Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Deodorant: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. TheActiveTimes.com
Aug. 26, 2013
Sweat-Tested: The Best Antiperspirant Deodorants
by Peter Koch
Our AssessmentFive testers -- "including a bike commuter, a competitive dancer and three who describe themselves as 'extremely sweaty'" -- test 20 antiperspirants for both women and men (all major drugstore brands), each for 24 hours during a hot, sticky summer. Scores are based on scent, sweat-stopping and overall performance. User reviews from sites like Amazon.com are factored in, too. Eight of the antiperspirants keep testers dry. One winner has been discontinued, and another renamed.
2. TheStir.com
Dec. 14, 2011
6 Deodorants Put to the Ultimate Lady Sweat Test
by Michele Zipp
Our AssessmentFive women try each of six drugstore deodorants and antiperspirants (including two natural ones) for a few days. They score each one on a 5-point scale for scent, dryness, odor effectiveness, ingredients and whether it stained clothing. Two testers liked one of the natural deodorants, but a popular non-natural drugstore solid is the overall winner.
3. Men's Health
Nov. 4, 2011
I Sweat Through My Shirts Within Minutes. What's the Best Antiperspirant?
by Editors of MenHealth.com
Our AssessmentIn response to a reader question, Leslie Baumann, M.D., director of the University of Miami cosmetic group, recommends using Certain Dri roll-on to combat excessive sweating.
4. GQ Magazine
Aug. 18, 2015
The Best Deodorants: According to Female Sniff Tests
by Editors of GQ.com
Our AssessmentFour GQ staffers test eight deodorants (one on each armpit) during a sweaty game of basketball, then ask one woman to sniff out the winner. Contestants include a couple of upscale brands, but a popular drugstore antiperspirant spray wins the prize.
5. Lululemon.com
March 19, 2012
Natural Deodorant Sweat Test
by "Ally"
Our AssessmentThis Lululemon.com staffer (whose daily routine includes both intense workouts and business meetings) tests three popular natural deodorants for a week at a time. She gives each one a 10-point "sweat test" rating and a paragraph explaining how it worked. The worst one scores just a 3, while the winner earns a score of 8.
6. New York Magazine
July 18, 2013
Do Any of These Hippie Deodorants Work?
by Kat Stoeffel
Our AssessmentKat Stoeffel couldn't care less about being "natural" -- she just hates the yellow underarm stains that aluminum-containing deodorants leave on her white shirts. She tests 11 non-aluminum deodorants for a month and finds three that actually work. She writes a short paragraph evaluating each deodorant, states clearly whether she recommends it or not, and isn't shy about descriptively dissing the losers.
7. A Cup of Jo
July 22, 2014
'Do I Smell Funny?' Natural Deodorant Challenge
by Caroline Donofrio
Our AssessmentCaroline Donofrio says, "'Awesome Natural Deodorant' is basically an oxymoron." She manages to find one natural deodorant she can recommend, after testing five of them for one day each during a hot, humid New York City summer.
8. Well + Good
Jan. 27, 2015
7 Effective Natural Deodorants for a Sweaty 2015
by Lisa Elaine Held
Our AssessmentTesters here try out natural deodorants during "intense workout sessions and crowded subway rides." They recommend seven (they don't say how many were tested). Each deodorant gets a one-paragraph write-up describing its pros and cons.
9. MakeupAlley.com
As of January 2016
Deodorants
by Contributors to MakeupAlley.com
Our AssessmentContributors to MakeupAlley.com rate and review more than 500 deodorants, and several amass hundreds of reviews. Reviews here are often thorough, and members don't hesitate to point out inferior products. Only three deodorants, all from major brands, earn more than 4 out of 5 stars with at least 50 reviews posted.
10. Amazon.com
As of January 2016
Deodorants and Antiperspirants
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentHundreds of deodorants and antiperspirants are listed for sale at Amazon.com, and some receive hundreds of reviews. We found more than 30 of them -- for men, women, and children, both natural and regular -- that average at least 4.5 out of 5 stars with more than 100 reviews posted.
11. Target.com
As of January 2016
Deodorant
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com sells a wide variety of deodorants, mostly from household-name brands. Some have amassed thousands of reviews, and seven score at least 4.5 out of 5 with more than 100 reviews posted.
12. Drugstore.com
As of January 2016
Antiperspirants and Deodorants
by Contributors to Drugstore.com
Our AssessmentUsers rate and review the huge selection of men's, women's and natural deodorants at Drugstore.com. Most deodorants only receive a handful of comments, but several get more than 50 reviews, and a few of those earn very high ratings.
13. Byrdie.com
Aug. 4, 2015
We Put 6 Natural Deodorants to the Test -- Here Are the Reviews
by Deven Hopp
Our AssessmentThis tester -- who says she's not a heavy sweater, and isn't very active -- tries six natural deodorants and awards each a letter grade. Each deodorant gets a one-paragraph summary explaining its strengths and weaknesses. The worst one gets a C+; her favorite earns an A, with three close A- runners-up.
14. InStyle
July 30, 2015
Do Natural Deodorants Really Work? We Put 8 Different Brands to the Test
by Jennifer Velez
Our AssessmentAnother not-very-sweaty, not-very-active tester spends a summer month testing eight natural deodorants. One fancy brand fails utterly, but the winner keeps her dry and odor-free all day long.
15. TotalBeauty.com
Not dated
14 Best and Worst Deodorants and Antiperspirants
by Hayley Mason
Our AssessmentHayley Mason has rounded up the 10 best deodorants/antiperspirants, and the 4 worst, based on TotalBeauty.com reader reviews. Each one gets a 1-to-10 score and a sampling of reader comments. Drugstore brands, upscale deodorants and natural ones are all included. However, the list doesn't say how many reviews the scores are based on.

Back to top