Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Deodorant: Ratings of Sources

Total of 29 Sources
1. Allure
2009
Best of Beauty: Body
by Liana Marraro Schaffner
Our AssessmentEditors of Allure magazine test thousands of beauty products, both old and new, for their annual beauty awards. Winning products are listed in several categories and each is given a brief description. Testing criteria, however, is not explained, and the non-winning products are not listed. Secret Clinical Strength Advanced Solid Antiperspirant/Deodorant Waterproof makes the list for the Deodorant category.
2. GoodGuide.com
Not Dated
Best Men's Deodorant and Antiperspirant Ratings
by Editors of GoodGuide.com
Our AssessmentThis website provides exhaustive, in-depth information on the health, social and environmental performance of a wide range of products and companies. Although Mitchum Power Gel receives a relatively low score (5.9) overall for the company's poor environmental and social policies, it earns a perfect 10 in the health category. After rigorous scientific testing, GoodGuide determined that it was perfectly safe for human consumption.
3. Real Simple
Not Dated
The Best Deodorants
by Alexandra Gonzalez and Sarah Smith
Our AssessmentTesters at Real Simple magazine analyze dozens of deodorants and choose one from each of the six categories. Only winners are mentioned and given a brief description. Winning deodorants include products from Dove, Soft & Dri, Secret, Dermadoctor, Tom's of Maine and Donna Karan.
4. Real Simple
Not Dated
The Best Antiperspirants
by Bora Chang
Our AssessmentFor this informative slideshow about the most effective antiperspirants, Real Simple tested 50 products and chose eight products it considered to be the best. Secret Clinical Strength was named the winner as "Best Solid Antiperspirant," and Kiehl's Superbly Efficient Anti-Perspirant and Deodorant was named "Second-Best Gel or Cream Antiperspirant," behind Dry Idea Clear Gel.
5. TotalBeauty.com
Jan. 23, 2012
10 Best Deodorants and Antiperspirants -- and the 4 Worst
by Stephanie Shum
Our AssessmentAlthough TotalBeauty.com didn't perform any formal testing on the products in this list, the editors drew on hundreds of the website's customer reviews to come up with a definitive list of the best (and worst) deodorants and antiperspirants. Secret Clinical Strength comes in second, behind Pristine Beauty Take a Whiff Natural Deodorant; Jason Deodorant and Kiehl's Superbly Efficient Anti-Perspirant and Deodorant also make the cut.
6. Esquire magazine
Not Dated
My Search for a New Deodorant
by A.J. Jacobs
Our AssessmentEsquire magazine tests dozens of deodorants, checking for scent, dryness and feel. Their secret weapon? Getting not only the author's take, but his wife's too. The top five are listed and described, but most comments focus on scent rather than performance. His favorite, Ban Invisible Solid in Shower Fresh, offers the best combination of scent and protection.
7. TheBeautyBrains.com
Oct. 2, 2007
Secret Antiperspirant: Clinical Strength Without a Prescription
by "Right Brain"
Our AssessmentCosmetics chemists at TheBeautyBrains.com, a blog devoted to beauty reviews based on science, say that Secret Clinical Strength Antiperspirant/Deodorant lives up to its claims of reducing wetness and eliminating odor. They point to findings by the National Advertising Division of the Better Business Bureau, which back up these claims.
8. iVillage.com
July 18, 2013
Top 10 Best Deodorants for Women
by Kristin Booker
Our AssessmentThis article of the best deodorants on the market lists 10 products at various price points for their effectiveness. Although the products aren't ranked, Secret Clinical Strength Antiperspirant/Deodorant, Tom's of Maine Deodorant and Jason Deodorant each get a mention. The author says the products have been tested, but she doesn't provide any information about methodology.
9. RealBeauty.com
Not Dated
The 10 Winners of Our Deodorant challenge [sic] !
by Lizzie Dunlap
Our AssessmentThe editors of Real Beauty tested a number of deodorants for this informative list of the 10 best products on the market. Dove Go Sleeveless earns the top spot, and Tom's of Maine Long Lasting Deodorant and Kiehl's Superbly Efficient Anti-Perspirant and Deodorant Cream follow close behind. However, the results are based on the tester's experiences and opinions rather than any sort of formal, scientific evaluations.
10. Llero.net
Not Dated
Don't Sweat It -- Guide to Men's Deodorant
by Ana Mantica
Our AssessmentIn this deodorant guide, Ana Mantica consults several dermatologists for advice and then provides a list of the most effective men's deodorants and antiperspirants. It is unclear whether the aforementioned dermatologists provided the recommendations or whether the products were subjected to any sort of testing. Mantica recommends Mitchum Power Gel "For Everyday," Gillette Clinical Strength Antiperspirant/Deodorant "For Super-Sweaty Guys," Dove Men+Care Clean Comfort "For Sensitive Skin" and Tom's of Maine Men's Long Lasting Care Deodorant "For Green Dudes."
11. Natural Health
Not Dated
Smell Fresh, Naturally
by Olessa Pindak
Our AssessmentEditors of Natural Health magazine test aluminum-free deodorants in the dead of summer in order to find the best. Twelve products are listed as the best, though some categories are redundant. Natural deodorant from Dr. Hauschka, Dermalogica and Kiss My Face, among others, make the list. Non-winning products, however, are not mentioned.
12. Men's Fitness
Not Dated
Pit Stop
by Editors of Men's Fitness magazine
Our AssessmentEditors of Men's Fitness magazine list six recommended deodorants for men based on personality types and activity levels. Products from Mitchum, Axe, Burt's Bees, Old Spice, Gillette and Clarins Men make the list. Some of the deodorants listed are suggested for their scent, while others are recommended for their effectiveness. It's not clear, however, if any of these products were actually tested.
13. Men's Health
Not Dated
Which Antiperspirant Best Stops Sweat and Stink?
by Editors of Men's Health magazine
Our AssessmentExperts from Men's Health magazine recommend using Certain Dri at night to relieve excessive daytime sweating. Underarms should be washed in the morning to remove excess antiperspirant, though, in order to avoid skin irritation. A standard antiperspirant with deodorant, such as Mitchum Clear Gel Antiperspirant, can then be applied in the morning for extra protection. Products mentioned in the article are not rated or tested.
14. Dadand.com
Dec. 9, 2011
Review: Dove Men+Care
by Marty Csercsevits
Our AssessmentThis website, run by two fathers who have been lifelong friends, provides information about a wide variety of topics, including cars, tools, home renovation, music, technology and art. In this informal review, Marty Csercsevits discusses his experiences with Dove Men+Care products. He says he first began using the deodorant when he realized that his skin was too sensitive for regular products, and he claims that Dove Men+Care has eliminated irritation for him.
15. EcoSalon.com
Nov. 13, 2009
Best Organic Deodorants (That Actually Work)
by Katherine Butler
Our AssessmentIn this article, Katherine Butler lists her favorite organic deodorants. Her top choice is Avalon Organics' Grapefruit and Geranium Deodorant Spray. She puts Jason Deodorant near the bottom of the list, saying it smelled nice but that she found herself having to reapply frequently. She dislikes Tom's of Maine Long Lasting Deodorant because it only works "if you sit motionless in a chair and under an air conditioner all day."
16. SafeMama.com
Aug. 20, 2010
Safer Deodorant Cheat Sheet
by Kathy
Our AssessmentThis guide points out the potentially harmful effects of aluminum and lists a number of natural deodorants that the author has found to be effective. Aubrey Organics, Avalon and Burt's Bees are listed among the top picks. The author places both Jason Deodorant and Tom's of Maine Deodorant in her Runner Up (Better but not great) category because both products contain propylene glycol.
17. This Balming Man
Aug. 5, 2013
Review - Kiehl's Superbly Efficient Anti-Perspirant and Deodorant 50ml
by Luke Roberts
Our AssessmentThis website, run by 25-year-old Luke Roberts, provides reviews and information pertaining to men's grooming products. Although the article on Kiehl's Superbly Efficient Anti-Perspirant and Deodorant is rather brief, the author does cover the product's effectiveness thoroughly. He says the cream absorbs easily and works well, "outlasting any spray-on [he's] ever tried." He also expresses satisfaction with the product's mild fragrance, which doesn't get in the way of colognes or aftershaves.
18. BellaSugar.com
July 23, 2007
Bellissima! Kiehl's Superbly Efficient Anti-Perspirant and Deodorant Cream
by PopSugar Beauty
Our AssessmentThis somewhat dated review recommends Kiehl's Superbly Efficient as a highly effective deodorant. Although the author doesn't rate the cream, she says it leaves no residue, smells pleasant, is easy to apply, and works to fight odor and wetness.
19. MakeupAlley.com
As of October 2013
Deodorants
by Contributors to MakeupAlley.com
Our AssessmentContributors to MakeupAlley.com rate and review more than 300 deodorants. Top products, including deodorants from Dove, Gillette, Secret and Avon, are reviewed numerous times and receive high ratings overall.
20. Bestcovery.com
Not Dated
Deodorant
by Editors of Bestcovery.com
Our AssessmentThis website helps consumers find the best products in a wide range of categories, providing both reviews and lists that rank products. Kim Hill reviews a number of deodorants, and she rates Mitchum Power Gel and Gillette Clinical Strength highly. Although it is unclear whether she subjected the products to any sort of serious testing, Bestcovery.com says it hires "experts" based on their knowledge of a given category or niche.
21. Buzzle.com
Jan. 12, 2011
Best Deodorant for Men
by Torque Earnest
Our AssessmentThis informative guide provides advice about choosing the right men's deodorant and offers 10 product recommendations for various lifestyles and preferences. Although the products aren't ranked, the author lists Gillette Clinical Strength and Mitchum Power Gel among his top choices. He doesn't mention anything about having tested the products, however.
22. Chic Steals
May 24, 2011
Get Your Arms Ready for Sleeveless Season with Dove
by Carly J. Cais
Our AssessmentIn this blog-style review, the author discusses her experiences trying the "Dove Go Sleeveless 5-Day Challenge." She says her underarms did feel smoother after using the deodorant for five days, and she praises the product's long-lasting sweat protection and lack of powdery residue. She does not compare Dove Go Sleeveless to any other deodorants, however.
23. FirstClassFashionista.com
June 23, 2011
Dove Go Sleeveless 5 Day Challenge Review and Fashion Challenge Winner
by Anastasiad
Our AssessmentThis informal article provides insight into a user's experience with Dove Go Sleeveless. The author says she decided to take the "Dove Go Sleeveless 5-Day Challenge" after seeing a commercial about it on television. Although she doesn't write much about how the product functions as an antiperspirant, she says it did make her underarms noticeably smoother and more attractive, and she says the product's smell was favorable.
24. Just Us Girls
July 23, 2013
Take the @Dove Go Sleeveless 5 Day Challenge!
by Editors of Just Us Girls
Our AssessmentThis website, run by five women who live in Canada, features a variety of reviews, DIY projects, recipes and giveaways. In this particular article, the author writes about what it was like to take the "Dove Go Sleeveless 5-Day Challenge." She ultimately gives the product her full endorsement, saying it lives up to its claims of smoothing out underarms. She also says Dove Go Sleeveless offers reliable 24-hour odor and wetness protection.
Dove Ultimate Go Sleeveless Anti-Perspirant/Deoderant [sic] Review and Giveaway
by Leah Kanaan
Our AssessmentThis brief review doesn't provide much information about how Dove Go Sleeveless works as an antiperspirant -- it is more concerned with whether the product lives up to its claims of smoothing out underarms. The author expresses satisfaction with the product, saying, "After using this new deodorant for just five days, I had much smoother underarms! And my 5 o'clock stubble issue? It is a thing of the past!"
26. Drugstore.com
As of October 2013
Antiperspirants and Deodorants
by Contributors to Drugstore.com
Our AssessmentUsers rate and review dozens of men's, women's and natural deodorants at Drugstore.com. Most deodorants only receive a handful of comments, but some get more than 100 reviews. Among those with the most reviews, Secret, Crystal and Certain Dri deodorants rate the highest.
27. Amazon.com
As of October 2013
Deodorants and Antiperspirants
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentHundreds of deodorants and antiperspirants are listed for sale at Amazon.com, and some receive hundreds of reviews. Secret Clinical Protection, Dove Go Sleeveless, Tom's Long Lasting Deodorant and others receive hundreds of reviews and high ratings.
28. Walgreens.com
As of October 2013
Deodorant and Antiperspirant
by Contributors to Walgreens.com
Our AssessmentThere are more than 100 deodorants listed for sale at Walgreens.com, but most are only reviewed a handful of times, if any. Still, consumer opinion here resembles that found at other reputable sites. Secret Clinical Strength earns 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 19 reviews, and Dove Go Sleeveless gets a score of 3.6 stars with nearly 50 customers weighing in.
29. Kiehls.com
Not Dated
Test Superbly Efficient Anti-Perspirant and Deodorant
by Contributors to Kiehls.com
Our AssessmentThe Kiehl's website allows customers to weigh in on the products they've purchased. Kiehl's Superbly Efficient Anti-Perspirant and Deodorant receives stellar reviews, nearly earning a 5 out of 5 rating. Ninety-four percent of respondents said they would recommend the product to a friend. The only criticism is the product's high price -- some customers say it's still a great value, others claim it's not worth the cost.
Sponsored Links

Back to top