Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Body Lotions: Ratings of Sources

Total of 31 Sources
1. Beautipedia.com
As of Aug. 2011
Body Care
by Paula Begoun
Our AssessmentIn this expansive online database, beauty expert Paula Begoun reviews and rates more than 45,000 skin-care and makeup products. Begoun and her team include medical journals, cosmetic industry reports and the Food and Drug Administration among their research sources, providing detailed information on the common ingredients found in body lotions and other products. She also discusses effectiveness, possible risks (e.g., skin irritation) and whether or not an item is worth its price. Begoun has reviewed several of the products covered by other reviewers, making her website a great cross-reference for our research. Note: Three "Paula's Choice" products are also listed as top picks, but since these are from her product line, their selection was not deemed credible.
2. Allure
Oct. 2010
Best of Beauty 2010: Body; Best of Beauty: Cheap Thrills; Best of Beauty: The Best Splurges
by Meirav Devash
Our AssessmentEditors of Allure magazine spend months testing thousands of beauty products for their annual beauty awards. In total, 190 products in several categories make the list for 2010. This year, editors named a Best Lightweight Body Lotion, Vaseline Aloe Fresh Protecting Body Lotion SPF 15, and a Best Rich Body Lotion, Johnson's Baby Cocoa & Shea Butter Creamy Oil. Editors say Johnson's Creamy Oil softens without feeling greasy and Vaseline's lotion improves skin tone and firms. Aquaphor Healing Ointment Advanced Therapy Skin Protectant also makes the list under "cheap thrills" for the second year in a row. On the other hand, Allure editors list La Mer The Body Creme in their "Best Splurges" category.
3. InStyle
Not Dated
Best Beauty Buys
by Editors of InStyle magazine
Our AssessmentInStyle magazine editors interview experts and test hundreds of products in every beauty category. Each winning product includes a description of its benefits and often quotes testers' experiences. CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion has been chosen as the "Best Body Lotion" for the last three years. In 2011, the InStyle staff also added the category "Best Eco-Friendly Body Lotion," which they awarded to Nature's Gate Oatmeal Body Lotion.
4. Self Magazine
May 2011
Healthy Beauty Awards: Body
by Editors of Self magazine
Our AssessmentEditors of Self Magazine list the best beauty products of 2010. The best body moisturizers, chosen by readers who tested the products,are separated into categories like Best Body Lotion for Day and Best Body Lotion for Sensitive Skin. Self editors list key ingredients in winning formulas and quote reviewers.
5. Shape magazine
Aug. 2010
Shape of Beauty Awards 2010: Creams and Cleansers
by Editors of Shape magazine
Our AssessmentThis is the seventh consecutive year in which Shape magazine rates beauty products. More than 3,000 readers, along with Shape staff and beauty experts, weighed in on a variety of skin-care, makeup and hair products. Winning body lotions are listed in the creams and cleansers category with an explanation of why users and pros alike selected the product.
6. Redbook
Not Dated
2011's Most Valuable Products
by Gina Way
Our AssessmentEditors of Redbook magazine list the top beauty products of 2011 according to its large panel of experts. Only one Best Moisturizer is named, with a brief description given for each category. Unlike many other magazines' "best" lists, Redbook lists all of their testers, with credentials, and describes the process they used to test in detail.
7. TotalBeauty.com
Not Dated
2011 TotalBeauty.com Awards: Face & Body
by Editors of TotalBeauty.com
Our AssessmentEditors of TotalBeauty.com compile this list of top face, body, makeup and hair products annually. In 2011, the editors named "Reader's Choice" winners, based on reader polls, and "Rising Star Editors' Picks." Awards include Best Body Lotion, Body Oil/Cream and Moisturizing Cream. The reviews include quotes from readers and an explanation of editors' picks.
8. Esquire magazine
Sept. 2010
The 2010 Esquire Grooming Awards
by Rodney Cutler
Our AssessmentRodney Cutler spends months testing hundreds of men's grooming products, including lotions, shaving creams and soaps. Top products are listed, each with a brief description, but judging criteria aren't clear. He lists both a favorite high-end and drug store lotion.
9. Marie Claire
Jan. 2010
Best Beauty Products of the Year
by Editors of Marie Claire magazine
Our AssessmentIn Marie Claire's annual roundup of the best beauty products, 30 winners are selected. In the "body" category, there are no basic lotions selected, however and anti-aging moisturizer and anti-cellulite cream are selected. In the 2011 list, no body lotions of any kind are selected.
10. Health
Not Dated
America's Healthiest Buys 2010
by Editors of Health magazine
Our AssessmentHealth magazine editors, along with a panel of dermatologists, test and rate new beauty products from 2010. Only the top 16 are listed, with St. Ives Intensive Healing Body Cream awarded the title of best lotion. The judging criteria are unclear, but seem to be based on effectiveness as well as value. It does not appear that Health has revised the roundup for 2011.
11. Real Simple
Feb. 2009
The Best Budget Moisturizers
by Sarah Smith
Our AssessmentReal Simple magazine editors test more than 100 budget body lotions to find 12 that stand out. Moisturizers containing glycerin, vitamin E, shea butter or nut oils are said to be the most effective. Each winning lotion is given a brief description, but judging criteria aren't clear and the non-winning products aren't listed. Lotions from Johnson's, Lubriderm, Nivea, Eucerin and others make the list.
12. TotalBeauty.com
Not Dated
13 Best Drugstore Body Lotions
by Sarah Carrillo
Our AssessmentThis article rounds up top user picks based on TotalBeauty.com reviews. The author quotes especially helpful user reviews, however she does not partake in any testing or reviewing of her own. While this is, essentially, simply a compilation of user reviews, which many other beauty sites also offer, this article proves to be a much easier read, with only the most helpful reviews included.
13. WebMD.com
May 2010
You Asked! Expert A's to Your Beauty Q's About Summer Moisturizers
by Liesa Goins
Our AssessmentDermatologists discuss the need for lightweight moisturizers during the summer months. Products containing petrolatum, glycerin or lanolin may be too heavy for the warmer season. Lotions containing aloe, jojoba or lactic and glycolic acids are better options. Dermatologists recommend several products, but the lotions aren't rated or compared. The article also adds that while anti-cellulite lotions won't work permanently, they can temporarily improve the look of cellulite. It states that caffeine may be an effective ingredient, but the massaging of problem areas that is required when using these products may work just as well.
14. Marie Claire
June 17, 2009
Sun Day School: The Best Products for Summer
by Ning Chao
Our AssessmentMarie Claire compiles a list of favorite summer products ranging from cellulite treatments to fake tanning products. The list includes three cellulite products at a variety of price points, but they aren't ranked and it's unclear how they were selected.
15. Natural Health
Oct. 2010
4 Secrets to a Younger, Healthier You
by Editors of Natural Health
Our AssessmentThis article lists the four ingredients Natural Health editors say will keep skin looking younger. They provide product recommendations for each of the ingredients, but body lotions only appear for the ingredients "Antioxidants" and "Omega-3 Fatty Acids." It is not clear how these particular products were chosen.
16. Associated Press
Feb. 1, 2010
Bag Balm Becomes Popular "Problem Salver"
by Editors of the Associated Press
Our AssessmentThis article, reprinted on the CBS News website, discusses the growing popularity of Bag Balm, an ointment designed to treat the irritated udders of milk cows. The balm slowly evolved into a skin cream as farmers' wives noticed the effect of the balm on their husbands' fingers. It is now used as a remedy for all sorts of treatments, ranging from chapped skin to sunburns and saddle sores. This article shares some anecdotes from users but doesn't compare the balm to any other products.
17. Esquire magazine
Sept. 11, 2007
The Endorsement: Body Lotion
by Rodney Cutler
Our AssessmentStating that many skincare products have strong feminine scents, Rodney Cutler lists suitable products for men. For those with flaky skin, Cutler recommends Vaseline Intensive Rescue and Kiehl's Creme de Corps with sunscreen. Products are not rated or compared.
18. About.com
Not Dated
Top 10 Baby Lotions and Baby Bath Products
by Robin Elise Weiss
Our AssessmentRobin Elise Weiss, About.com's guide to pregnancy and childbirth, lists 10 favorite baby products, several of which are lotions. The brief recommendations seem based on personal preference for smell and texture. Products from Earth Mama Baby Angel, Aveeno, Johnson's and Mustela make the list, but the criteria by which they are chosen are not clear. The products are not listed in any specific order and no ratings are given. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
19. Allure
Not Dated
Cellulite, Bacne, Veins, and More: Your Top Skin Embarrassments Solved
by Kayleigh Donahue
Our AssessmentEditors and dermatologists discuss common skin problems, including cellulite, spider veins, back acne and others. This article is informative, but recommended products aren't compared or rated, and no description of them is given. According to the experts, creams containing caffeine are effective at reducing the appearance of cellulite.
20. BellaSugar.com
April 7, 2008
Product Review: La Mer Body Cream
by Editors of BellaSugar.com
Our AssessmentEditors of BellaSugar.com, a beauty blog, describe La Mer The Body Cream as fabulous, but pricey. They recommend St. Ives Collagen Elastin Body Moisturizer as a less expensive alternative.
21. Babble.com
Not Dated
Best Baby Lotions
by Pamela Brill
Our AssessmentReviewer Pamela Brill provides insight as to why these baby lotions are her favorites, including which problems they treat and which products are fragrance and dye-free. However, Brill doesn't really describe how or if the products are tested, though it sounds like she's speaking from personal experience.
22. MakeupAlley.com
As of Aug. 2011
Body Lotions / Creams
by Contributors to MakeupAlley.com
Our AssessmentHundreds of body lotions are reviewed by members of this website. Product reviews can be sorted, making it easy for users to find the highest consumer-rated products, as well as those that are reviewed most often. Users can see how many reviews a product has received, along with the average rating and the likelihood of buying the product again, right on the main page. Body lotions from Aquaphor, The Body Shop, and Aveeno, among others, receive high ratings from hundreds of reviewers.
23. Drugstore.com
As of Aug. 2011
Body Lotions
by Contributors to Drugstore.com
Our AssessmentConsumers can read and post reviews for products sold at Drugstore.com, which include several personal care items. Users can see the average rating of 1 to 5 stars right on the main page. Most of the body lotions sold here are reviewed at least once, but a few of them are reviewed upwards of 100 times. Of those that are reviewed the most, 5-star ratings are awarded to Gold Bond Ultimate Healing Skin Therapy Lotion, Bag Balm and CeraVe Moisturizing Cream.
24. GoodGuide.com
As of Aug. 2011
Best Baby Lotion Ratings
by Editors of Good Guide
Our AssessmentThe staff at Good Guide ranks a vast number of baby lotions based on three categories: Health, Environment and Society. A score of 1 to 10 is awarded in each category, and products are ranked based on the average. The reviewers do not, however, evaluate how effective the products are.
25. WebMD.com
Dec. 28, 2010
Cellulite
by Reviewed by Louise Chang, MD
Our AssessmentThis article discusses the causes of cellulite as well as possible treatments. Treatment options listed include creams and lotions, healthy diet, massage and spa treatments and mesotherapy. The author says that creams and lotions are not effective and may be dangerous, but he or she appears to be referring to one specific ingredient, aminophylline, not caffeine, which was the most common ingredient seen in reviewed anti-cellulite creams. The author says that weight loss is the most effective way to improve the appearance of cellulite.
26. WebMD.com
June 2, 2011
Slideshow: Cellulite Pictures, Causes, Myths, and Treatments
by Reviewed by Louise Chang, MD
Our AssessmentThis slideshow offers a comprehensive list of cellulite treatments, however, it essentially concludes that none are effective permanently, and few are effective at all. Retinol creams, methylxanthine (which includes caffeine and aminophylline) creams, massage treatments, radio frequency, laser devices have all been shown to be temporarily effective in some cases or studies, yet ineffective in others.
27. Environmental Working Group
As of Aug. 2011
EWG's Skin Deep Cosmetics Database: Moisturizers
by Editors of CosmeticsDatabase.com
Our AssessmentThis website, sponsored by the Environmental Working Group, lists thousands of beauty products and gives them a hazard score from 0 to 10. Each product has its own page with a listing of the potential health hazards that its ingredients are linked to, such as cancer, reproductive problems and allergies. In addition to ingredients, the website also states whether or not a company engages in animal testing. While this site is very informative, it is more effective for users to cross-reference a lotion they've already selected or purchased; the site is not conducive to discovering new products a user may like. It also does not consider the efficacy of the product.
28. ABC News Radio
June 29 , 2011
FTC Calls Nivea's Bluff on Body Slimming Cream
by Sara Kugel
Our AssessmentThe article reports on a recent FTC ruling that Nivea maker, Beisedorf, Inc., misled consumers to believe that Nivea My Silhouette! would help users get thinner. The charge seems to focus on the claim that a user would be skinnier after using the product; it does not discuss whether anti-cellulite or skin-firming claims are accurate.
29. Allure Confessions of a Beauty Editor
Oct. 2006
Chapter 10: Body
by Linda Wells
Our AssessmentThis book offers tips and tricks of the trade for all aspects of beauty, from skin care and makeup to nail and hair care. Each chapter of the book discusses a specific area and ends with a list of "10 commandments." Wells does not review any products, but does offer tips for keeping the skin moisturized as well as recommended ingredients to look for in body lotions.
30. BabyCenter.com
Nov. 2006
Baby Body Care: Dry Skin
by Editors of BabyCenter.com
Our AssessmentThis article suggests that babies and children are just as susceptible to dry skin as adults and offers advice on how to treat it. Tips are simple and include cutting back on bath time, using a thick, emollient moisturizer and running a humidifier. No specific products are mentioned.
31. TheDailyGreen.com
March 3, 2008
Safe Alternatives to Baby Lotions and Wipes
by Deirdre Dolan
Our AssessmentDeirdre Dolan recommends alternatives to common baby products such as lotion and wipes. She says that typical baby products are full of phthalates, which can be harmful. Dolan warns, however, that labels can be deceiving and that just because a product says that it is natural does not mean that it truly is. She recommends natural baby products from Weleda, Erbaviva, Jurlique and Dr. Haushka. She also says baby lotion is not necessary for infants.
Sponsored Links

Back to top