Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6
In this report

Can Openers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 18 Sources
1. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
Oct. 1, 2008
Can Openers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentThe editors of Cook's Illustrated test eight "safe" can openers -- six side opening and two traditional top-cutting models -- to find a cheaper alternative to their previous top choice. This article was re-posted online, and the results are available to subscribers.
2. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
May 1, 2009
Jar Openers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentThe editors of Cook's Illustrated test six jar openers on everything from a tiny vanilla bottle to a quart of pasta sauce. The full details and results are available to subscribers.
3. ConsumerReports.org
Jan. 19, 2012
Who Makes the Best Can Opener? It Depends
by Daniel DiClerico
Our AssessmentA panel of testers for ConsumerReports.org tests an undisclosed number of manual can openers. There's no single standout model, but pros and cons are given -- without their proprietary ratings matrix -- for five models that seem to have generally operated well.
4. AnnaAndKristina.com
May 3, 2009
Can Openers
by Kristina Matisic and Anna Wallner
Our AssessmentShopping bloggers Kristina Matisic and Anna Wallner ask a Meals On Wheels facility to test four can openers by Zyliss, Oxo, Swing-A-Way and Kuhn Rikon. The Zyliss Lock & Lift wins out, but the Swing-A-Way model is named a budget pick. Matisic and Wallner also share tips for choosing the best can opener.
5. Amazon.com
As of October 2013
Can Openers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentDozens of can openers are reviewed on Amazon.com, with many models receiving thorough comments from more than 50. Standouts receive a 4.5-star rating after at least 85 user reviews, although we've relaxed that requirement somewhat for jar openers. We've also included the West Bend 77203 Electric Can Opener, which gets 4.4 stars but more than 1,100 reviews.
6. Cooking.com
As of October 2013
Can Openers
by Contributors to Cooking.com
Our AssessmentCooking.com is a solid source for kitchen appliance feedback, although can openers aren't reviewed as frequently as other products. Standout models average a score of at least 4.5 stars (out of 5) after thirty or more user reviews.
7. Walmart.com
As of October 2013
Can Openers
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com contains less than a dozen can openers, and just two models receive a 4.5-star or better rating from a significant number of customers (more than 200).
8. Chicago Tribune
Aug. 31, 2011
Opening Acts
by Lisa Futterman
Our AssessmentAn unidentified group of testers evaluate six manual can openers for features like ease of puncture and comfort of grip. Each model receives a brief review that addresses pros and cons.
9. Viewpoints.com
As of October 2013
Can Openers Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com has reviews on more than a dozen can openers, ranging in price from $18 to $200. Most models receive just a few user comments; we selected anything with a score of 85 or better (out of 100) after at least 19 user reviews, plus models rated a 90 or better after 10 reviews.
10. Target.com
As of October 2013
Can Openers
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget carries several dozen can openers on their retail website, but just six meet our criteria for a 4-star or better rating after at least nine user reviews. The reviews are typically frank and to the point; each reviewer assigns an overall rating, plus individual ratings for quality, value and ease of use.
11. BedBathAndBeyond.com
As of October 2013
Kitchen Tools & Gadgets
by Contributors to BedBathAndBeyond.com
Our AssessmentThree can opener models stand out with a 4-star or better rating after at least 10 reviews on BedBathAndBeyond.com. Reviews are brief but helpful, with occasional constructive criticism.
12. Ace Hardware.com
As of October 2013
Can & Jar Openers
by Contributors to AceHardware.com
Our AssessmentAce Hardware sells a decent selection of can openers. Of these, three models, all from Swing-A-Way, earn noteworthy scores: 4.5 stars or better after at least 10 user reviews. Reviews are usually brief and to the point, with a short list of pros and cons included.
13. About.com
Not Dated
Top Easy Openers - Best Openers to Open Jars, Bottles, Medicine
by Mariette Mifflin
Our AssessmentMariette Mifflin, About.com's guide to housewares and appliances, recommends kitchen products that make life easier for people with arthritis or those who cook often. The list includes several can openers along with a can opener/jar opener combination tool.
14. The Guardian
April 7, 2010
The Test... Can Openers
by Editors of The Guardian
Our AssessmentUnidentified testers evaluate an undisclosed number of can openers, eventually selecting three as the best. Each receives a short, mostly positive review. No further details are given on the testing process.
15. About.com
Not Dated
Top 6 Electric Can Openers
by Barbara Whiting
Our AssessmentBarbara Whiting, About.com's guide to stay-at-home parenting, recommends six electric can openers. A brief summary is provided for each, although it doesn't appear the can openers have been directly tested in any manner.
16. About.com
Jan. 30, 2013
Arthritis-Friendly Can Openers
by Carol Eustice
Our AssessmentCarol Eustice, About.com's expert on arthritis, recommends six can openers that are easy to use, lightweight, durable and hands-free. She says a good can opener is a must-have for those suffering from arthritis. It is unclear whether the recommended models have received any hands-on testing.
17. BiteOfTheBest.com
Not Dated
Bonnie Tandy Leblang, Bryan Leblang and Eric Leblang
by Editors of Bite of the Best
Our AssessmentA food writer and her two sons contribute to Bite of the Best, which is dedicated to all things food related: kitchen products, restaurant reviews, recipes, local events and more. Both the Black & Decker Lids Off Jar Opener and the Tupperware Can Opener earned places in the "Featured Bites" section, with ratings of 4 crowns out of 5 possible. While the authors tested the can openers, they are not compared directly, and both reviews are at least five years old.
18. Boston.com
Oct. 18, 2009
Just the Ticket for Frugal Foodies
by John M. Guilfoil
Our AssessmentIn this article, reporter John Guilfoil recommends the best kitchen appliances in several categories based on price. He singles out the West Bend Electric Can Opene but says the manual Oxo Good Grips Soft-Handled Can Opener is a good budget pick. It is not clear if any hands-on testing was done.
Sponsored Links

Back to top