Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Bathroom Scales: Ratings of Sources

Total of 21 Sources
1. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
How We Tested Bathroom Scales
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping tests 30 digital bathroom scales for accuracy and durability. Editors weigh three volunteers of various weights, and their readings are compared to the readings from a scientific calibrated scale and skinfold calipers. Formal ratings aren't provided, but reviews are well-balanced and include both pros and cons. EatSmart, Tanita, Salter and Escali are among the best scale manufacturers.
Step On the Digital Scale
by Editors of Women's Health magazine
Our AssessmentWomen's Health magazine editors recommend five bathroom scales, including several high-tech body-fat analyzers. Each scale receives a brief overview with comments from testers. However, the magazine's testing methodology is not explained, and there aren't ratings for accuracy or consistency.
3. Prevention Magazine
November 2011
We Test It: Bathroom Scales
by Denise Foley with Tanya Beers
Our AssessmentPrevention magazine testers evaluate nine high-tech bathroom scales by weighing a 10-pound plate and then weighing themselves with and without the plate. Finally, two testers are sent to East Stroudsburg University to be weighed using an underwater-weighing system (which experts say is the most accurate weight measurement), and results are compared. Several of the top-rated models have been discontinued, but the comparison chart is still useful for those models still available.
4. TheWirecutter.com
Jan. 17, 2013
The Best Bathroom Scales
by Alexander George
Our AssessmentReview website The Wirecutter offers a breakdown of the best high-tech scales on the market. The author's research seems to be based on a wide variety of formal reviews, but it is unclear whether he has personally tested any of the products. In the end, he recommends the EatSmart Digital Scale, the Withings WS-50, the Salter 200 Academy and the Fitbit Aria most highly.
5. Amazon.com
As of March 2014
Bathroom Scale
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is the best source for user reviews for bathroom scales where top-rated scales earn hundreds of reviews. EatSmart scales are extremely popular, particularly the EatSmart Precision Digital Bathroom Scale which earns more than 11,000 reviews. Negative reviewers were offered a free EatSmart replacement in order to encourage them to give a higher rating. Because of this, we looked beyond these ratings and identified additional models with top ratings, but with fewer reviews.
6. The Huntsville Times
Jan. 21, 2010
Step Up to Scale Back with Fabulous New Bathroom Scales
by Mary Anne Swanstrom
Our AssessmentThe Huntsville Times, an Alabama newspaper, writes about seven "fabulous" new scales. There aren't any details on why these scales were chosen over any other models. Each scale receives a brief overview, which focuses mainly on features or style.
7. CrunchGear.com
Feb. 9, 2010
Review: Withings WiFi Scale
by John Biggs
Our AssessmentThis individual product review covers the pros and cons of the Withings WS-50. Biggs doesn't compare the product to any other scales, but he does offer an informal breakdown of the WS-50's key features.
8. TheGlobeAndMail.com
Updated Jan. 4, 2011
Keep Track of Personal Stats with WiFi Bathroom Scale
by Chad Sapieha
Our AssessmentThis article ponders the necessity of Wi-Fi-enabled digital scales and discusses the author's experience with the Withings WS-50. Sapieha provides an in-depth account of the setup process, and he calls the WS-50 a luxury that would make a ubiquitous household appliance if the price were a little lower.
9. Viewpoints.com
As of March 2014
Health o Meter Professional Upright Scale Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com is a newer site to the consumer review scene and includes a handful of reviews for the Health o meter Professional Upright Scale. The scale earns an overall score of 88; most contributors express satisfaction with the product, but all the reviews are rather brief.
10. Apartment Therapy.com
Jan. 12, 2011
Best Bathroom Scales 2011
by Maxwell Ryan
Our AssessmentA total of 13 scales are recommended in this article (10 digital and 3 analog), although it appears that recommendations are based more on design appeal than functionality. The recommended models aren't tested, and it's not clear whether the author has personal experience with each. He notes that he owns one model: the Seca 803 Personal Digital Scale. Apartment Therapy has recommended the best bathroom scales for a number of years, and they conveniently link to prior reviews. About 25 readers weigh in with comments.
11. Bestcovery.com
Aug. 31, 2012
Best Bathroom Scale
by Kim Hill
Our AssessmentBestcovery.com includes a number of reviews of bathroom scales, although many are little more than the manufacturer's description. Editors name a best bathroom scale in each of three categories, including the EatSmart Precision Digital Bathroom Scale as best digital scale, the Taylor Precision 1130T Mechanical Bath Scale as best mechanical scale and the EatSmart Precision GetFit Digital Body Fat Scale as the best body-fat scale. It's not clear whether the recommended models have been personally tested.
12. TheSuburbanJungle.com
Feb. 18, 2012
EatSmart Precision GetFit Digital Body Fat Scale Review & Giveaway
by Editors of The Suburban Jungle
Our AssessmentIn this article, the author discusses her experience with the EatSmart Precision GetFit after receiving a free sample. Although the review is informal, she does test the scale several times for reliability and compares it against two other scales in her home.
13. SocialCafeMag.com
July 11, 2012
EatSmart Precision GetFit Digital Body Fat Scale
by Suzana Uzelac
Our AssessmentThis article also details a blogger's experience with the EatSmart Precision GetFit. Suzana Uzelac, who received the scale for free, says the product is easy to use and store. She also praises the scale's accuracy.
14. anutinanutshell.com
July 30, 2012
EatSmart Precision GetFit Digital Body Fat Scale + Giveaway
by Liz Mays
Our AssessmentIn this review, Liz Mays says she loves the EatSmart's "instant-on" technology, body metric measurements and stored profile capabilities.
15. Gizmodo.com
Dec. 3, 2009
Withings Wi-Fi Scale Review (A Scale for the Year 2010)
by Jason Chen
Our AssessmentThis short review discusses the Withings WS-50's functionality, and the author calls the scale "expensive but worth it."
16. About.com
Updated Aug. 27, 2011
Top 6 Body Fat Monitors
by Wendy Bumgardner
Our AssessmentWendy Bumgardner, the walking expert at About.com, offers general information about measuring weight and body fat, and lists five body-fat monitors and a digital skinfold caliper (another body-fat measurement tool). However, the body-fat monitors aren't tested. Reviews that have a clearly defined testing methodology rank higher in our chart.
17. Mashable.com
June 22, 2012
Can a Wi-Fi-Enabled Bathroom Scale Help You Lose Weight?
by Amy-Mae Elliott
Our AssessmentAmy-Mae Elliott reviews the Fitbit Aria Wi-Fi Smart Scale, mostly to determine if the Wi-Fi capabilities are beneficial; overall, her review is positive. She photographs various features of the scale, but offers no comparison to other Wi-Fi-enabled scales.
18. CNET
May 21, 2012
Fitbit Aria Wi-Fi Smart Scale Review
by Brian Bennett
Our AssessmentThis comprehensive video and article review of the Fitbit Aria features photos and screenshots illustrating its Wi-Fi capabilities. The author praises its easy setup and intuitive weight-loss motivating software. Unfortunately, this isn't a comparison review.
19. Walmart.com
As of March 2014
Scales
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com offers a large selection of bathroom scales, but most models don't receive the same volume of reviews as on Amazon.com. A number of models have accumulated a few dozen reviews or more; the Taylor line of bathroom scales is heavily reviewed and top-rated. The Taylor 7405 earns an average rating of 4.4 stars out of 5 in more than 350 owner-written reviews, while the Taylor Model 7506 maintains an average rating of 4.6 stars out of 5 in about 480 reviews.
20. Overstock.com
As of March 2014
Weight Scales
by Contributors to Overstock.com
Our AssessmentOverstock.com sells about 50 bathroom scales, most earning less than a dozen reviews. However, there are a few models garnering over 100 reviews. A few Taylor digital scales are top sellers, and Detecto upright physicians' scales receive high ratings from Overstock customers.
21. Familylicious.com
Feb. 23, 2011
EatSmart Precision Plus Digital Bathroom Scale Review and Giveaway
by "Debra92691"
Our AssessmentThis reviewer received the EatSmart Precision Plus scale for free in exchange for a review. She calls the scale easy to use and extremely accurate. She also notes that it's easy to see the display screen without her glasses on.
Sponsored Links

Back to top