Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Coffee Maker Rating Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
As of Aug. 2014
Drip Coffeemaker Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org tests 113 coffee makers, including standard drip coffee makers with carafes, brew-and-dispense models, grind-and-brew coffee makers, mug to-go coffee makers and a few dual coffee/espresso makers. Each one is tested for brew temperature, convenience and carafe handling. They recommend 10 models, but only two also earn "best buy" status. There are also a fair number of customer reviews. Those reviews are not part of the editors' evaluation process, but if they see a consistent complaint, about durability, for example, they will note it.
2. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
March 1, 2013
AUTOMATIC DRIP COFFEE MAKERS
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentEditors of Cook's Illustrated test eight coffee makers, then, in May 2013, update the report with one more model. However, that one does not ultimately end up in the grid. For the original eight tested, two are highly recommended, with a winner and a best buy, one is recommended, and five are not recommended. The results are reached after a blind tasting panel evaluates coffee produced by each machine in terms of taste, aroma, body and bitterness. Brew temperature and brewing speeds are also measured.
3. Lifehacker.com
May 12, 2013
Five Best Coffee Makers
by Alan Henry
Our AssessmentLifehacker.com asked its readers to weigh in on what coffee makers they thought were best for their weekly "Hive Five" series that asks, "Which tool is the best?" In this case, they were inundated with votes, and they list the top five here, each with overviews of the type of coffee maker as well as thorough reviews of specific models in that category. The categories were the French press, pourover, drip, and stove top Moka models.
4. Good Housekeeping
April 2014
Coffeemaker Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentTesters at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute rank 83 coffee makers, including several reviewed in April 2014. While Good Housekeeping's methods and criteria are not detailed, the reviews are thorough and include pros and cons. There are a variety of coffee makers tested, from single serve, to drip to thermal to pourover machines. Each coffee maker is assigned a letter grade, from A to C-.
5. SweetHome.com
Sept. 10, 2012
Gear for making great coffee
by Matt Buchanan
Our AssessmentMatt Buchanan rounds up a list of essential gear for making a great cup of coffee, including various coffee makers and grinders. He includes our Best Reviewed drip coffee maker, the Bonavita BV 1800, saying it's less expensive than the MoccaMaster, but has a similar brewing style. He tested it with a professional barista and "found it to be pretty good." Sweet Home reviews tend to be extremely thorough, and include hands on testing, interviews with experts and an examination of consumer reviews to assess durability and real-world use.
6. Amazon.com
As of August 2014
Coffee Makers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com has 400 pages of coffee makers in all types and price ranges. It is an excellent source for real world reviews of coffee makers over the long-term because they often note durability issues that professional testers don't have the time to track. It's also a great way to learn how well the coffee maker performs in real-world use. Ratings are all over the place in this category, with some very highly-rated machines getting raspberries from users, while some cheaper machines scoring highly. There's no doubt that people are passionate about their coffee makers though, and this is reflected in the reviews.
7. SeattleCoffeeGear.com
As of August 2014
Coffee Makers
by Contributors to SeattleCoffeeGear.com
Our AssessmentUnlike Amazon.com SeattleCoffeeGear.com is devoted only to coffee makers and other products that are related to making coffee. There are not as many reviews in total here as at Amazon, but reviews are thorough and include breakdowns for quality, value and price, which is very helpful. Many reviews are updates of older reviews, with owners weighing in later on long-term performance and durability. Often, those leaving the reviews are extremely knowledgeable about all things coffee. The site itself has a lot of useful information, specs and photos of each of the products it sells -- more so than most retail sites.
8. Walmart.com
As of August 2014
Coffee & Espresso Makers
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentYou won't find a lot of high-end coffee makers here, but that's okay. Walmart.com is a great resource for finding a plethora of reviews on some of the most popular, best-selling coffee makers on the market. Mr. Coffee and Hamilton Beach are tops here, and both of them also do well in professional tests for less expensive coffee pots that perform well and have a lot of features for the price. Reviews tend to be thorough and somewhat more glowing than we find for comparable products at Amazon.com.
9. Target.com
As of August 2014
Coffee Makers
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentThere are significantly fewer total reviews for coffee makers at Target.com than at either Amazon.com or Walmart.com. For the products we found, feedback tends to be more negative with lower overall averages as well. Drip coffee makers don't score high in general, single serve models do better.
10. Gizmodo.com
Feb. 16, 2012
The Best Automatic Coffee Machine
by Matt Buchanan
Our AssessmentMatt Buchanan tests two automatic drip coffee machines in a head-to-head competition -- the Bonavita Automatic Coffee Brewer and Bodum's Bistro Pourover Machine. He notes they they're the alternative to the cheap, more generic type of drip coffee maker that he asserts is "ruining your coffee." Ultimately the Bodum comes out on top, but he says both coffee makers are pretty good. The review also notes quirks in both the coffee makers and in the operation that could sway fans of more upscale drop coffee makers in one direction or the other. This is a slightly older review, but both coffee makers are still around and have not changed at all.
11. Real Simple
Not Dated
The Best Coffeemakers
by Mieke Ten Have
Our AssessmentReal Simple rounds up eight "high-performing" coffee makers including automatic drip machines, grind and brew, French press and old-fashioned percolators. Write-ups are very brief, and there is no mention of testing.
12. GearPatrol.com
Feb. 28, 2013
5 BEST AUTOMATIC COFFEE MACHINES
by Ben Bowers
Our AssessmentBen Bowers rounds up five of the most popular types of coffee makers, although none of the mainstream, common drip makers from more recognizable names like Mr. Coffee and Bunn. His theme is a coffee making experience in which you have a great deal of control for customizing your perfect cup of coffee. He designates each coffee maker with niche titles such as, "Best Bang for Your Buck," or "Best for the Palette Perfectionist," (although we think he means "palate.") The coffee makers don't seem to have undergone any hands on testing, and the reviews are brief. In at least one case, the coffee maker pictured is not the coffee maker he is reviewing.
Sponsored Links

Back to top