Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Can Openers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. TheSweetHome.com
April 21, 2015
The Best Can Opener
by Nick Guy
Our AssessmentNick Guy and his fellow reviewer (a lefty with chronic hand pain) test 11 manual and 6 electric can openers by opening 954 ounces' worth of small and large cans at a homeless shelter. They measure how many full turns of the knob each takes (or how many seconds, for electric openers). They also ask several experts about their favorite openers. Guy picks the best manual and electric openers, explaining why others didn't win.
2. Cook's Illustrated
April 1, 2015
Can Openers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentThe editors of Cook's Illustrated test seven manual can openers -- both side- and top-cutting models -- by opening hundreds of various-sized cans. They judge how easily the openers attach, operate, detach and dispose of the lid, as well as their safety. A safety-style opener wins the test; the results are available to subscribers.
3. Cook's Illustrated
July/August 2015
Jar Openers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentThe editors of Cook's Illustrated test seven jar openers on everything from a tiny vanilla bottle to a quart of pasta sauce. The full details and results are available to subscribers.
4. ConsumerReports.org
Jan. 19, 2012
Who Makes the Best Can Opener?
by Daniel DiClerico
Our AssessmentA panel of testers for ConsumerReports.org tests an undisclosed number of manual can openers. There's no single standout model, but pros and cons are given -- without their proprietary ratings matrix -- for five models that seem to have generally operated well. This article is free to read, even by those that don't have a subscription.
5. The Wall Street Journal
Dec. 14, 2012
Can Openers
by WSJ Test Kitchen
Our AssessmentThe Wall Street Journal's Test Kitchen tests almost a dozen electric can openers and names one clear favorite. Testers also try out an unspecified number of manual can openers, picking four favorites ranging from $2 to $50. They briefly explain the pros and cons of each pick.
6. Chicago Tribune
Aug. 31, 2011
Opening Acts
by Lisa Futterman
Our AssessmentAn unidentified group of testers evaluate six manual can openers for features like ease of puncture and comfort of grip. Each model receives a brief review. Testers like four of the can openers, but not the other two.
7. AnnaAndKristina.com
May 3, 2009
Can Openers
by Kristina Matisic and Anna Wallner
Our AssessmentShopping bloggers Kristina Matisic and Anna Wallner ask a Meals On Wheels facility to test four manual can openers (although this is an older test, all four are still current, easy-to-find models). Two traditional top-cutting can openers -- a budget pick and a midpriced one -- are the favorites. Matisic and Wallner also share tips for choosing the best can opener.
8. Amazon.com
As of October 2015
Can Openers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentHundreds of can and jar openers are reviewed by owners on Amazon.com. Standout electric and handheld manual can openers typically receive a 4.5-star rating after at least 1,000 user reviews, (at least 500 reviews for jar openers).
9. TheKitchn.com
Nov. 28, 2011
Product Review: Fissler Magic Smooth-Edge Can Opener
by Emily Han
Our AssessmentIn this single-product review, Emily Han reports that she has finally found a good can opener to replace her old, trusty one that finally rusted. After trying (and rejecting) some newer designs, she finds that the Fissler Magic Smooth-Edge Can Opener works well.
10. Walmart.com
As of October 2015
Can Openers
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com sells several popular brands of can openers, although not as many as Amazon.com. Two electric can openers earn a 4.5-star or better rating with more than 300 customer reviews posted.
11. AceHardware.com
As of October 2015
Can and Jar Openers
by Contributors to AceHardware.com
Our AssessmentAce Hardware sells several popular brands of can and jar openers. We see fewer reviews here than elsewhere, but some models attract a dozen or more. Reviews are usually brief and to the point, with a short list of pros and cons included.

Back to top