Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Cat Litter: Ratings of Sources

Total of 14 Sources
1. Catster.com
Nov. 20, 2012
We Review Five Nontraditional Cat Litters
by Caroline Golon
Our AssessmentCaroline Golon writes at Catster.com, a website geared toward feline aficionados, where she recommends five types of cat litter that she calls "some of the more unique offerings on the market." Analysis here is fairly brief -- just a paragraph or two for each listing -- though opinions are based on Golon's personal experience. Pros and cons are easily identified, and there are lots of pictures, though there isn't much discussion of cost or economy.
2. CatInfo.org
February 2013
The Litter Box from Your Cat's Point of View
by Lisa A. Pierson, DVM
Our AssessmentAside from a wealth of information on the do's and don'ts of cat ownership, veterinarian Lisa A. Pierson recommends two brands of cat litter: the biodegradable World's Best Cat Litter and the clay clumping Dr. Elsey's Precious Cat Ultra. Analysis here is in-depth and based on years of real-world use. It's worth noting that Pierson does not like many of the other popular cat litters on the market, including Feline Pine and SWheat Scoop.
3. Taildom.com
April 28, 2013
The Best Cat Litter
by Daniela Caride
Our AssessmentPet blogger Daniela Caride compares eight cat litters, giving each a letter grade and brief review. Fresh Step earns the lowest score, where Caride derides clay-based cat litters for their alleged health concerns. Earning top scores of Excellent are World's Best Cat Litter and Feline Pine Pellets. A comparative chart at the end of the write-up makes it easy to compare each product by specific attributes.
4. Amazon.com
As of February 2014
Litter
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThere are a reasonable amount of user reviews of cat litter at Amazon.com. Dr. Elsey's Precious Cat Ultra earns the lion's share of favorable reviews, with an overall rating of 4.3 stars out of 5 from more than 1,200 owners. Dr. Elsey's Precious Cat Attract, Just the Crystals Premium and Feline Pine also earn much praise. Feedback here is generally informative, and some user reviews go into great detail.
5. PetSmart.com
As of February 2014
Litter
by Contributors to PetSmart.com
Our AssessmentPetSmart.com sells the major brands of cat litter, many of which receive lots of feedback from owners. Among the highest-rated cat litters are World's Best Cat Litter, Feline Pine, Fresh Step and Tidy Cats, as well as products from Dr. Elsey's. Feedback here is much briefer than what's often found at Amazon.com, but more brands generate a significant number of reviews.
6. Petco.com
As of February 2014
Litter & Accessories
by Contributors to Petco.com
Our AssessmentPetco is another big-box pet retailer. As with PetSmart.com, lots of cat owners leave reviews of products, including cat litter. Comments aren't extensive, but still give a good indication of owner and cat satisfaction. Dr. Elsey's cat litters, including Dr. Elsey's Cat Attract and Dr. Elsey's Precious Cat Ultra, are identified as Top Rated.
7. Walmart.com
As of February 2014
Litter Center
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentRetailer Walmart.com carries the more mainstream varieties of cat litter, though many products have amassed a large number of user reviews -- some well into the thousands. Owner feedback is generally cursory, especially compared to user reviews at Amazon.com, but star ratings as well as separate sub-ratings for marks like Value makes this a solid companion source.
8. The New York Times
Oct. 21, 2009
Road Test: It's Nothing to Sniff At
by Stephen Treffinger
Our AssessmentStephen Treffinger commissions four cat owners to test five different brands of non-clay, natural cat litters on their own cats; he also conducts his own tests without cats, using various substitutes for "feline output." While recommendations here aren't as clear as they could be, this article discusses the pros and cons of each cat litter in detail, which an emphasis on odor control and ease of cleanup.
9. San Francisco Chronicle
July 10, 2007
Your Whole Pet: Digging Deep into the Cat Litter Question
by Christie Keith
Our AssessmentIn this thorough article, Christie Keith discusses various types of cat litters and makes some recommendations. She says World's Best Cat Litter is the best clumping non-clay litter, though it's expensive. Feline Pine is also recommended, with the caveat that some cats don't like its texture. Among supermarket brands, Scoop Away and Arm & Hammer earn praise. It's unclear how many of these picks were subjected to testing, however.
10. The Lighthouse Online
Not Dated
Alternatives to Clumping Clay Kitty Litters
by Marina Michaels
Our AssessmentMarina Michaels takes a particularly hardline stance against clumping clay cat litters, citing ostensible environmental and health concerns. Here, Michaels goes into great detail about non-clumping alternatives. This article hasn't been updated of late, but as of 2010, she recommends CareFresh and Yesterday's News as excellent non-clumping choices. Among non-clay but still clumping litters, Feline Pine, SWheat Scoop and World's Best Cat Litter earn nods.
11. ModernCat.net
Nov. 15, 2008
Natural Cat Litter Comparison -- Part 2
by Kate Benjamin
Our AssessmentModern Cat is a blog that provides reviews of pet products along with useful information for cat owners. In this follow-up comparison test (the first part of the roundup is available through a link at the beginning of the article), writer Kate Benjamin tests three natural cat litters: PaPurr Scoop, SWheat Scoop (she recommends the Multi-Cat Strength variety) and Feline Pine Clumping. The pros and cons of each litter are discussed in adequate detail.
12. Slate.com
Aug. 9, 2002
Hello, Kitty: the Scoop on Newfangled Cat Litter
by Kelly Alexander
Our AssessmentWriter Kelly Alexander tests four different cat litters on her cat, Izzy, comparing the results in a three-page write-up for Slate.com. She concludes that clumping Scoop Away offers the "overall best combination of price and convenience," and laments crystal cat litter, saying it's much too expensive. This test is fun and reasonably informative. Though the article is more than a decade old, the cat litters tested here are still readily available.
13. Gomestic.com
Sept. 2, 2007
The Best Cat Litter
by Aly King
Our AssessmentIn this older but still relevant article, five different brands of cat litter are tested, using the author's own cat as the guinea pig. King dislikes the dust created by Tidy Cats clay (not to mention the fact that the cat tracked it all over the house), and is suspicious of the sodium bentonite used in the Arm & Hammer clumping litter. King's top choice is Feline Pine, which King likes because it is flushable, biodegradable, sweet smelling and low on dust.
14. About.com
Not Dated
Cat Litter Choices
by Franny Syufy
Our AssessmentFranny Syufy is About.com's guide to cats. Although she has good things to say about all the cat litters here, Syufy personally endorses World's Best Cat Litter. She does admit it's relatively expensive, but says it's "virtually dust-free." It's also one of the few cat litters listed that get a link to a separate review.
Sponsored Links

Back to top