Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Cat Food: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. PetsumerReport.com
As of April 2015
Cat Foods
by Susan Thixton
Our AssessmentSusan Thixton reviews and rates cat foods based on their first five ingredients. If Thixton deems all five to be quality ingredients, the food gets 5 paws; four quality ingredients, 4 paws, and so on. (Canned food can earn a maximum of 4 paws because the extra water or broth -- although beneficial -- doesn't count as a quality ingredient here.) Thixton reports on each company's manufacturing facilities, supply chains, controversial ingredients, etc. This is an excellent site for checking out specific brands, both big and small.
2. TruthAboutPetFood.com
As of April 2015
Truth about Pet Food
by Susan Thixton
Our AssessmentSusan Thixton, author of PetsumerReport.com, also maintains this blog. She digs deep into the world of pet food and nutrition, researching ingredients, reporting on news and recalls, and more. Selected reviews from PetsumerReport.com are reprinted on occasion. Thixton also offers a subscription-based list of foods that she would personally feed a pet; it includes eight cat food brands.
3. FDA.gov
As of April 2015
Recalls & Withdrawals
by U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Our AssessmentThe FDA posts pet food recalls on its website, organized by date. This is the place to find out whether a cat food you're using -- or considering using -- has been recalled.
4. About.com
Not Dated
Top Canned Cat Food
by Franny Syufy
Our AssessmentThis is an excellent site for all-around cat information. About.com cat guide Franny Syufy names her choices for the best canned cat foods in this list, all of which she says "could form a sound basis for your cat's diet." They are ordered in the preference of her own cats. Natural Balance leads the list, with Syufy complimenting the company on its testing program. Although each cat food gets only a short write-up, the site does address almost every imaginable question about cat food, and the background information articles are helpful.
5. About.com
Not Dated
Premium Dry Cat Foods for Adult Cats
by Franny Syufy
Our AssessmentHere, Franny Syufy lists the best dry cat foods. She says she would feed any of them to her cats and personally rotates through several of the named foods.
6. CatInfo.org
Updated November 2014
Commercial Foods
by Lisa A. Pierson, DVM
Our AssessmentAlthough Lisa Pierson, a veterinarian, is a proponent of feeding cats a raw-meat diet, her site includes a list of what are called high-quality commercial cat foods. The list is based on nutritional information provided by the manufacturer rather than on testing, but the accompanying discussion explains the rationale for inclusion in extensive detail. Pierson also publishes an extensive table of nutritional information for commercial cat foods (but not dry foods).
7. PetFoodRatings.org
As of April 2015
Cat Food Listings & Reviews
by Editors of PetFoodRatings.org
Our AssessmentThis website analyzes cat foods based on their ingredients and provides ratings for quality and price. Each food is discussed, and the editors comment on strong points and weak ones. Cat foods are listed alphabetically rather than by score, but there are also lists that name the best cat foods and best grain-free cat foods. However, the site rates only dry food varieties, not canned.
8. PetFoodTalk.com
As of April 2015
Cat Food Reviews 2015
by Editors of PetFoodTalk.com
Our AssessmentHere, you'll find reviews (with star ratings) for many popular cat food brands on the market. A wide variety of cat food brands are rated, with five selected to be included in a list of the "best" cat foods, though some that rate just as well -- and in some cases higher -- don't make the cut and the reasons are not explained.
9. 1800PetMeds.com
Not Dated
Comparison Center: Compare Your Pet's Food
by Editors of 1800PetMeds.com
Our AssessmentThis helpful tool at 1800PetMeds.com compares cat foods' ingredients -- both premium and supermarket brands. It's easy to search and compare up to three foods at a time, and a handy chart lets you know which ingredients each food has and why it's good or bad. The advice here matches up well with other reliable sources, but several popular premium brands aren't included.
10. CatNutrition.org
Not Dated
by Anne Jablonski
Our AssessmentThis site has an excellent overview of raw food diets for pets. The author has really done her homework in terms of understanding the natural feeding habits of dogs and cats and developing recipes and recommendations for feeding according to natural guidelines. A nutritional breakdown of the recommended raw recipe is provided. If you are looking for an alternative to commercial cat foods, this is an excellent place to start your research -- and you'll also find a recommendation for a commercial cat food that comes very close to the diet recommended here.
11. IBDKitties.com
Not Dated
Recommended Food
by Editors of IBDKitties.com
Our AssessmentThis website is dedicated to helping those with cats suffering from feline inflammatory bowel disease (IBD). It includes a lengthy list of foods without low-quality grains, dairy products or certain additives and spices known to irritate cats with IBD. Most are higher-quality foods, but specific varieties of some supermarket brands that have ingredient profiles that should be tolerated by cats with IBD are listed as well.
12. Amazon.com
As of April 2015
Cat Food
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells everything from supermarket cat food to high-quality brands and varieties that are hard to find anywhere else. Cat foods of all types often get hundreds of reviews, while a handful draw more than a thousand. Some reviews are short and not very helpful, but others go into long detail about what makes a cat food good or bad.
13. Chewy.com
As of April 2015
Cat Food & Treats
by Contributors to Chewy.com
Our AssessmentChewy.com is another destination where you can find feedback for a wide variety of cat foods. Many foods have fewer reviews than at Amazon.com, though it's not unusual to see dozens or even hundreds of owner-written opinions for a given variety.
14. OnlyNaturalPet.com
As of April 2015
Cat Food
by Contributors to OnlyNaturalPet.com
Our AssessmentThis online retailer's cat food offerings are primarily higher-end varieties. Several of the natural foods sold here have amassed more than 100 reviews. Most get fairly high ratings.
15. Petco.com
April 2015
Cat Food
by Contributors to Petco.com
Our AssessmentThis is the website of the giant pet store chain. It shows each food's rating right on the main page -- but you'll need to click through to the product page to see how many reviews each food has accumulated. Many cat foods get no more than one or two reviews, and the reviews themselves are less structured than those at other user-review sites. The website does single out a few "top-rated" cat foods, though the criteria for making that list is not explained.
Sponsored Links

Back to top