Sponsored Links
Page: 2 of 2

Dehumidifiers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Updated April 2012
Dehumidifier Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org editors evaluate seven large-capacity and 10 medium-capacity dehumidifiers. Editors rate each model at various temperatures and humidity levels, testing humidistat accuracy, energy efficiency and noise level at the highest setting. Most models tested are excellent at water removal, but noise levels vary significantly among the dehumidifiers included in this roundup. Editors recommend three large-capacity units and one medium-capacity model -- some based on testing and others based on their similarity to tested models.
2. Good Housekeeping
September 2010
Best Dehumidifiers
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentExperts at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute compare 11 dehumidifiers with a larger capacity of 50 to 70 pints. Testers evaluate how quickly each dehumidifier removes moisture from the air, operating noise, energy consumption and ease of use. They also call manufacturers' customer service centers to see how helpful the reps are at troubleshooting problems. Each humidifier receives a letter grade, ranging from A to B-minus, along with a short summary of pros and cons. Only two models, an LG and a Frigidaire, earn perfect ratings in this review.
3. AllergyBuyersClub.com
As of July 2013
Dehumidifiers
by Editors of AllergyBuyersClub.com
Our AssessmentAllergyBuyersClub.com offers a wide selection of dehumidifiers for consumers who suffer from allergies. Expert reviewers rate each dehumidifier on various factors, including moisture removal, noise level, operation in low temperatures, drainage and energy use. However, it is not clear whether the dehumidifiers have been subjected to any hands-on testing. The WhiteWing Defender is the editor's pick in several categories, including home, basement, Energy Star and mold dehumidifiers. Reviews from owners are also available on this site, though most dehumidifiers have only a handful.
4. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
Dehumidifiers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is the best source we've found for reviews on a wide variety of dehumidifier brands. A few models have accumulated hundreds of owner-written reviews and maintain average ratings of 4 stars out of 5 or better. Both the Frigidaire FAD704DUD 70-Pint Dehumidifier and the smaller Frigidaire FAD504DUD 50-Pint Dehumidifier earn high average ratings among hundreds of owner-written reviews. The Eva-Dry Renewable E-333 Wireless Mini Dehumidifier also earns high scores, with an average rating of 4.3 stars out of 5 in nearly 300 owner-written reviews.
5. AchooAllergy.com
As of July 2013
Dehumidifiers
by Contributors to AchooAllergy.com
Our AssessmentAchooAllergy.com, an online retailer of allergy, asthma and sinus-relief products, sells several brands of dehumidifiers. Experts at the site have tested some of these models under real-life conditions and list their pros and cons on the site, but they do not make any specific recommendations. A few dehumidifiers have accumulated a fair amount of owner-written reviews and maintain average ratings of 4.5 stars out of 5 or better, including the Danby Premiere 70 Pint Dehumidifier DDR7009REE, Danby Premiere 50 Pint Dehumidifier DDR5009REE, which have both been discontinued. The Eva-Dry 1100 Petite Dehumidifier, designed for small spaces such as laundry rooms and bathrooms, also earns positive feedback.
6. Sylvane.com
As of July 2013
Dehumidifiers
by Contributors to Sylvane.com
Our AssessmentSylvane.com, an online retailer of air products, sells many brands of dehumidifiers, but only a few of them receive a significant number of user reviews. We found the most reviews for Santa Fe and Winix models. The Santa Fe Classic earns an average of 4.5 stars out of 5 in more than 100 owner-written reviews. The Santa Fe Compact 2 Dehumidifier, Winix 50 Pint Dehumidifier WDH851 and Comfort-Aire BHD-651-G Dehumidifier also earn high average ratings, each having accumulated at least 75 owner-written reviews.
7. Walmart.com
As of July 2013
Dehumidifiers Reviews
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentA number of dehumidifiers sold at Walmart.com have accumulated a few dozen reviews or more. The highest-rated dehumidifiers are Frigidaire models with about a dozen other units earning varying average ratings among 25 reviews or more.
8. ABT.com
As of July 2013
Dehumidifiers
by Contributors to ABT.com
Our AssessmentThis online retailer sells a limited number of brands of dehumidifiers, but a few have accumulated a good number of user reviews. The GE 65 Pint Capacity White Dehumidifier - ADER65LQ receives 4.2 stars out of 5 from nearly 270 owners who say it's very effective in a damp basement. We also found positive feedback for the GE 50 Pint White Dehumidifier – the ADER50LQ and the GE 30 Pint White Dehumidifier -- ADER30LQ, although there are fewer reviews for these models.
9. DehumidifierExperts.com
As of July 2013
Dehumidifiers
by Contributors to DehumidifierExperts.com
Our AssessmentThis online retailer specializes in large-capacity dehumidifiers than can remove moisture from a whole house, large basement or crawl space. The Santa Fe Classic, a whole-house dehumidifier with a capacity of 110 pints per day, receives a rating of 4.7 stars out of 5 from about 140 owners. Other models also earn positive ratings but have accumulated fewer reviews. The site also has an FAQ discussing the benefits of whole-house dehumidifiers and how they stack up against the less expensive portable models.
10. The Washington Post
May 25, 2011
A Consumer's Guide to Dehumidifiers
by Jura Koncius
Our AssessmentThis article includes some dehumidifier recommendations from a buyer of home-environment products for Sears and Kmart (so the products are limited to the models sold in these stores). The units recommended are the 30-pint Frigidaire FAD301NUD, the 50-pint Kenmore 511100 (referred to in the article as the Kenmore 50501) and the 70-pint Kenmore Elite 90701. The article also offers helpful dehumidifier buying tips.
11. ENERGYSTAR.gov
Updated June 10, 2013
Dehumidifiers for Consumers
by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and U.S. Department of Energy
Our AssessmentThe U.S. Environmental Protection Agency measures dehumidifier efficiency in liters of water removed per kilowatt-hour of energy consumed. Dehumidifiers that are Energy Star-qualified must be 15 percent more efficient than models with a comparable capacity. The site provides a downloadable list of all humidifiers that meet Energy Star requirements. By comparing the higher-capacity models on this list to lower-capacity models, you can see that larger dehumidifiers are generally more efficient than smaller ones.
Sponsored Links

Back to top