Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Bathroom Scales: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. TheSweetHome.com
Jan. 8, 2016
The Best Bathroom Scales
by Melanie Pinola
Our AssessmentMelanie Pinola talks to experts, surveys site readers, and looks at other reviews to narrow down the range of scales to those most likely to please, then tests the candidates to find which ones perform the best. Testing is well explained and reasonable. Out of 12 candidates, a best basic scale, a best smart scale and several runners up are named. This article was updated in January 2016 to include a few scales that were introduced at CES 2016, though none that have supplanted the site's picks.
2. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Scales
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org tests six basic digital bathroom scales and six body-fat scales with a focus on accuracy and consistency. One digital model is singled out as a top performer, but all test out well enough to earn recommendations. The body-fat scales don't fare as well.
3. Good Housekeeping
As of January 2016
Scales
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping tests a wide variety of digital bathroom scales. Though the write-ups aren't very detailed, pros and cons are listed and a star rating is provided.
4. LiveScience.com
Feb. 25, 2015
Best Smart Scale: Fitbit Aria vs. Withings Body Analyzer
by Elizabeth Palermo
Our AssessmentLiveScience.com tests nine smart scales. Scales, judged on their ease of use, value of additional information (such as your body mass index or percentage of body fat), and overall accuracy. A top scale is named, as is a runner up and a budget pick.
5. Amazon.com
As of January 2016
Scales
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is the best source for user reviews for bathroom scales. Many scales earn hundreds of reviews, and some earn thousands. Review quality varies, but some are in depth and reflect extend use. Owners often return to update their review after years or month to comment on long-term durability and usage information.
6. Walmart.com
As of January 2016
Bathroom Scales
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com offers a large selection of bathroom scales, but most models don't receive the same volume of reviews as on Amazon.com. A number of scales have accumulated a few dozen reviews or more, and some get hundreds. Some may find the bottom line assessment of whether or not an owner would recommend their bathroom scale to a friend to be helpful.
7. BestBuy.com
As of January 2016
Scales
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com offers more than 150 bathroom scales of all types. Most get only a handful of reviews, but some get substantially more. Reviews tend to be short, but, like Walmart.com, owners have a chance to say whether or not they recommend their scale.
8. RickandKathy.com
Sept. 26, 2014
Bathroom Scales: Consumer Reports vs Good Housekeeping vs Amazon
by Rick Jamison and Kathy Schmidt Jamison
Our AssessmentIn this long post, bloggers Rick Jamison and Kathy Schmidt Jamison detail their search for a bathroom scale. They look at expert and user reviews, and report on their own experience with the scale they select. Most helpful, however, is a section on how to improve accuracy and prolong the life of any bathroom scale.
9. About.com
Updated Aug. 20, 2015
Top 8 Body Fat Monitors
by Wendy Bumgardner
Our AssessmentWendy Bumgardner, the walking expert at About.com, offers general information about measuring weight and body fat, and lists five body-fat monitors and a digital skinfold caliper (another body-fat measurement tool). However, the body-fat monitors aren't tested. Reviews that have a clearly defined testing methodology rank higher in our chart.
10. Overstock.com
As of January 2016
Weight Scales
by Contributors to Overstock.com
Our AssessmentOverstock.com sells about 70 bathroom scales, most earning less than a dozen reviews. However, there are a few models that draw more feedback, making it a good stop to get additional insight on a bathroom scale you might be considering.
11. BedBathAndBeyond.com
As of January 2016
Scales
by Contributors to BedBathandBeyond.com
Our AssessmentLike Overstock.com, we found relatively few reviews of bathroom scales at BedBathandBeyond.com, though with more than 60 models listed, it's still worth a look. Some scales receive dozens of reviews, but most get only a little feedback, and comments are typically brief.
12. BreakingMuscle.com
Not Dated
Product Review: Ozeri Touch Digital Bath Scale
by Becca Borawski Jenkins
Our AssessmentBreakingMuscle.com is a general training and fitness site. Though product reviews are a part of what you can find here, scale reviews are relatively rare. That said, this report on the Ozeri Touch is hands-on and balanced, with pros, cons and helpful tips discussed.

Back to top