Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Coffee Grinders: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. KABC (Los Angeles)
Feb. 12, 2009
Coffee Grinders Are Put to the Test
by Ric Romero
Our AssessmentKABC News rebroadcasts a ConsumerReports.org video review of coffee grinders. Three blade grinders and three burr grinders are tested. The Cuisinart Supreme Grind DBM-8, a burr grinder, is the top pick, but the Mr. Coffee IDS77 is also recommended as a more affordable, blade grinder. The other four models tested are not listed, however, and we wish this video included more details on testing methodology.
2. CoffeeGeek.com
As of January 2013
Coffee & Espresso Grinder Reviews
by Contributors to CoffeeGeek.com
Our AssessmentThis site features coffee grinder reviews written by owners. The number of ratings and the overall score for each model are clearly displayed. Reviews tend to be long and detailed, and users can also judge the quality of each review. Because most contributors are coffee enthusiasts, reviews focus on expensive burr grinders. The highest overall ratings go to the Mazzer Mini, KitchenAid KPCG100, Rancilio Rocky and Rancilio Rocky Doserless, which all have a rating of at least 8 out of 10 with more than 35 ratings.
3. Whole Latte Love
As of January 2013
Reviews -- Grinders
by Contributors to WholeLatteLove.com
Our AssessmentAlthough the reviews are useful, there aren't as many ratings here as at CoffeeGeek.com. The site provides usage and cleaning tips for many grinders. The Rancilio Rocky Doserless earns the top rating here, with an overall rating of 4.8 out of 5five, based on nearly 60 reviews.
4. Cooking.com
As of January 2013
Coffee Grinder
by Contributors to Cooking.com
Our AssessmentSeveral coffee grinders accumulate more than 80 ratings on this site; a few have more than 100. The Cuisinart Supreme Grind has an overall rating of 4.5 stars out of 5, based on more than 220 ratings. The Capresso Infinity Conical Burr Grinder and Krups 203 also maintain an overall rating of 4.5 stars out of 5, based on more than 100 and nearly 120 ratings, respectively. The KitchenAid KPCG100 Coffee Grinder has a near-perfect 5-star rating, based on about 70 owner ratings.
5. Amazon.com
As of January 2013
Coffee Grinders
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentDozens of coffee grinders are reviewed on Amazon.com. In general, blade grinders receive lower overall ratings than the more expensive burr grinders. The Krups 203 is one exception, earning an overall rating of 4.4 stars out of 5, based on about 1,200 owner reviews. The Capresso 560.01 Infinity does almost as well, earning an overall 4.2 stars from 1,100 owner reviews.
6. Specialty-Coffee-Advisor.com
As of January 2013
How to Grind Coffee Properly
by Editors of Specialty-Coffee-Advisor.com
Our AssessmentThis detailed guide to grinding coffee also includes recommendations for grinders. Although no formal testing is conducted, it's clear that the author has personal experience with each.
7. Epinions.com
As of January 2013
Coffee Grinders
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentEpinions.com makes it easy to see how many users wrote reviews of a given coffee grinder. Few grinders receive more than a few reviews, and many of those listed haven't been reviewed at all. The Krups 203 maintains an overall rating of 4.5 stars out of 5, based on almost 50 reviews.
8. Viewpoints.com
As of January 2013
Coffee Grinders
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com is typically an easily navigable resource for reviews; however, reviews for coffee makers are also included in a search for coffee grinder reviews. Because there are more coffee makers than grinders, users must sort through several pages to find grinders among the results. Most coffee grinders receive only a few reviews. A couple of exceptions: The Mr. Coffee IDS77 has a rating of 88 points out of 100, based on more than 75 reviews. The Krups 203 receives nearly 70 reviews with an overall score of 86.
9. SpiceLines.com
Aug. 25, 2006
Tools of the Trade: We Test a Few Under $30 Grinders; Which Ones Work for Spices?
by Editors of SpiceLines.com
Our AssessmentLike many coffee grinder comparison reviews, this article is several years old. One of the three models tested has been discontinued, but feedback for the other two models is detailed and thorough. The author tests each for its spice-grinding abilities by making the Indian spice blend Garam Masala. The Krups is efficient in grinding small quantities of spices and was still going strong after three months of regular use.
10. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
November 2001
Coffee Grinders
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentCook's Illustrated magazine tests 10 under-$50 coffee grinders by grinding two ounces of coffee beans in each and brewing 40-ounce pots of coffee using automatic-drip machines. Most of the grinders in the article have been discontinued, but it does provide helpful advice for using grinders most efficiently.
11. About.com
Not dated
Top 8 Coffee Grinders
by Sean Paajanen
Our AssessmentAbout.com names the top eight coffee grinders. The Krups 203 and KitchenAid Pro Line KPCG100 make the list. However the review is not dated and the methodology isn't explained.
12. LA Weekly
Sept. 28, 2011
5 Ways to Make a Damn Good Cup of Coffee
by Tien Nguyen
Our AssessmentThis article offers advice for making a great cup of coffee. Author Tien Nguyen advises that a proper, fresh grind is essential for a proper brew and recommends two budget-friendly coffee grinders: the Capresso Infinity and Baratza Maestro, which has been discontinued.
13. Chowhound.com
As of January 2013
Discussion Results: Coffee Grinders
by Contributors to Chowhound.com
Our AssessmentSeveral discussion threads on this site focus on coffee grinders, with owners and enthusiasts offering recommendations on the best grinders. Some threads have not been updated in several years, although there is useful insight into the blade grinder versus burr grinder debate.
14. Target.com
As of January 2013
Coffee Grinders
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com sells more than a dozen coffee grinders, although most receive only a few reviews. One grinder receives more than 10 reviews: the Mr. Coffee IDS77, which has an overall score of 3 stars out of 5 with 50 reviews.
15. The New York Times
April 30, 2012
Ristretto/The Daily Grind
by Oliver Strand
Our AssessmentFood writer Oliver Strand advises readers that to make good coffee at home, you need one gadget: a good grinder. He notes that Baratza is a manufacturer known for high quality, and adds that the Encore model has a new gearbox and drive shaft design that makes grinding quieter. Overall, though, he concludes that just using a burr grinder instead of a blade style "will bring up your coffee game."
Sponsored Links

Back to top