Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Clothes Dryers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
As of June 2012
Clothes Dryers
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org rates more than 80 electric clothes dryers and their gas equivalents; each receives an overall rating plus individual scores for drying performance, capacity, convenience and noise. Not all the dryers rated here have actually been tested, however; some are evaluated based on their similarity to tested models. The ratings for dryers cover a much wider range than most products reviewed at this site, with overall scores ranging from very good to poor. In total, 11 electric dryers (with their 10 gas equivalents) are recommended.
2. Good Housekeeping
Last updated May 2011
Dryer Reviews
by The Good Housekeeping Research Institute
Our AssessmentTesters at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute measure drying time with both small and large loads, dry comforters and evaluate wrinkle removal and ease of use. They also call each manufacturer's customer service line to gauge response time and helpfulness. Based on all these criteria, each dryer is assigned a letter grade. However, the write-ups accompanying these grades provide little detail. Another shortcoming: Model numbers for most of the dryers are not disclosed, so it can be difficult to determine exactly which model is being evaluated. And finally, many of the listed dryers -- including about half of those that earn grades of A or A-minus -- are now discontinued.
3. HomeDepot.com
June 2012
Dryers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com sells more than 130 gas and electric dryers. Most dryers attract at least a handful of reviews, and a few have received as many as 100 or more. Overall, electric dryers get the highest ratings here, including those from Maytag, GE and LG. However, unlike most sites, HomeDepot.com also has a couple of recommendations for gas dryers.
4. BestBuy.com
June 2012
Dryers
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com is a good source to check for user reviews of dryers. Although it does not have as large a volume of reviews as HomeDepot.com or Lowes.com, we still found half a dozen electric dryers with high overall ratings from 25 users or more. Top-rated dryers range from a basic Whirlpool model priced at $550 to a $1,200 steam-equipped LG.
5. Lowes.com
June 2012
Dryers
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLowe's, a major home-improvement retailer, sells more than 180 dryer models. User feedback on this site is pretty good, with many dryers receiving 25 reviews or more. Of these, we found 10 that have good overall ratings (at least 4 stars out of a possible 5).
6. J.D. Power & Associates
Aug. 3, 2011
2011 Laundry and Kitchen Appliance Satisfaction Studies
by Editors of J.D. Power and Associates
Our AssessmentJ.D. Power and Associates doesn't test dryers; rather, it measures overall customer satisfaction with the major appliance brands. This press release summarizes the results of the 2011 Laundry Appliance Satisfaction Study in which more than 5,500 consumers who recently purchased dryers are asked about their overall satisfaction. For the fourth year in a row, Samsung receives the highest ratings based on performance, features, style, price, warranty and ease of use. Whirlpool Deluxe, LG and Kenmore Elite also receive high ratings from consumers, while Admiral, Roper, GE and Amana get the lowest overall scores. The report also notes that the brands most often recommended by salespeople at major appliance retailers are LG, Samsung and Whirlpool.
7. Sears.com
June 2012
Dryers
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com sells more than 250 clothes dryers and is the only retailer of Kenmore dryers, so it's a good source to check for reviews of that brand. Most dryers receive no more than a handful of owner reviews, but a few Kenmore models get a good amount of user feedback with high average ratings.
8. AJMadison.com
June 2012
Dryers
by Contributors to AJMadison.com
Our AssessmentOnline appliance retailer AJMadison.com has a good selection of clothes dryers, but few of them receive a large number of customer reviews. However, the site's search function makes it easy to pick out the dryers with the most reviews and see at a glance how they're rated. Only one electric dryer, the LG DLE5001W, receives high ratings from more than 25 users.
9. Viewpoints.com
June 2012
Best Dryers
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentA few clothes dryers at Viewpoints.com, a user review site, attract a good number of reviews, but most dryers have just one or two ratings. Some model numbers aren't listed, making it hard to identify the exact dryer being reviewed, and several models shown here are discontinued. However, two dryers that are still available -- one from GE and one from Whirlpool -- receive good overall reviews from a significant number of users.
10. Buzzillions.com
June 2012
Dryer Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentBuzzillions.com has a good selection of dryer reviews, but all of the ratings are compiled from sources we rank higher, such as BestBuy.com or HomeDepot.com. This site can be useful for a general overview of reviewer opinion, but not all feedback is listed here and a larger number of reviews can usually be found by visiting the individual retailer sites. That's why we rely on other sites to rank dryers and turn to Buzzillions.com only to gain additional insight into users' opinions on our top-ranked products.
11. GardenWeb.com
June 2012
Laundry Room Forum
by Contributors to GardenWeb.com
Our AssessmentThis extremely active discussion site includes thousands of posts on all sorts of large appliances, and the laundry forum provides many comments on washers and dryers. A number of people who post have a surprising amount of knowledge about not only dryers but also potential pitfalls and repairs. If you have any kind of problem, chances are someone here has encountered it, as well. However, the discussions about dryers aren't as active as those about washers.
12. Epinions.com
June 2012
Dryers
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentEpinions.com is an independent user-review site. While reports here are often more detailed than those at retailer sites, most dryers aren't rated at all. Discontinued models are also shown, making the site more difficult to browse. Still, Epinions.com is worth a visit once you've narrowed your choices.
13. Amazon.com
June 2012
Dryers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThe dryers category on Amazon.com includes lots of models, but intermingled listings for parts, accessories and drying racks make browsing difficult. In addition, few dryers have any user reviews, and the only dryer to receive more than a handful of comments is a compact model. Thus, this site isn't as useful as other review sites.
Sponsored Links

Back to top