Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Curling Irons: Ratings of Sources

Total of 22 Sources
1. InStyle
Not dated
Best Beauty Buys
by Editors of InStyle magazine
Our AssessmentInStyle magazine creates an annual list of the best beauty products, based on pro recommendations. The Hot Tools 1" Professional Spring Iron has been named the best curling iron every year since 2005. The review says it works as well as a high-end ceramic iron. It's also praised for its long cool tip and for evenly heating the barrel.
2. Allure
May 2012
T3 SinglePass Whirl Professional Styling Wand
by Amber Angelle
Our AssessmentThe T3 SinglePass Whirl Wand is named the best curling iron in Allure's Best of Beauty listings in 2011 and 2012. Allure doesn't explain exactly how products are tested or compared, however, Allure editors are qualified experts, and with 245 winning products, the list is certainly widespread. Amber Angelle says the T3 SinglePass is a winner because it curls in just seconds, adds shine and never crimps hair.
3. Amazon.com
As of May 2013
Curling Irons
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com offers thousands of curling irons, and many receive hundreds of user reviews. The products with the highest ratings and a very high number of reviews are Hot Tools 1-1/4" Professional Spring Iron 1110, Bed Head TIGI Ceramic Deep Waver and Jose Eber Curling Iron 19mm. The Hot Tool 1110 has more than 700 reviews, yet it still gets an overall rating of about 4.5 out of 5 stars. Similarly, the Jose Eber Curling Iron 19mm has about 100 reviews with an overall rating of4.7 out of 5 stars, and the Bed Head TIGI Deep Waver has more than 300 reviews and gets an overall rating of about 4.5 out of 5 stars, making it the highest-ranked waving iron.
4. MakeupAlley.com
As of May 2013
Hair Styling Tools
by Contributors to MakeupAlley.com
Our AssessmentMakeupAlley.com compiles user reviews for thousands of beauty products. Both of the top-rated curling irons are clipless irons and receive about 100 reviews. The Infiniti by Conair You Curl gets an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars, with 88 percent of the reviewers saying they'd buy again, while the Remington T-Studio Ceramic Professional Styling Wand gets an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars, with 91 percent of reviewers saying they'd buy again. Generally, reviews at MakeupAlley.com are detailed and include a star rating, written review and details about hair type.
5. Temptalia.com
Not dated
2013 Editor's Choice Awards
by Christine Mielke
Our AssessmentTemptalia.com is a respected beauty blog that routinely features reviews. In its annual roundup of the best beauty products, the editor, Christine Mielke, picks her favorite high-end and budget products in several categories, including curling irons. Mielke also offers a couple of sentences on each product, explaining why it was selected, and the description makes it clear that each product was tested. However, it's unclear how many products were tested and how they were compared. Though it lacks a specific date, this was one of the few product roundups we found that came from 2013.
6. Folica.com
Not dated
Top 10 Curling Tools
by Editors of Folica.com
Our AssessmentFolica.com is similar to the beauty review site MakeupAlley.com, but it focuses exclusively on hair products. Folica.com's top 10 curling irons list is curated based on star rating and editors opinions. While editors' insights are helpful, they may date this list in a way that reviews alone would not. The other downside to Folica.com's reviews is that curling irons of different sizes from the same line are listed together, making it difficult to tell if there are pluses and minuses to a particular size.
7. Redbook
Not Dated
2012 Most Valuable Products
by Gina Way
Our AssessmentRedbook magazine, like other women's lifestyle publications, publishes a list each year of the best beauty products. Redbook explains that winners were selected from a pool of hundreds of products by industry experts and readers. The Sultra Bombshell ¾-inch Rod Curling Iron is named the best curling iron, though not much detail is provided. The tester says that the iron creates a natural-looking curl.
8. Refinery29.com
Jan. 11, 2013
The Best Tools for Your Hair Type: The Pros Spill
by Amber Katz
Our AssessmentAmber Katz interviews several celebrity hairstylists and asks for their recommendations for specific hair types. The recommendations include brushes, blow dryers, flat irons and curling irons. For curly haired women who want more defined curls, Tresemmé stylist Jeanie Syfu recommends the R Session Tools Nalu Waver. Several stylists, including Ted Gibson, Jenny Cho and Angelo David, recommend the Hot Tools 1" Professional Spring Iron. For making straight hair go voluminous and textured, Sarah Potempa The Beachwaver and T3 SinglePass Whirl Wand are recommended.
9. More
Dec. 26, 2012
Beauty Tools That Get You Salon-Like Results at Home
by Genevieve Monsma
Our AssessmentGenevieve Monsma outlines products that will get you salon-like results at home, and Sarah Potempa The Beachwaver makes the cut. However, it's not clear what other curling irons were tested -- if any -- and whether The Beachwaver is explicitly better than other irons or just easier for inexperienced at-home stylists. Many of the in-home testers have some qualms with this iron, including that it takes a good amount of practice to be able to use it.
10. Target.com
As of May 2013
Hair Appliances
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentOf the more than 100 styling tools at Target.com, few get more than a handful of reviews. The Conair Infiniti You Curl, however, gets more than 50 and still gets an overall rating of about 5 out of 5 stars. While several owners say the clipless curling wands or the included glove are tricky to use, nearly all are impressed with the results. Several say the curls last longer than curls from other irons, and that it can curl or wave.
11. Folica.com
As of May 2013
Double and Triple Barrel Curling Irons
by Contributors to Folica.com
Our AssessmentIn addition to its list of the best curling irons overall, Folica.com also organizes user reviews based on the type of curling iron, with one section dedicated to waving irons. Many of the models get fewer than five reviews, but the Hot Tool CeramicTi Tourmaline Deep Waver gets about 50, with an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars. Users here offer pretty detailed reviews, some with photos, and also describe their hair type and usage.
12. TotalBeauty.com
Not dated
14 Best Hot Styling Tools
by Molly Roemer
Our AssessmentTotalBeauty.com compiles user reviews for many beauty products, and then editors put together lists of the best products based on users' rankings. While reviews are updated regularly, these articles may become dated and no longer point to the products users consider the best. However, they are still useful, as editors have a good oversight of all products in a given category. In this list of the 14 best hot styling tools, the Conair Instant Heat 3/4" Curling Iron is named the best bet.
13. DailyCandy.com
Jan. 18, 2011
17 Must-Have Hair Tools
by Editors of DailyCandy.comq
Our AssessmentDailyCandy.com is a lifestyle blog that publishes features in many categories, including beauty. In this roundup of must-have hair tools, Hot Tools CeramicTi Tourmaline Deep Waver and Ginalli Milano Pro Cylinder 19mm Clipless Curling Iron are named favorites. Editors say up-front that the list is made up of "The hair dryers, curlers, and flat irons we need right now," so it doesn't appear the focus was on comparison testing.
14. Real Simple
September 2012
6 Smart Hairstyling Tools and Accessories
by Alexandra Gonzalez
Our AssessmentIn this roundup, Alexandra Gonzalez lists six smart hair styling tools and accessories. The Goody Wave Creator Iron and Amike 4P Interchangeable Barrel Curler Set are both listed, and it appears that editors have tried these products. However, it seems they were specifically looking for products with a special feature -- not necessarily the best curling iron or waver.
15. About.com
Not dated
Top 6 Curling Irons
by Julyne Derrick
Our AssessmentAbout.com's beauty guide, Julyne Derrick, says she's "tried and tested the best curling irons on the market." She names six winners, giving each a title like The Pro Favorite. It's unclear how many irons were tested total, and whether there's a single winner that performed best overall. Testing procedures also aren't laid out.
16. Drugstore.com
As of May 2013
Curling Irons
by Contributors to Drugstore.com
Our AssessmentDrugstore.com sells more than 30 curling irons, though not all have been reviewed by shoppers. Of those that are, few have more than a dozen reviews. The Infiniti by Conair Nano Tourmaline Ceramic Curling Iron does, however, and it gets an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars. Many owners say the Conair Infiniti Nano Tourmaline Ceramic Curling Iron heats up very quickly and adds shine to their hair.
17. Oprah.com
January 2013
4 High Tech Hair Gadgets We Love
by Editors of O, The Oprah Magazine
Our AssessmentO, The Oprah Magazine editors prepared a list of four techy hair tools, including a blow dryer with a touchscreen and a flat iron with a temperature sensor. It may seem like the products were selected based only on gimmicky features, but editors say that the Bed Head Tigi Ceramic Deep Waver truly does speed up styling and yield better waves than a curling iron alone.
18. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
2013 Good Housekeeping VIP (Very Innovative Products) Awards
by Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentEach year, Good Housekeeping releases a list of the most innovative and exciting products of the year based on editors' testing. While there haven't been any Good Housekeeping reviews of curling irons, Sarah Potempa The Beachwaver makes it onto the 2013 list. Editors call it, the Easiest-Ever Curling Iron. While Good Housekeeping testing is generally very thorough and unbiased, it doesn't appear that they've tested any other curling irons or that they recommend The Beachwaver over other models.
19. More
Not dated
15 Best Hair Styling Tools
by Perry Sun
Our AssessmentMore magazine offers a list of 15 of the best hair styling tools, including combs, brushes, blow dryers and flat irons. The Jilbere Porcelain Series Spring Curling Iron is the only curling iron listed, and Perry Sun says only that there are 30 temperature settings to choose from. It's not clear whether products were tested or how they were selected.
20. New York Magazine
Dec. 28, 2012
Best Bet: T3 BodyWaver Curling Iron
by Editors of New York magazine
Our AssessmentEditors say the T3 BodyWaver will give at-home stylists salon-worthy results, thanks to the T3's uniform heating. They also praise the tourmaline-infused barrel, which smoothes hair for greater shine. This review seems thorough, yet it's unclear whether editors tested the product themselves and whether they've tried competitors' irons.
21. Bestcovery.com
Not dated
Best Curling Iron
by Kim Hill
Our AssessmentBestcovery.com experts compile reviews from other sources and add some of their own experience to name the best product. It's unclear if any products were tested. Winners are named in the categories of best ceramic curling iron, best tourmaline curling iron, best professional curling iron, best budget curling iron, best clipless curling iron, best travel curling iron and best waver. The review's credibility is questionable, as many of these categories ought to overlap.
22. Marie Claire
Nov. 6, 2009
How to Care for Your Hair
by Editors of Marie Claire
Our AssessmentIn this article, editors set out to answer the question: "What is the best curling iron that won't damage hair?" They say that the Infiniti by Professional Nano Tourmaline Ceramic Curling Iron and CHI Turbo Professional Ceramic Curling Iron are "some good ones to try," so it's not clear whether this is based on testing, professional recommendations or simply the products' descriptions.
Sponsored Links

Back to top