Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3

Cheap Digital Cameras: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Point and Shoot Digital Camera Ratings and Reliability
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org conducts rigorous product testing of more than 130 point-and-shoot digital cameras. Each camera is tested on a variety of criteria, including image quality, ease of use, versatility, LCD quality and more. The ranked ratings chart shows how the inexpensive cameras perform next to their more expensive counterparts. Unlike the dedicated camera websites, though, ConsumerReports.org doesn't post any sample photos from the cameras. ConsumerReports.org recommends both recently discontinued and current models.
2. PCMag.com
As of August 2013
Digital Cameras
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentPCMag.com tests a variety of digital cameras, including plenty of the latest cheap models. The site is well known for its detailed and balanced reviews, which are easy to sort by price or type -- compact, ultrazoom, etc. -- to find the best camera for your needs. Testers aren't shy about criticizing poor performers, but only a couple of sample shots are posted for each camera.
3. Choice magazine
July 8, 2013
Basic Digital Camera Reviews
by Chris Ruggles
Our AssessmentWhile not as comprehensive as sites geared toward photo aficionados, Australian-based Choice magazine (similar to ConsumerReports.org in the U.S.) publishes up-to-date, unbiased tests of 69 digital cameras in the $80 to $550 range (in U.S. dollars). Test methodology and rating criteria are clearly spelled out. Editors recommend the 11 best cameras, including a few picks under $250 U.S.
4. Which? (UK)
Not Dated
Digital Camera Reviews
by Editors of Which?
Our AssessmentWhich? magazine -- the U.K.'s answer to ConsumerReports.org -- also publishes complete, unbiased tests of 170 digital cameras, including many popular U.S. models. Editors name 42 Best Buys, and each camera gets a rating from 1 to 100, so it's easy to find the very best. A few under-$250 cameras make the cut.
5. ePhotoZine
As of August 2013
Compact Cameras Photography Equipment Reviews
by Editors of EPhotoZine.com
Our AssessmentThis British website conducts thorough tests, and its editors write concise reviews packed with sample photos. Cameras that do well earn a Recommended tag, and editors aren't shy about downgrading poor performers. Some of the cameras tested aren't available in the U.S., though.
6. PhotographyBlog.com
April 30, 2013
The Best Digital Cameras
by Editors of PhotographyBlog.com
Our AssessmentEditors of Britain's PhotographyBlog.com thoroughly test lots of the latest cheap digital cameras popular in the U.S. Cameras are rated for image quality, ease of use, design, features and value. Although reviews are very good, this list includes some older and discontinued models. Since the site's last update, the Canon PowerShot Elph 330 HS (aka Canon Ixus 255 HS) has earned a 4.5-star Highly Recommended award here.
7. Imaging-Resource.com
Not Dated
Dave's Picks: Budget
by Editors of Imaging-Resource.com
Our AssessmentImaging-Resource.com is one of the best sources for reviews of expensive cameras, but editors don't review many cheapies. Cameras do undergo thorough testing, with editors using each model to photograph identical subjects under standardized conditions. Sample pictures help to gauge and compare performance, while the detailed write-ups cover key factors such as camera construction, optics and exposure. However, the budget picks are out-of-date -- the top picks are still available, but they're not the latest models.
8. CNET
As of August 2013
Digital Cameras
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentCNET does a great job of evaluating digital cameras. Each camera receives hands-on testing for build quality, features, shooting speeds, ISO and image quality. Reviewers rate each camera and provide a list of pros and cons that quickly summarize overall performance. However, note that CNET's list of the best budget cameras is filled with discontinued models. Editors have reviewed plenty of cheap cameras lately, but they all get just 3 or 3.5 stars out of 5.
9. Amazon.com
As of August 2013
Point-and-Shoot Digital Cameras
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is the best source for user reviews of cheap digital cameras. As with most user reviews, the owner write-ups at Amazon.com vary, but many reviews are quite detailed. You can sort cameras by price, rating and more to find the best model for your needs.
10. BHPhotoVideo.com
As of August 2013
Point & Shoot Cameras
by Contributors to BHPhotoVideo.com
Our AssessmentThis website -- the online home of a large brick-and-mortar camera store -- is one of the best places to read owner reviews. Many cameras attract dozens of customer reviews -- not as many as Amazon.com, but you won't have to sift past a bunch of discontinued models here. Each reviewer rates his or her level of photography knowledge, which is helpful.
11. DigitalCameraReview.com
As of August 2013
Reviews
by Editors of DigitalCameraReview.com
Our AssessmentDigitalCameraReview.com has detailed, test-based reviews of digital cameras -- but of only a few cheap ones. The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX66 receives a relatively good review compared to other cheap digital cameras.
12. Walmart.com
As of August 2013
Point and Shoot Cameras
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com attracts fewer owner reviews than Amazon.com -- and reviews tend to be shorter -- but a few current budget cameras earn high marks, with substantial numbers of reviews.

Cheap Digital Cameras Runners Up:

Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Est. $245

2 picks including: Amazon.com, CNET…

image
Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16.0 MP Digital Camera with 30x Wide-Angle Optical Image Stabilized Zoom and 3.0-Inch LCD (Black)
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $299.00 $260.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top