Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Canister Vacuums: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Canister Vacuum Cleaner Ratings & Reliability
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org conducts ongoing vacuum cleaner testing. In this latest update, about 45 canister vacuums, bagged and bagless, are rated for performance on bare floors, carpet and pet hair. Total airflow, noise, emissions and ease of use are also considered. Canister vacuums are then ranked by total score; some are Recommended, some are Best Buys.
2. Reviewed.com
As of April 2015
by Editors of Reviewed.com
Our AssessmentReviewed.com looks at a number of canister and upright vacuums, considering factors such as effectiveness of included accessories, handling and performance. Every tested vacuum gets a thorough overview, including comparisons to comparable vacuums. Top products are clearly identified by Editors' Choice and Best of the Year designations.
3. TheSweetHome.com
Feb. 25, 2015
The Best Home Vacuum Cleaners
by Liam McCabe
Our AssessmentLiam McCabe combines hours of research to narrow down dozens of top-rated vacuum cleaners to five, three uprights and two canister vacuums, which he then puts through his own tests. Vacuums are tested for performance, durability and maneuverability. Ultimately he names a Miele upright model as the best vacuum cleaner, but he also recommends two Miele canister vacs.
4. Amazon.com
As of April 2015
Canister Vacuums
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells a variety of canister vacuums, including several compact models and a few designed to perform better at pet-hair pickup. A number of models accumulate a few hundred consumer reviews, while others have thousands. Many owners come back after months or years to update their posts, offering an excellent overview of long-term durability and customer service experiences.
5. BestBuy.com
As of April 2015
Canister Vacuums
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com sells more than 65 models of canister vacuum cleaners, including some designed for heavy-duty commercial use. Many receive just a handful of comments from users. While others get dozens of reviews. Top-reviewed vacuums are easy to spot, and customers can indicate if they would indicate the vacuum to a friend.
6. Walmart.com
As of April 2015
Canister Vacuums
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentA search for canister vacuums at Walmart.com turns up hundreds of different models, including a few with hundreds of user reviews. Compared to Amazon.com, vacuums generally receive higher overall ratings here and owner comments are more positive, albeit shorter and less detailed. Higher-end vacuums tend to get fewer ratings.
7. HomeDepot.com
As of April 2015
Canister Vacuums
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com sells a few dozen canister vacuums, several of which attract feedback from dozens of owners. Although some of the models that pop up in this category are designed for commercial use, we found the most positive reviews for Dyson, Eureka and Hoover vacuums. Some reviews include ratings for factors such as quality, value and features. Many come from HomeDepot.com customers, but others come from manufacturer web sites and can be seen on other sites as well.
8. Lowes.com
As of April 2015
Canister Vacuums
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowes carries just over 20 canister vacuums, and some get a few dozen reviews, others get more than 100 -- though that number is often skewed by reviews originally posted at the maker's site. Dyson and Bissell are top rated here. From the search page, you can see the total rating of each canister vacuum, as well as a brief description and the option to compare each canister vacuum to other products.
9. Sears.com
As of April 2015
Canister Vacuum Cleaner
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com is the best destination to find reviews on the Kenmore brand of vacuum cleaner -- which is a Sears' label. However, Sears also sells most of the top brands of vacuums -- more than 500 upright vacuums and related products -- either itself or through Marketplace sellers. You can filter your search by categories such as, Asthma & Allergy Friendly, Bare Floor Cleaning or Designed for Pets, to name just a few options.
10. Kohls.com
As of April 2015
Canister Vacuums
by Contributors to Kohls.com
Our AssessmentKohls.com carries fewer canister vacuums than other retail sites, just about two dozen. Many look like they have accumulated a good number of owner-written reviews -- though, again, many originate elsewhere, such as the manufacturer's web site.
11. About.com
Not Dated
The Better Vacuum: Upright or Canister?
by Kris Jensen-Van Heste
Our AssessmentIn this informative post, Kris Jensen-Van Heste looks at the difference between canister and upright vacuums, and makes some suggestions for how to choose the vacuum that's best for your household and needs.
Sponsored Links

Back to top