Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

See Also

CD Players: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision
As of June 2014
CD Players
by Editors of What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision magazine
Our AssessmentBritain's What Hi-Fi? Sound and Vision reviews lots of CD players, though the emphasis is on high-end options. Many of the CD players discussed are not available in the U.S. Among those that are, the Marantz CD6005 earns Best Buy honors and is named the best inexpensive CD player for 2013. Among universal disc players (filed under Blu-ray players), the Marantz UD7007 is judged the best if money is no object.
Reviews
by Editors of Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity
Our AssessmentThis is another site that concentrates on high-end CD players. The articles are incredibly detailed, perhaps more so than at any other site, and readers who aren't technically inclined can quickly become overwhelmed. Editors have reviewed only two CD players lately (the two they think are the best), including a $4,500 player from Parasound and the Oppo BDP-105 universal disc player.
3. CNET
As of June 2014
The Audiophiliac
by Steve Guttenberg
Our AssessmentCNET doesn't cover higher performing CD players or universal players as part of its typical review lineup, but editor Steve Guttenberg does report on them more informally as part of this blog. Articles include reports on the Oppo BDP-105 universal player and the midpriced NAD C-516BEE CD player, both of which earn praise.
4. Stereophile
As of June 2014
CD Player/Transport Reviews
by Editors of Stereophile magazine
Our AssessmentStereophile magazine reviews CD players in detailed articles that include the results of extensive bench and hands-on testing. Like many reviews of CD players, coverage is skewed toward high-end products priced into the thousands of dollars. That said, a few less expensive CD players sneak by on occasion, including the Marantz CD5004, which one reviewer compares quite favorably to a player seven times as expensive.
5. Audioholics.com
As of June 2014
Blu-ray and DVD Player Reviews
by Editors of Audioholics.com
Our AssessmentAudioholics.com reviews all manner of audio equipment as well as DVD and Blu-ray players (you'll also find CD player reviews on this page). Top-performing models get either numeric ratings (1 through 5) or impression ratings ("pretty cool," "gotta have it!" etc.). The site's favorite picks -- including a Marantz CD player and two Oppo universal disc players -- get thorough reviews.
6. Sound & Vision Magazine
As of June 2014
Top Picks Blu-ray Players
by Editors of Sound & Vision magazine
Our AssessmentSound & Vision magazine does not focus on CD players, but it has reviewed a number of universal players in comprehensive single-product reviews. An at-a-glance section at the top of each review provides high and low points, and ratings are given for performance, value, features and ergonomics. Among the top picks are some under-$1,500 universal disc players from Oppo and Cambridge Audio.
7. AVSForum.com
As of June 2014
Home AV Reviews
by Editors of AVForums.com
Our AssessmentThis British site thoroughly tests universal disc players. Easy-to-read reviews are divided into sections (Design and Connections, Subjective Audio Tests, etc.), and each player earns a numeric score. The venerable Oppo BDP-105 scores a perfect 10 and earns the site's highest award: Reference Status. Some less expensive players also earn Highly Recommended awards.
8. HomeTheaterReview.com
Dec. 2, 2013
Home Theater Review's Best of 2013 Awards
by Editors of HomeTheaterReview.com
Our AssessmentThis website includes two universal disc players on its list of the best 2013 gear: the Oppo BDP-105 and Cambridge Audio Azur 752BD. Although these two players are built on the same platform, the testers discern differences -- and do a good job describing them in in-depth reviews.
9. Crutchfield.com
As of June 2014
CD Players
by Contributors to Crutchfield.com
Our AssessmentCrutchfield.com is an established retailer of home and mobile audio/video gear. Users -- many of whom are quite knowledgeable -- can post reviews, and many of the CD players here get a decent amount of feedback. This landing page shows the star rating and number of reviews for each CD player, so it's easy to pick out customer favorites. Universal disc players are also rated under the "Blu-ray disc players" category.
10. Amazon.com
As of June 2014
CD Players
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is among the better places to read user reviews of CD players. Lots of models are listed, and many get considerable feedback. Sorting tools let you see top-rated choices first, and each listing includes a comparison box featuring the most helpful positive and critical reviews. The biggest negative is that lots of discontinued models are listed, which clutters things.
11. EnjoyTheMusic.com
As of June 2014
Digital Archives
by Editors of EnjoyTheMusic.com
Our AssessmentThis website reviews audio gear in detailed single-product reports. The emphasis is on high-end gear, but less expensive options get coverage on rare occasions. Navigation is difficult as there is no way to see how well a CD player rates or when it was reviewed except by reading the report itself. That said, the site's review of the Oppo BDP-105 as a high-end universal player for audiophiles is incredibly thorough, convincing and enthusiastic. It earns a Best of 2013 award.
12. BestBuy.com
As of June 2014
CD Players and Recorders
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentMultidisc CD changers attract the most ratings at BestBuy.com -- and once again, the Sony CDP-CE500 is the favorite. As at Amazon.com and Crutchfield.com, this inexpensive five-disc changer is the best-selling CD player and one of the top-rated.
Sponsored Links

Back to top