Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Computer Speakers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. PCMag.com
March 4, 2013
The 10 Best Computer Speakers
by Jamie Lendino and editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentPCMag.com's Jamie Lendino discusses how computer audio has improved in recent years and offers his top 10 picks for computer speakers, four of which receive an editor's choice award. These mini write-ups are short, but they link to the more in-depth reviews for each computer speaker.
2. MaximumPC.com
As of May 2013
Speakers
by Editors of MaximumPC
Our AssessmentDespite its often irreverent tone, MaximumPC's occasional reviews of computer speakers are detailed and thorough. Reviews cover the high and lows of each product, while mentioning testing methods and even specific songs used to gauge a computer speaker audio performance. The write-ups are balanced, and ratings are provided.
3. Sound & Vision Magazine
As of May 2013
Speakers
by Editors of Sound+Vision magazine
Our AssessmentSound + Vision magazine offers lengthy, thorough reviews of computer speakers that include extensive details on testing methods, analysis and frequency charts to back up their observations. Sound+Vision lumps its computer-related speaker coverage in with its general audio hardware reviews and home stereo system coverage, making it tough to find relevant reviews of computers speakers without doing some heavy digging.
4. CNET
Oct. 12, 2011
Best Computer Speakers
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentCNET names its top choices in PC speakers on this page. All get a rating and are compared to similar models. Discussion here is brief, but links are provided to detailed reviews. While it looks as if CNET has not updated this page or reviewed any computer speakers in recent years, several of the speakers listed here remain current.
5. TomsHardware.com
Jan. 6, 2011
Bringing Home the Bass: 2.1-Channel Speaker Roundup
by Don Woligroski
Our AssessmentIn this painstakingly designed shootout, TomsHardware.com compares five 2.1-channel speaker systems, playing both songs and games. Tester Don Woligroski gives his personal opinions on how the speakers sound and their ease of use, but he also measures their frequency response (to see how faithfully they reproduce sound and whether the bass is overwhelming). Although this is an older article, most of the speakers covered are still current.
6. Macworld
Dec. 12, 2012
Buying Guide: Find the Best Speakers
by Dan Frakes and Lex Friedman
Our AssessmentMacworld's speaker buying guide offers some good information for a wide range of speaker types and brands. However, while certain computer speaker recommendations link to Macworld's own reviews, others simply link to the manufacturer's site. Additionally, some discontinued models are referenced.
7. Amazon.com
As of May 2013
Computer Speakers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com lets users post reviews of computer speakers that they own. Some speakers get hundreds and even thousands of reviews, and it's easy to spot top choices. Many score similarly, though, and separating out the very best can be challenging. On the other hand, losers also tend to stick out. User-review sites like Amazon.com are particularly useful in identifying cheap computer speakers that perform well and that aren't always covered in professional reviews.
8. NewEgg.com
As of May 2013
Speakers
by Contributors to NewEgg.com
Our AssessmentNewegg.com is another retailer site that allows owners to write reviews. Posters here tend to have more technical savvy than at Amazon.com because the site caters to computer and electronics enthusiasts. In addition, reviewers are asked to include information on their level of technical knowledge and how long they've owned or used a product. There are fewer computer speakers reviewed here, though, and most receive less feedback.
9. MacLife.com
As of May 2013
Audio
by Editors at MacLife.com
Our AssessmentEditors at MacLife.com include a selection of computer speaker reviews among their coverage of Mac and iOS compatible hardware, though such reviews are infrequent compared to the volume of other gadgets covered. As such, they tend to get buried in the feed. The conversational reviews discuss the general pros and cons of computer speakers, along with any notable features and high points, but they don't get into much detail about testing protocol or rating criteria.
10. DigitalTrends.com
April 18, 2013
Best Computer Speakers
by Drew Prindle and editors of DigitalTrends.com
Our AssessmentDigitalTrend.com's Drew Prindle highlights his recommendations for the best computer speakers in this list article. The piece is updated from previous versions to include newer models and feedback from other editors at this tech site. At least one of the speaker selections is discontinued, and many of the actual reviews on the site are older.
11. Expert Reviews
As of May 2013
PC Speaker Reviews
by Editors of Expert Reviews
Our AssessmentBritain's Expert Reviews covers a good assortment of PC speakers in brief, but testing-based reviews. Ratings are given, and reviewers aren't shy about pointing out faults. However, many of the computer speakers reviewed are not available in the United States.
Sponsored Links

Back to top