Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Blood Pressure Monitors: Ratings of Sources

Total of 17 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Blood-Pressure Monitor Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors at this consumer organization review 27 top-selling automatic blood pressure monitors (and two very similar models that weren't actually tested) for factors such as accuracy, comfort and convenience. This is the largest test we found of specific models, but only subscribers can read this report. A large number of models are recommended -- 11 out of 27 models.
2. British Hypertension Society
As of February 2014
Blood Pressure Monitors Validated for Home Use
by Editors of British Hypertension Society
Our AssessmentAlthough the nonprofit British Hypertension Society (BHS) doesn't test blood pressure monitors itself, it lists various types of units that have been tested by others using BHS or other well-accepted protocols. Only devices that are tested and achieve a grade of at least B for systolic and diastolic measurements are listed; the result is dozens upon dozens of approved monitors divided by their intended home or clinical uses. Arm and wrist units are described as suitable for home use, but BHS says arm blood pressure monitors are recommended because they're less prone to error. All of the monitors are available in the U.K., and many can be purchased in the U.S. None of the monitors receives much in the way of discussion, so it's impossible to single any out as better than the others listed; however, this is a useful reference if you wonder how well your blood pressure monitor measures up against established standards.
3. dabl Educational Trust
As of February 2014
Sphygmomanometers for Self-measurement of Blood Pressure (SBPM)
by Editors of dabl Educational Trust
Our AssessmentThe dabl Educational Trust compiles a lengthy list of blood pressure monitors, assigning each a Recommended, Not Recommended or Questionable status. The table also lists whether each device is certified by the Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation, the British Hypertension Society and the European Society of Hypertension, and briefly notes the circumstances under which the devices may or may not be used.
4. Daily Mail (United Kingdom)
Sept. 7, 2009
Under Pressure: There Have Never Been so Many Blood Pressure Testing Kits on the Market. But Can You Trust Them?
by Lucy Elkins
Our AssessmentEight home blood pressure monitors, some of which are available in the U.S., are tested in this report from a U.K. newspaper. Each is assessed for accuracy compared to a mercury sphygmomanometer, and each is evaluated for ease of use and features by a high-blood pressure patient and a physician. The A&D Medical LifeSource UA-767 Plus receives the highest rating.
5. Amazon.com
As of February 2014
Blood Pressure Monitors
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is, as always, a wealth of user reviews. This volume of feedback is particularly helpful for learning how the blood pressure monitors hold up under real-world conditions and how easy and comfortable they are to use. Standouts receive at least a 4.5-star average score after at least 75 user reviews. We also include the Panasonic EW3109W, which receives a 4.4-star score after more than 1,100 user reviews.
6. Drugstore.com
As of February 2014
Blood Pressure Monitors
by Contributors to Drugstore.com
Our AssessmentLike other major online retailers, Drugstore.com allows customers to write reviews of the products they purchase. Many blood pressure monitors have one or two reviews, but we found several models with a 4.5-star or better overall rating based on 10 or more reviews -- enough feedback to get a clear picture of what users really think.
7. Walmart.com
As of February 2014
Blood Pressure Monitors
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com stocks a variety of low- to mid-priced blood pressure monitors, many of which receive user reviews. Several models stand out with at least 40 user reviews and an average rating of 4.5 stars or more; a couple of models draw hundreds of user reviews.
8. Walgreens.com
As of February 2014
Blood Pressure Monitors
by Contributors to Walgreens.com
Our AssessmentMany of the blood pressure monitors sold at Walgreens.com have at least one owner review, and a few have attracted dozens. Five models stand out with a 4.5-star or better overall rating out of 5, based on nine or more user reviews.
9. HSN.com
As of February 2014
Blood Pressure Monitors
by Contributors to HSN.com
Our AssessmentHSN.com sells a surprising array of blood pressure monitors, although the Veridian brand dominates the highest-rated picks. Standout models have a 4-star or better rating after at least 10 user reviews; a few models have accumulated a couple hundred user opinions.
10. CVS.com
As of February 2014
Blood Pressure Monitors
by Contributors to CVS.com
Our AssessmentCVS.com sells almost 20 different blood pressure monitors, and most receive at least one or two user reviews. Just two, however, make the grade with a 4-star or better rating after at least 20 user reviews.
11. Blood Pressure Monitoring
February 2009
Home Sphygmomanometers: Validation Versus Accuracy
by Tekin Akpolat, et al.
Our AssessmentFive hundred automatic blood pressure monitors are evaluated in this study, which finds that about 72 percent of the units are inaccurate. Researchers find that devices meeting the British Hypertension Society's standards are much more likely to be accurate.
12. Rodale News
July 6, 2010
Accuracy of Home Blood Pressure Monitors Questioned
by Leah Zerbe
Our AssessmentThis article discusses a recent study from The American Journal of Cardiology on the accuracy of home blood pressure monitoring. The study's coauthor, Dr. Robert Kloner, offers insightful commentary on his research team's findings.
13. Blood Pressure Monitoring
August 2007
Validation of the Omron M5-I, R5-I and HEM-907 Automated Blood Pressure Monitors in Elderly Individuals According to the International Protocol of the European Society of Hypertension
by Stefano Omboni, et al.
Our AssessmentThis medical journal article tests the accuracy of three Omron blood pressure monitors. Two are designed for home use -- the Omron M5-I (upper arm) and Omron R5-I (wrist) -- and the third is a professional model. The article also highlights the importance of self-monitoring by patients at home.
Can Validated Wrist Devices With Position Sensors Replace Arm Devices for Self-Home Blood Pressure Monitoring? A Randomized Crossover Trial Using Ambulatory Monitoring as Reference
by George S. Stergiou, et al.
Our AssessmentThis study evaluates three blood pressure monitors to determine whether wrist devices with position sensors are effective for self-home monitoring. When using an ambulatory blood pressure device that's worn all day as a control for accurate readings, results reveal that the Omron 705-IT arm monitor comes closer to the control than the Omron HEM-637 (R7) wrist device.
15. Blood Pressure Monitoring
August 2008
The HoMedics BPA-200 and BPA-300 Home Blood Pressure Devices Fail the European Society of Hypertension International Protocol and Cannot Be Recommended for Patient Use
by Clarence E. Grim and Carlene M. Grim
Our AssessmentIn this medical journal abstract, two researchers report on their tests of two blood pressure monitors. The HoMedics BPA-200 and BPA-300 -- both upper-arm monitors -- fail to meet standards set by the European Society of Hypertension International Protocol.
16. USNews.com
As of February 2014
Blood Pressure Monitors
by Editors of USNews.com
Our AssessmentThis very brief article doesn't mention specific models of blood pressure cuffs. But it does, in conjunction with Pharmacy Times, relay that 67 percent of an unknown number of pharmacists surveyed recommended the Omron brand of blood pressure monitor. Runners up were HoMedics and LifeSource, with 13 percent of the vote each, and ReliOn, with 5 percent of the vote.
17. TheHeart.org
May 23, 2008
Home Is Where the Heart Is: Call for Greater Use of Home Blood-Pressure Monitoring
by Michael O'Riordan
Our AssessmentThis article cites the importance of home blood pressure monitoring for patients with hypertension and those at risk for other health problems. A scientific committee representing the American Heart Association, the American Society of Hypertension and the Preventive Cardiovascular Nurses Association caution patients to use only monitors that have been validated for accuracy and reliability according to standard international testing protocols. The article doesn't recommend specific units but lists features patients should look for in a home blood pressure monitor.

Blood Pressure Monitors Runners Up:

LifeSource UA-767 Est. $50

3 picks including: Amazon.com, Daily Mail (United Kingdom)…

Panasonic EW3109W Est. $60

2 picks including: Amazon.com, Walmart.com…

ReliOn BP300W Est. $45

1 pick including: Walmart.com, ConsumerReports.org…

image
LifeSource UA-767PV One Step Auto Inflate Blood Pressure Monitor with Medium Cuff
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $94.95 $39.60   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Panasonic EW3109W Portable Upper Arm Blood Pressure Monitor White/Grey
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $74.33   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top