Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Comfort Bikes: Ratings of Sources

Total of 26 Sources
1. Cycle Commuter Magazine
As of July 2011
Cycle Commuter Magazine
by Editors of Cycle Commuter Magazine
Our AssessmentBritain's Cycle Commuter magazine reviews several comfort bikes in each biannual issue. Although the bikes are not rated, the reviews are longer and more detailed than nearly any other source. The balanced takes on each bike's pros and cons are also unbeatable. Unfortunately, some of the reviewed bikes are not widely available in the United States.
2. Cycling Active magazine
May 2011
Hybrid species
by Derri Dunn
Our AssessmentCycling Active has an excellent group test of five hybrid bikes, which have a road bike feel with mountain bike-style handlebars. Each bike receives a lengthy review and is rated on a variety of criteria. The Fuji Absolute 3.0 earns the overall title, although the Kona Dew Plus comes in a close second.
2011 Editors' Choice Winners
by Andrew J. Bernstein
Our AssessmentBicycling magazine reviews comfort bikes throughout the year, honoring the best bikes as Editors' Choice winners. Unfortunately, little analysis is included in this slideshow article. In the print version of this article, two runner-ups are named in each category. We'd love to see more testing details that illustrate how the bikes compare to each other.
4. Bicycling Magazine
As of July 2011
Gear & Bike Review Finder
by Editors of Bicycling
Our AssessmentBicycling magazine is the most prolific reviewer of comfort bikes. Although the magazine devotes more attention to road and trail bikes, several commuter and city bikes are included in the gear section. The reviews for some commuter bikes are pretty brief, and we'd like to see more critical comments on the bikes.
5. Wired
Apr. 21, 2011
5 Rides for 9-to-5s: Commuter Bikes Tested and Rated
by Editors of Wired
Our AssessmentWired has a solid group test of five commuter bikes. Each bike is rated on a 10-point scale, and editors present both the pros and cons of each comfort bike. Three bikes earn high overall ratings, including the Globe Roll 2 and Breezer Uptown Infinity.
6. Men's Journal
April 29, 2011
Killer Commuters
by Editors of Men's Journal
Our AssessmentMen's Journal evaluates three urban bikes for commuters. Each bike is tested on the streets of New York City in a variety of weather conditions, including rain and sleet. Reviews are brief, but tester comments are included for each commuter bike. Comfort bikes from Trek, Breezer and Cannondale earn a recommendation.
7. Outside
April 12, 2011
Commuter Bike Review
by Jeremy Spencer
Our AssessmentOutside magazine doesn't test as many bicycles as bike magazines like Bicycling, but its testing culminates in an overall verdict and sub-ratings for versatility and comfort. For its annual cycling issue, Outside tests a number of utility bikes, but only a small number earn a recommendation.
8. Cycling Active magazine
Feb. 2011
Cross Country Commuters
by Matt Lamy
Our AssessmentCycling Active pits a hybrid against a mountain bike to determine which is best for commuters who regularly deal with rough roads. The analysis is lengthy and balanced, and each bike is rated on a variety of criteria. In the end, the Specialized Sirrus Elite hybrid bike earns a higher rating and is deemed "the best choice for most people's commutes."
9. Momentum
2011
Gear Guide
by Editors of Momentum Magazine
Our AssessmentMomentum, a Canadian cycling magazine, has a lengthy gear guide focused exclusively on urban, commuter and comfort bikes. Dozens of bikes are covered in different categories. The only downside is that there is little analysis to accompany the recommendations, and the reviews available focus mainly on features.
10. Road.cc
As of July 2011
Road.cc Review Archive
by Editors of Road.cc
Our AssessmentThis British site posts excellent reviews of commuter bikes, although few comfort bikes have been reviewed recently. Each bike receives a thorough review (although usually from just one person), and the bike receives an overall rating in addition to individual ratings on components, ride and handling. The tester's specs are also listed so you can see how you would compare.
11. Los Angeles Times
March 25, 2011
Bikes for Every $4-a-Gallon Gas Shunner
by Roy M. Wallack
Our AssessmentRoy M. Wallack, a cyclist and author, reviews four commuter bikes for the Los Angeles Times. Each bike is personally evaluated, and pros and cons are clearly noted. The analysis is nicely balanced.
12. Bicycle Times
As of July 2011
Reviews
by Editors of Bicycle Times
Our AssessmentBicycle Times is a good source of information for bike commuters, and the magazine reviews comfort bikes on occasion. Bikes are tested by at least one person and analysis is lengthy and balanced. There are no ratings and few comparisons made, but there's a good level of detail. Bicycle Times is also a good source of information on cargo bikes.
13. BikeRadar.com
As of July 2011
Bikes & Gear
by Editors of BikeRadar.com
Our AssessmentBikeRadar.com provides a great database of bike reviews culled from U.K. publications like What Mountain Bike and Cycling Active magazines. The reviews available are detailed and balanced, and each bike is rated on a 5-point scale. You can also sort the reviews to view the highest-rated bikes or newest reviews. However, many of the top-rated bikes are not widely available in the U.S.
14. Philadelphia Magazine
June 9, 2011
Philly's Best Commuter Bikes
by Kelly O'Shea
Our AssessmentPhiladelphia Magazine doesn't conduct hands-on tests of comfort bikes, but they consult several cycling experts for their picks on the best bikes for commuters. Several comfort bikes are recommended for different types of riders, including the Globe Daily 1 and the Specialized Sirrus. This review also includes a good selection of budget-friendly bikes.
15. Men's Fitness (U.K.)
May 2011
Road Warriors
by Editors of Men's Fitness (U.K.)
Our AssessmentThe U.K. edition of Men's Fitness magazine reviews a variety of hybrid bikes suitable for commuting. The reviews themselves are brief and short on testing details, but each comfort bike is rated on a 5-point scale. The Giant Rapid 3 wins the Style Award, while the Specialized Sirrus Sport is deemed the Best Value.
16. BikeCommuters.com
As of July 2011
Reviews
by Contributors to BikeCommuters.com
Our AssessmentFor detailed reviews of commuter bikes and accessories, BikeCommuters.com is a good resource. The review section focuses more on accessories than bikes, but several commuter bikes receive recent reviews. Each review is based on one tester's feedback, and a number of pictures accompany the analysis.
17. EcoVelo.info
As of July 2011
Road Tests
by Contributors to EcoVelo.info
Our AssessmentEcoVelo.info is a cycling blog that posts extremely detailed reviews of several comfort bikes. Only a few bikes receive a road test, but the reviews available are balanced, informative and accompanied by high-quality photos. Cargo and folding bikes are also covered on occasion.
18. Los Angeles Times
Nov. 15, 2010
Rating 2011's New Team of Bicycles
by Roy M. Wallack
Our AssessmentRoy M. Wallack has a brief test-based review of the Breezer Uptown Infinity in this article on the latest bicycle technology. He lists both pros and cons, although the bike is not rated or compared to other comfort bikes.
19. Zest
April 2011
Buy Your Perfect Bike
by Editors of Zest magazine
Our AssessmentBritain's Zest magazine has a solid review of various types of bikes, including comfort, road, mountain and folding bikes. Some of the recommended bikes aren't widely available in the United States. Even so, several bikes from GT, Fuji and Specialized earn a recommendation for commuters and city riders.
20. NoCarGR.com
Dec. 28, 2010
NoCar's Coolest Commuters on a Budget(ish)
by Tyler Doornbos
Our AssessmentNoCarGR.com, a bicycle commuting blog, recommends six commuter and cruiser bikes for riders on a budget. Reviews are brief, and there is no indication that the bikes were personally tested. Bikes from Public, Globe, Lombardo and other brands earn a recommendation.
21. BikingToronto.com
As of July 2011
Duncan's City Ride
by "Duncan"
Our AssessmentBikingToronto.com hosts a number of cycling blogs, including Duncan's City Ride. Here the author discusses local biking news and also reviews commuter bikes on occasion. Few comfort bikes have been reviewed recently.
22. About.com
As of July 2011
Bicycling
by David Fiedler
Our AssessmentDavid Fiedler, the About.com guide on bicycling, has plenty of content about cycling and bike commuting, but few bikes are reviewed. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
23. CommuteByBike.com
As of July 2011
Reviews
by Contributors to CommuteByBike.com
Our AssessmentCommuteByBike.com is another good resource for commuters shopping for a new bike. Its reviews are based on tester feedback and include pictures. The list of reviews is not sorted by date, so you'll have to scan the list to find the most recent reviews. Few comfort bikes have been reviewed recently.
24. FitSugar.com
April 21, 2011
Trendsetting Cruiser Bikes for Spring
by Heather Dale
Our AssessmentFitSugar.com recommends five cruiser bikes for women, including models from Electra, Diamondback and Giant. It does not appear that the bikes were personally tested, and each bike receives only a one- or two-sentence overview.
25. Buzzillions.com
As of July 2011
Comfort Bike Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentBuzzillions.com compiles owner-written reviews from a variety of online retailers. Users can also post reviews directly on the site. Dozens of comfort and commuter bikes are listed on the site, but most receive only a handful of reviews. Many of the top-rated bikes are from Trek, and some of the reviews are culled from the Trek website.
26. MetaEfficient.com
Feb. 16, 2011
Best Commuter Bikes For 2011
by Tracy McGill
Our AssessmentMetaEfficient.com is a website devoted to reviews of green and energy-efficient products. The author picks the best comfort bikes of 2011 in various price ranges. It doesn't appear that any of the bikes have been tested, and the reviews focus mainly on features.
Sponsored Links

Back to top