether these models were thoroughly tested. Summer Infant's Baby Touch is the first monitor listed and is touted for its smartphone-like usability. It is not clear, however, if the monitors are ranked or randomly listed.
26. TheBump.com
Not dated
Best Baby Monitors
by Sarah Yang
Our AssessmentThe brief reviews name nine top baby monitors based on their key, unusual details, with categories that include: triple threat, iPad of baby monitors, and keep-it-simple monitor. The reviews include key details, but there is no indication that editors did any actual testing.
27. New York Family
Nov. 5, 2013
Quick Guide to the Best Baby Monitors on the Market
by Stacey Gawronski
Our AssessmentEditors pick 10 baby monitors for this best-monitor roundup. Each model gets a short review that focuses on its most distinctive characteristic. They do not include cons for a particular product. It's also unclear how the products were chosen and whether there was any testing.
28. Techlicious.com
April 13, 2012
The Best Baby Monitors
by Heidi Leder
Our AssessmentTechlicious.com is a technology-focused review site geared toward women. This roundup of three baby monitors includes short reviews that focus on distinctive features. It's not clear whether there was any testing, and the reviews are mostly positive and noncomparative.

Baby Monitors Runners Up:

Summer Infant Baby Touch Digital Color Video Monitor Est. $220

6 picks including: Amazon.com, Target.com…

Safety 1st High Def Digital Monitor Est. $45

4 picks including: About.com, Amazon.com…

VTech Safe & Sound Digital Audio Monitor Est. $31

4 picks including: Amazon.com, Walmart.com…

Dropcam Pro Wi-Fi Wireless Video Monitoring Camera Est. $200

4 picks including: Amazon.com, The New York Times…

Infant Optics DXR-5 Est. $100

4 picks including: Amazon.com, Baby Bargains…

WiFi Baby 2.0 Est. $200

2 picks including: Amazon.com, Time magazine…

Snuza Hero Est. $120

1 pick including: Amazon.com, Buzzillions.com…

image
Summer Infant Baby Touch Digital Color Video Monitor
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $219.99 $169.90   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Safety 1st High-Def Digital Monitor
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $54.99 $41.07   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
VTech Communications Safe & Sound Digital Audio Monitor
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $39.95 $29.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Dropcam Pro Wi-Fi Wireless Video Monitoring Camera
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $199.99 $185.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Infant Optics DXR-5 2.4 GHz Digital Video Baby Monitor with Night Vision
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $169.99 $90.51   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Snuza Baby Monitor, Hero
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $129.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top