Page: 2 of 2
In this report

Bike Locks: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. OutdoorGearLab.com
May 20, 2014
The Best Bike Lock Review
by Rylee Sweeney and Ross Robinson
Our AssessmentOutdoorGearLab.com conducts extensive research on seven bike locks, including tests with common bike-thief techniques and tools as well as a professional locksmith. The resulting reviews also consider ease of use, portability and versatility, ultimately rating each lock on a 100-point scale. Reviews and ratings are comparative, and a chart of important information helps prospective buyers compare information at a glance.
2. TheSweetHome.com
Nov. 19, 2015
The Best Bike Lock
by Eric Hansen
Our AssessmentHansen puts 12 of the best-reviewed locks out there to the test, including giving them to three bike thieves to see whether they would hold up to real-world theft techniques. Though security is a big factor in the ultimate recommendations, picks also take into account ease of use, portability and value.
3. Gizmodo.com
June 28, 2012
The Best Bike Lock
by Mario Aguilar
Our AssessmentGizmodo.com tests four popular bike locks against a bolt cutter, hacksaw and angle grinder. Aguilar describes each lock, including how well it holds up to each theft test plus a ranking out of 5 stars. The OnGuard Pitbull STD performs best, but is still easily broken by the angle grinder.
4. Bicycling.com
Oct. 25, 2013
Smash Lab: Bike Locks Broken
by David Howard
Our AssessmentBicycling.com commissions a bike mechanic to see how easy it is to crack chain locks, U-locks and cables, though it's not clear which were initially tested. After the tests, the site crowns a top U-lock and chain lock, but does not recommend any cable lock since none performs better than the competition.
5. BikeRadar.com
Not Dated
Reviews: Locks
by Editors of BikeRadar.com
Our AssessmentBikeRadar.com doesn't include comparative reviews in its extensive database, but these write-ups are valuable nonetheless. Although many bike locks discussed at this U.K. website aren't available in the U.S., each model is tested with various tools and assigned a rating out of 5 stars. Cycling Plus is a contributor to BikeRadar.com.
6. Amazon.com
As of June 2016
Bike Locks
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com includes hundreds of owner reviews of bike locks, making this a good place to find out how specific models hold up to real-world use. Many reviews are quite thorough, and reviewers often update their initial reviews after owning a lock long term. The brands Kryptonite and OnGuard consistently receive high ratings here.
7. Popular Mechanics
Feb. 28, 2013
Abusive Lab Test: Brawny Bike Locks
by Steve Rousseau
Our AssessmentTesters subject three popular U-locks to a variety of common theft techniques: Freeze and hammer, a bottle jack, and an angle grinder. All of the locks eventually gave way to the latter test, but it took a varying amount of effort. The short write-ups don't address ease of use, portability or other factors.
8. BikeSmarts.com
July 8, 2014
5 Good, Unbreakable Bike Locks for 2016: Lightweight Options and Tips
by Will Henry
Our AssessmentThis recently updated list includes five picks pitched for a variety of buyers, including those who want the strongest bike lock available and riders who might want something a bit more lightweight. Write-ups are detailed and appear to be based on real-world usage, though don't involve any systematic testing. A buying guide and bike security tips are also included.
9. HiConsumption.com
Not Dated
Chain Gang: The 5 Best Bike Locks
by M.W. Byrne
Our AssessmentDespite the name, this article actually reviews six bike locks at a variety of price points. The article is comparative and notes pros and cons. It also references real-world tests on each model, but it's unclear who conducted them. It specifically warns against any kind of cable lock, calling them a waste of money.
10. GearPatrol.com
Not Dated
Lockdown: 10 Solutions for Securing Your Bike
by Jeremy Berger
Our AssessmentThis roundup names the best locks in a variety of categories: best U-lock, best lock accessory, best folding lock, funkiest lock, and so on. The short blurbs are informative, but they aren't comparative and don't note cons for each choice. It also doesn't appear that any first-handing testing was conducted.
11. Slate.com
April 18, 2006
Avoiding the Bicycle Thief
by Scott Elder
Our AssessmentThis older article includes in-depth testing and comparisons of locks that are still available and continue to get top ratings in reviews. A bike commuter himself, Elder goes after nine locks with a crowbar, bolt cutters, a hacksaw with extra blades and "my trusty claw hammer." He tests chains, cables and U-locks, rating each on strength, ease of use and value.
12. REI.com
As of June 2016
Bike Locks and Security
by Contributors to REI.com
Our AssessmentREI.com allows customers to rate products on a five-star scale, detail their experience and state whether they would recommend the product. The bike locks available here are mostly higher-end and don't get as much feedback as they do on Amazon, but Kryptonite and OnGuard locks still net a number of reviews.
13. PerformanceBike.com
As of June 2016
Bike Locks
by Contributors to PerformanceBike.com
Our AssessmentPerformanceBike.com is an online specialty shop for bikes and all things bike-related. Again, there aren't as many reviews here as there are at Amazon, and the ones that are present aren't as informative. Still, the reviews include informative pros and cons, focusing mostly on offerings from Kryptonite and OnGuard.

Back to top