Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Car Batteries: Ratings of Sources

Total of 10 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Car Batteries
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors at ConsumerReports.org put 61 car batteries through the wringer -- repeatedly draining and recharging them, and exposing them to harsh temperatures. This free article lists six top performers in popular sizes. Paid subscribers can access the full test results, with a handy table that rates each car battery's expected life, cold-cranking amps (CCA), reserve capacity, and overall score. Editors rank the batteries from best to worst, and subscribers write owner reviews.
2. ConsumerReports.org
April 26, 2013
Beware: The Best and Worst Replacement Car Batteries Can Be From the Same Brand
by Jim Travers
Our AssessmentIn this free article, ConsumerReports.org cautions buyers not to shop by brand. Jim Travers notes that it's not uncommon for a brands batteries to be top rated in some size groups, but finish toward the bottom in others.
3. Cars Direct
Nov. 6, 2013
The Best Car Battery Brand to Use for Lasting Performance
by Andrew Kaufman
Our AssessmentCarsDirect.com recommends seven car battery brands, but no specific models. Each brand gets a paragraph explaining its strengths and weaknesses.
4. Autos.com
Oct. 7, 2013
Best Car Battery Brands on the Market
by Autos.com Editor
Our AssessmentHere's another car website that recommends its favorite car battery brands. Once again, there's no mention of testing, but each brand gets a paragraph discussing its strengths.
5. TheTruthAboutCars.com
Dec. 17, 2009
Product Review: Optima Batteries
by Sajeev Mehta
Our AssessmentAre expensive Optima car batteries worth it? Not for the average car, Sajeev Mehta says, but for the right off-roader, racecar or other specific job, they can be. Mehta covers Optima RedTop and YellowTop pros and cons in geek-level detail.
6. AdvanceAutoParts.com
As of September 2015
by Contributors to AdvanceAutoParts.com
Our AssessmentHundreds of customers evaluate the car batteries sold here. Advance's AutoCraft batteries get top billing, but other batteries, including the Optima RedTop and YellowTop batteries, get lots of feedback.
7. Amazon.com
As of September 2015
Car Batteries
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells mostly Optima and Odyssey batteries. Several models get high marks with lots of owner reviews posted, so if you're in the market for one of these brands, this is a good place to check. However, many popular brands -- DieHard, Interstate, EverStart and more -- aren't sold here.
8. Walmart.com
As of September 2015
Car and Marine Batteries
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart sells primarily EverStart car batteries. While it's the best resource for user feedback for this battery line, most sizes draw only a few reviews, though a few get 20 or more ratings.
9. Sears.com
As of September 2015
Car Batteries
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentWe found a few reviews for DieHard car batteries at Sears.com; one model gets 16 reviews, but most get only one or two reviews. DieHard Advanced Gold batteries generally get the best feedback.
10. ConsumerPete.com
As of September 2015
Costco Car Battery Review
by Contributors to ConsumerPete.com
Our AssessmentCostco no longer sells its much-loved Kirkland car batteries, Consumer Pete reports; instead, it sells Interstate batteries. The warranty is still good (Costco will replace the battery if it fails within 42 months), but different from the old Kirkland warranty (replaced if failure within 36 months, with prorated refunds up to 100 months).
Sponsored Links

Back to top