Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Camping Stoves: Ratings of Sources

Total of 28 Sources
1. BackpackingLight.com
Not Dated
Upright and Remote Canister Stoves
by Roger Caffin
Our AssessmentBackpackingLight.com has the best testing of camping stoves by far. In its most recent review, BackpackingLight.com puts a number of canister stoves through boiling, efficiency and emissions tests. The testing is incredibly detailed and well documented, and each stove receives a short analysis explaining the test results. The only downside is that Roger Caffin doesn't make any specific recommendations -- some stoves boil faster than others and some have lower emissions, but Caffin doesn't specifically declare a test "winner."
2. BackpackingLight.com
As of Sept. 2009
Stoves, Tents and Carbon Monoxide - Deadly or Not?
by Roger Caffin
Our AssessmentOver the course of a year, Roger Caffin at BackpackingLight.com tests four camping stoves. While the focus of the review centers around carbon monoxide emissions, most of the stoves are also subjected to boiling and ease-of-use tests. The camping stoves are not rated, but it's clear from the commentary which stoves perform better than others.
3. Backpacker.com
June 2009
Canned Heat: Stove Reviews
by Casey Lyons
Our AssessmentBackpacker tests six inexpensive and lightweight camping stoves. Unlike other reviews we rank lower, Backpacker's boil-test results are detailed, so it's easy to see which stoves post the best marks. The Snow Peak LiteMax is deemed best overall, the Primus Express is the fastest boiler and the Optimus Crux Lite is picked as the best for gourmets. The MSR Pocket Rocket is the best bargain.
4. TGO
Aug. 2007
2007's Hottest Contenders
by Chris Townsend
Our AssessmentThis article is several years old, but most of the seven camping stoves reviewed in this comparative test are still on the market. Each stove is subjected to boiling and efficiency tests, and the author lists likes and dislikes for each model. The Primus Micron Ti 2.5 is the top scorer -- it the Primus EtaPower EF are listed as Best Buys. The MSR Reactor and Coleman Fyrestorm Ti also earn the designation of TGO Recommended.
5. TGO
Oct. 2007
Roaring to Go
by Chris Townsend
Our AssessmentTGO magazine conducts very informative reviews of outdoor gear, and this article is no exception. Chris Townsend tests eight multi-fuel camping stoves, and his testing process is clearly explained. Four camping stoves receive either a Best Buy or TGO Recommended label.
6. BackpackGearTest.org
As of Sept. 2009
Stoves
by Contributors to BackpackGearTest.org
Our AssessmentBackpackGearTest.org has some of the best owner-written reviews of camping stoves on the web. While there are only a handful of reviews for each stove, each review is incredibly detailed and covers nearly every aspect of using the stove while camping. Unfortunately, there is no rating system, so there is no way to know which stove is rated best overall.
7. Backcountry.com
Not Dated
Goat Test #1: Canister Stoves
by Rocky Thompson
Our AssessmentBackcountry.com is an online retailer of outdoor gear and equipment. For its customer newsletter, Backcountry.com conducts a fairly detailed test of canister camping stoves. Rocky Thompson evaluates how well four stoves perform in boiling, freezing, wind and rain tests. Each stove gets a rating for each of these tests, as well as an overall rating. The MSR Pocket Rocket is deemed the most practical choice.
8. RockAndIce.com
Dec. 2008
Field Tested
by Larry Amkraut
Our AssessmentRock and Ice magazine field-tests four camping stoves in its December 2008 issue. Each stove receives a lengthy review and rating. The MSR Reactor and Jetboil Helios earn the highest scores, while the Primus EtaPower Express and Coleman Fyrestorm Ti earn only average ratings.
9. GORP
Not Dated
Gorp Tested: Canister Stoves
by Keith Morton
Our AssessmentGorp.com tests six canister stoves, including the MSR Superfly and Snow Peak GigaPower. Keith Morton's testing process and criteria are very well detailed; he conducts boiling tests in optimal conditions, cool temperatures, high altitude and windy conditions. The stoves aren't rated, but the Snow Peak GigaPower Stove is listed as a favorite.
10. Seattle Times
Jan. 17, 2008
Cooking in the Backcountry: Three Systems Face the Heat
by Dan A. Nelson
Our AssessmentThis article reviews three "integrated cook set" products, which feature pots made specifically to attach to the stoves and high-efficiency heat dispersers. Testers took the stoves on hikes through the Sierra Mountains in California and Olympic National Park in Washington. All three brands -- Jetboil, MSR Reactor and Primus EtaPower -- fare well, but the Jetboil is the top overall pick. Hikers considered ease of use, efficiency and versatility. The MSR Reactor is deemed easiest to use. The Jetboil is the only stove to rate tops in two categories: efficiency and versatility. It boiled the most water (23 liters) from an 8-ounce gas canister and has many attachments, including a French press coffee maker.
11. Snewsnet.com
As of Sept. 2009
Stoves/Cookware
by Editors of SNews
Our AssessmentSeveral stoves are reviewed at SNews. Even though their testing process is not as well documented as the sources we rate higher, there is good information here. The reviews are lengthy and balanced, and each stove receives a score on a five-point scale. Unfortunately, only a few stoves have been reviewed in the last year.
12. Camping Life Magazine
June 2009
2009 Gear Guide: Stoves
by Rich Johnson
Our AssessmentCamping Life's annual gear guide includes a ton of camping-gear reviews, including camping stoves. The stoves included in the guide are picked by "editorial staff and expert contributors," and while the reviews are detailed, they're only moderately balanced. Few reviews note any drawbacks, and most of the content is an overview of the stove's features.
13. Camping Life Magazine
Not Dated
Gear Head: Brunton Wind River Range
by Stuart Bourdon
Our AssessmentIn this detailed single-product review, Stuart Bourdon at Camping Life evaluates the Brunton Wind River Range. While the stove is tested and it's clear that Bourdon has lots of good things to say about it, this is not the most balanced review we've seen.
14. Outside Magazine
April 14, 2008
"Gear Guy"
by Douglas Gantenbein
Our AssessmentIn this short Q&A article, Outside magazine's "Gear Guy" recommends three camping stoves for high-altitude camping above 10,000 feet. The MSR XGK EX, Optimus Nova and Brunton Vapor AF Expedition are all deemed good choices.
15. GearReview.com
As of Sept. 2009
Pack Stove Reviews
by Editors of GearReview.com
Our AssessmentSeveral camping stoves are reviewed here, but it appears that the reviews haven't been updated recently. However, several of the stoves featured are still on the market. There is no rating system, but reviews are lengthy and detailed. Since no stove is deemed best overall, this is a good source to use as a cross-reference.
16. Backpacker.com
April 2009
Get this Gear: Essentials from A to Z
by Editors of Backpacker
Our AssessmentFor their annual gear guide, the editors of Backpacker test more than 500 outdoor and camping products. Those selected for the guide are described as "proven performers." Only a few stoves are included, and each gets a one-sentence overview.
17. Outside Magazine
As of Sept. 2009
Gear: Camp Stoves
by Alicia Carr and Sam Moulton
Our AssessmentA few camping stoves have been reviewed recently by Outside magazine. The stoves are tested, although the testing criteria and results are not explained. Each stove receives a short analysis, but few drawbacks are noted. In a separate article, the Brunton Profile Duo earns an Editor's Choice award.
18. Men's Journal
Dec. 5, 2008
Gear of the Year 2008: Explore
by Adam Spangler
Our AssessmentThe Jetboil Helios earns a Gear of the Year award from Men's Journal. The review is based on testing, but Adam Spangler doesn't really explain why this stove beat out all the other camping stoves on the market. The Jetboil Helios gets a brief overview, with an emphasis on features.
19. GearJunkie.com
As of Sept. 2009
Gear Review Archive
by Stephen Regenold
Our AssessmentStephen Regenold writes a nationally syndicated column called "The Gear Junkie," but his reviews are also featured on his website. Most reviews are based on personal testing, and the majority are very detailed. The only downside is that few camping stoves have been reviewed recently.
20. Buzzillions.com
As of Sept. 2009
Camping Stove Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentBuzzillions.com compiles product reviews from numerous retailers, including Rei.com, Backcountry.com and others. Some camping stoves on Buzzillions.com attract hundreds of individual reviews, so this a good source to check for user opinions.
21. Wired
As of Sept. 2009
Sports and Outdoors
by Editors of Wired
Our AssessmentWired.com has reviewed few stoves recently. While their testing process is not well documented, each stove is rated on a scale of one to 10 and reviews are moderately detailed. The editors also list pros and cons for each stove.
22. Outside Magazine
May 2009
Outfitted for Ultralight Backpacking
by Jason Stevenson
Our AssessmentOutside tests a number of camping products that would be suitable for ultralight backpacking, but only one stove is included. It appears the gear has been tested, but each product only receives a one-sentence overview and no drawbacks are noted.
23. Trailspace.com
As of Sept. 2009
Stoves
by Contributors to Trailspace.com
Our AssessmentThis is a convenient site for checking user reviews of camping stoves because you can look up ratings a variety of ways -- by brand, type of stove and price. You can also sort according to the top-rated models. However, few stoves have attracted more than a handful of reviews and most earn similar average ratings. The reviews themselves are much more detailed and extensive than what you'll find on larger retailer sites like Amazon.com.
Best of Adventure: Must-Have Gear Photo Gallery
by Steve Casimiro
Our AssessmentThe Snow Peak LiteMax scores a Best of Adventure award from National Geographic Adventure. They call it the "world's lightest canister stove," although there is not much detail offered in this brief review.
Spring '09 Buyer's Guide
by Steve Casimiro
Our AssessmentOnly one camping stove scores a mention in this buyer's guide from National Geographic Adventure. The Brunton Profile Duo Range/Grill Combo receives a brief overview, but the stove is not rated in any way.
26. Sunset magazine
Not Dated
Best Camping Gear
by Lora J. Finnegan
Our AssessmentLora Finnegan writes a list of the "best camping gear" for Sunset magazine, but there are few details shared in this brief article. The items included on the list have been staff tested, but each product only receives a one-sentence overview. No drawbacks are noted.
27. TheBackpacker.com
As of Sept. 2009
Stoves Reviews
by Contributors to TheBackpacker.com
Our AssessmentThe user reviews and ratings here aren't as useful as at Trailspace.com and BackpackGearTest.org, because you can't sort the list to see the top-rated stoves first. Rather, stoves are alphabetized, leaving you to do a lot of digging to find the top-rated models. That said, there are many stoves reviewed here.
28. Amazon.com
As of Sept. 2009
Camping Stoves and Accessories
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentUnlike many other products on this vast website, camping stoves have received very few reviews. Most stoves that attract more than a handful of reviews receive similar average ratings, although it is pretty easy to see which stoves do not get high marks. User review sites like BackpackGearTest.org and Buzzillions.com are more useful for camping-stove reviews.

Camping Stoves Runners Up:

MSR Pocket Rocket *Est. $40

3 picks including: Backcountry.com, Backpacker.com…

Snow Peak GigaPower Stove *Est. $50

3 picks including: GORP, Backcountry.com…

Optimus Nova/Nova+ *Est. $135

2 picks by top review sites.

Brunton Profile Duo *Est. $85

2 picks by top review sites.

Optimus Crux Lite *Est. $40

2 picks by top review sites.

Primus Atle BBQ *Est. $90

2 picks by top review sites.

MSR Whisperlite Internationale *Est. $80

2 picks by top review sites.

Brunton Vapor AF *Est. $110

2 picks by top review sites.

image
MSR Pocket Rocket Stove
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $39.95 $37.95   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Snow Peak Gigapower Auto Stove
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $49.95 $40.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Optimus NOVA+ Fuel Stove
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $159.95 $140.58   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Brunton New Profile Duo Range/Grill Combo Stove
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $111.99   
Average Customer Review:  
image
Optimus Crux Lite Camping Stove
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $39.95 $34.97   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
ATLE PROPANE BBQ GRILL/STOVE
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $83.99   
Average Customer Review:  
image
MSR Whisperlite International Liquid-Fuel Stove
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $89.95   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Brunton Vapor AF All Fuel (liquid and butane) Expedition Stove
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $227.00   
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top