Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Car Batteries: Ratings of Sources

Total of 10 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
April 2013
Car Batteries
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors at ConsumerReports.org test 56 car batteries. They rate expected car battery life, cold-cranking amps (CCA) and reserve capacity, culminating in an overall score. Editors rank the batteries from best to worst, pointing out Recommended picks and bang-for-the-buck Best Buys.
2. ConsumerReports.org
April 26, 2013
Beware: The Best and Worst Replacement Car Batteries Can Be From the Same Brand
by Jim Travers
Our AssessmentIn this free article, ConsumerReports.org cautions buyers not to shop by brand. For example, a DieHard Advanced Gold battery tops the latest test for Group 65 size, but the same battery in Group 48 size scrapes the bottom of the rankings.
3. Cars Direct
Nov. 6, 2013
The Best Car Battery Brand to Use for Lasting Performance
by Andrew Kaufman
Our AssessmentCarsDirect.com recommends seven car battery brands, but no specific models: Kirkland, EverStart, AC Delco, Duralast, DieHard, Napa and Optima. Each brand gets a paragraph explaining its strengths and weaknesses.
4. The Truth About Cars
Dec. 17, 2009
Product Review: Optima Batteries
by Sajeev Mehta
Our AssessmentAre expensive Optima car batteries worth it? Not for the average car, Sajeev Mehta says, but for the right off-roader, racecar or other specific job, they can be. Mehta covers Optima RedTop and YellowTop pros and cons in geek-level detail.
5. AdvanceAutoParts.com
As of February 2014
Batteries
by Contributors to AdvanceAutoParts.com
Our AssessmentHundreds of customers evaluate the car batteries sold here. Advance's AutoCraft Gold brand rates highest -- one version averages 4.5 stars out of 5 in more than 800 reviews -- followed closely by AutoCraft Silver. Optima RedTop, YellowTop and BlueTop batteries earn nearly perfect scores, but with far fewer user posts.
6. Amazon.com
As of February 2014
Car Battery Reviews
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells mostly Optima and Odyssey batteries. Several models get high marks with lots of owner reviews posted, so if you're in the market for one of these brands, this is a good place to check. However, many popular brands -- DieHard, Interstate, EverStart and more -- aren't sold here.
7. Walmart.com
As of February 2014
Auto & Marine Batteries
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart sells primarily EverStart car batteries, but most get only a few owner reviews. The EverStart Maxx 8 is a customer favorite, earning an average of 4.6 stars out of 5 with nine comments posted.
8. Kmart.com
As of February 2014
DieHard Car Batteries
by Contributors to Kmart.com
Our AssessmentOddly, we found next to zero reviews for DieHard car batteries at Sears.com, but there are a few at its sister retailer Kmart. DieHard's Gold series gets generally good feedback.
9. FatWallet.com
December 2006
Kirkland (Costco) Auto Batteries Any Good?
by Contributors to FatWallet.com
Our AssessmentSeveral members of this thrifty-oriented website recommend Costco's Kirkland car batteries as the best deal around. Users report that they start reliably year after year -- even at 20 degrees below zero -- and one says a mechanic advised, "Just get one at Costco." This is an older thread, but Kirkland batteries still get high marks in expert tests.
10. ConsumerPete.com
As of February 2014
Kirkland Car Battery -- Any Good?
by Contributors to ConsumerPete.com
Our AssessmentKirkland car batteries have a good warranty, ConsumerPete.com points out: They'll replace it if it dies within three years, with prorated refunds if the battery conks out between 36 and 100 months. Posters have commented on this article for more than three years. Some got six years out of their Kirkland batteries; others say theirs died within two or three years and they got the refund.
Sponsored Links

Back to top