Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Coffee Grinders: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. CoffeeGeek.com
Not Dated
Baratza Grinders Technical Paper
by Mark Prince
Our AssessmentThis extensive test of the line of Baratza coffee grinders is widely cited by experts and professionals in the world of coffee-grinder reviews. It's very relevant, even though it includes only one manufacturer, because Baratza is considered to be a top producer of coffee grinders.
2. Wired
April 12, 2013
Slave to the Grind: 7 Coffee Grinders Tested and Rated
by Lauren Crabbe
Our AssessmentLauren Crabbe tests seven popular coffee grinders for speed of grind, dosing consistency, particle size range, particle consistency, noise level and ease of operation. Each gets a thorough review that includes pros and cons and an overall rating out of 10. It's an interesting, informative read, but her "cons" can be a bit confusing, especially if you don't get the pop-culture references she makes.
3. GearPatrol.com
Feb. 25, 2013
Grind It Out: 10 Best Coffee Grinders
by Scott Packard
Our AssessmentScott Packard collaborates with experts at Clive Coffee to produce a buying guide and roundup of the 10 best coffee grinders. This list includes manual and electric grinders and focuses on lifestyle: Each is given a designation such as most economical. The reviews are brief, but the grinders are some of the most popular models we see at sites aimed at coffee lovers.
4. SeriousEats.com
Dec. 14, 2011
Back to the Grind: 5 Great Coffee Grinders
by Liz Clayton
Our AssessmentLiz Clayton is a writer and expert on coffee who teams up with Michael Elvin of Olympia Coffee Roasters to choose the five best coffee grinders. This roundup includes both manual and electric grinders. The reviews are fairly brief, but they hit the highlights well.
5. CoffeeGeek.com
Dec. 26, 2009
Espresso Machine Buying Guide - Don't Skimp on the Grinder
by Mark Prince
Our AssessmentThis exhaustive guide to buying an espresso machine is still as relevant today as it was when it was first written. On this, the second page of the guide, Mark Prince discusses espresso grinders in great depth, and it includes recommendations and detailed reviews. The only thing that dates this article is that it was written before a couple of today's top grinders were released (although by the same manufacturers referenced here), and a couple that he mentions have been discontinued and replaced with updated models.
6. Amazon.com
As of October 2014
Coffee Grinders
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentHundreds of coffee grinders are reviewed on Amazon.com and some get thousands of reviews. Blade coffee grinder are among the best sellers, with burr grinders trailing, probably due to the fact that they're more expensive and more difficult to use. We noticed several cases where the overall rating is brought down by problems that other reviewers point out are caused by operator error. High-end burr coffee grinders tend to rate better than mid-priced burr grinders by companies such as Cuisinart and KitchenAid.
7. CoffeeGeek.com
As of October 2014
Coffee and Espresso Grinder Reviews
by Contributors to CoffeeGeek.com
Our AssessmentNearly 100 coffee grinders are reviewed at CoffeeGeek.com, listed in alphabetical order. As the name implies, these contributors are serious about their coffee and the reviews tend to be very specific and critical. There are review guidelines, unlike many other sites. Reviewers are asked to review only product thy own, give detailed reviews as opposed to the unhelpful, one-line reviews we often see, and to compare and contrast with other grinders, if possible.
8. Whole Latte Love
As of October 2014
Coffee Grinders
by Contributors so WholeLatteLove.com
Our AssessmentThere are several pages of coffee grinders at WholeLatteLove.com, including some very expensive models that are not seen at many other sites. While there are not as many reviews here as at other sites, what's here is unusually detailed, broken down by a variety of factors, and includes information regarding the reviewers' coffee drinking habits and knowledge level.
9. SeattleCoffeeGear.com
As of October 2014
Espresso and Coffee Grinders
by Contributors to SeattleCoffeeGear.com
Our AssessmentSeattleCoffeeGear.com sells about 45 coffee grinders, and all get a decent number of reviews. Each grinder also has a detailed overview of the grinder by the editors of the site, which includes pros, cons and comparisons. Owner reviews are very detailed as well, and are broken down by price, value and quality. In addition, each reviewer is surveyed for their coffee habits.
10. Macys.com
As of October 2014
Coffee Grinders
by Contributors to Macys.com
Our AssessmentMacys.com carries just a few, inexpensive to mid-priced coffee grinders, and each gets a decent number of reviews. None of the high-end manufacturers like Rancilio or Baratza are represented here, but familiar brands like Krups and Breville are. Reviews are on a 5-star rating system, and include the percentage of reviewers who would recommend their coffee grinder to a friend.
11. Cooking.com
As of October 2014
Coffee Grinders
by Contributors to Cooking.com
Our AssessmentAs with Macys.com, Cooking.com carries just a handful of coffee grinders, but most get a good number of owner reviews. All of the grinders have at least a 4-star rating, with most having at least a 4.5-star rating, making virtually every coffee grinder at this site "Top Rated." Cooking.com says the "Top Rated" designation is given to any product that has a 4-star average rating in more than 20 reviews, but we see products that are given that designation after just a few reviews.
12. Viewpoints.com
As of October 2014
Coffee Grinders
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com is not a retail site or tied to any retail site, it's just a venue where people can leave reviews about products they have purchased elsewhere. There are a good number of coffee grinders represented here, and they get a good number of reviews as well. Products are rated on a 100-point scale.
13. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
Nov. 1, 2001
Coffee Grinders
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentNine coffee grinders are tested in this roundup, with four Recommended and the rest Not Recommended. Under normal circumstances we would not include a review this old, except that most of the coffee grinders in this roundup are still being made and have not undergone any significant changes. Cooks Illustrated editors frequently review their product tests, and only update them if there have been changes in the market that would affect their results. Still, this is a mix of blade and burr grinders, which is a bit of an apples to oranges comparison.
Sponsored Links

Back to top