Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5

Desktop Computers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 22 Sources
1. PCMag.com
As of April 2013
Desktops
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentPCMag.com is among the best sources for reviews of desktop computers. Editors test lots of desktop computers each month, and the computers are rated on a 5-point scale. The best desktops earn an Editors' Choice award. PCMag.com's analysis is nicely balanced, and it does one of the best jobs of comparing desktops to each other within individual reviews. Several computers earn Editors' Choice awards in their category.
2. Computer Shopper
As of April 2013
Desktop Reviews
by Editors of ComputerShopper.com
Our AssessmentComputerShopper.com also reviews lots of desktop computers and its detailed reports are worth a read. Reviews are backed by testing and provide some comparisons among models. All desktops are rated on a 10-point scale, and the very best are distinguished with an Editor's Choice award. Though more expensive computers are more likely to get Editors' Choice recognition, several budget desktops garner that award, while some others that fall short still earn mostly positive reviews.
3. CNET
As of April 2013
Desktop Reviews
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentCNET is another prolific reviewer of desktop computers. Reviews are based on testing, and its analysis includes benchmark results and some comparisons among models. Editors show no reluctance in pointing out negatives as well as positives. Ratings are provided, and the very best computers earn Editors' Choice awards. The website also maintains lists of the best products in several desktop categories. With exception of some more expensive options, no current desktops currently receive an Editors' Choice award.
4. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Desktop Computer Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors of ConsumerReports.org test and rank full-size, compact and all-in-one computers. Desktop computers are rated on performance, ergonomics, versatility and gaming, as well as the speakers and display, if available. ConsumerReports.org has good testing, but there's very little analysis to accompany the ratings, which makes this source less valuable than ones we rank higher.
5. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
Desktop Computers Reliability
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org conducts an annual product-reliability survey for desktop computers. Most brands have similar instances of repairs or serious problems, but one that does better than the norm, and one that does worse, can be spotted. The editors note that some models offered by a brand might do better or worse than a brands' overall rating, and that changes in design or manufacturing details could impact reliability as well.
6. PCMag.com
March 20, 2013
Readers' Choice Awards 2013: Desktops and Laptops
by Ben Gottesman
Our AssessmentPCMag.com also conducts yearly service-and-support surveys of its subscribers. Apple receives the overall Readers' Choice award. This year, improvement was noted in Apple's already well-rated technical support and repair service. Asus is a Readers' Choice for desktops, followed by Acer. Lenovo gets a nod for earning high scores for computers less than a year old.
7. PC World
As of April 2013
Desktops
by Editors of PC World
Our AssessmentPC World reviews desktop computers on a regular basis. The site also maintains several lists of the top 10 choices among the different types of desktop computers, including all-in-ones and compact computers as well as traditional mainstream and budget desktop PCs. Though these lists are not updated as regularly as we'd like to see and include lots of older models, some also include several still-current desktops. Each desktop is rated on a five-point scale, but the analysis isn't quite as thorough as we'd like to see -- or as done by some other reviewers.
8. Macworld
As of April 2013
Desktops
by Editors of Macworld
Our AssessmentMacworld has the some of the best coverage of Apple desktops, including the Mac mini. Computers are compared to their predecessors in illustrated reviews. Ratings are provided, but because Macworld doesn't review PCs, they aren't really helpful in seeing how the Mac mini rates against the competition.
9. About.com
Not dated
Personal Computer Reviews
by Mark Kyrnin
Our AssessmentMark Kyrnin, the computer guide at About.com, has a selection of reviews for recent desktop computers. The reviews are broken down by category. Roundups are included for major desktop categories, but those currently include only discontinued models. Each desktop is rated on a five-point scale, but you'll have to click through to each review to see the rating. Comments reflect features and expected performance, but testing is not well explained.
10. Amazon.com
As of April 2013
Desktop Computers & Monitors
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells a good number of desktop computers, but few attract a substantial amount of reviews. Most desktops earn only a handful of ratings, which makes it hard to draw any reasonable conclusions and several of these are discontinued. That said, it is possible to spot a handful of current desktop computers that stand above the rest thanks to their positive ratings following a significant number of reviews.
11. BestBuy.com
As of April 2013
Desktop & All-in-One Computers
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com sells a wide range of desktop computers, but the user reviews tend to be much shorter compared to Amazon.com. Owners can comment on whether they would recommend their desktop to a friend. Although several desktop computers receive a fair amount of reviews, those that have the most reviews are often discontinued, refurbished or no longer widely available.
12. NewEgg.com
As of April 2013
Desktop PCs
by Contributors to Newegg.com
Our AssessmentNewegg.com's customers tend to be more technically savvy, which makes it a good destination for user-written reviews of desktop computers. While several pages of desktops are listed, many models are discontinued and only a few earn enough reviews to draw any conclusions.
13. SlashGear.com
As of April 2013
Untitled
by Editors of SlashGear.com
Our AssessmentSlashGear's reviews aren't quite as detailed as some and the site covers fairly few recent desktops. The computers aren't rated, but it's pretty easy to tell from the concluding paragraph whether a desktop earns a positive review.
14. Anandtech.com
As of April 2013
System
by Editors of AnandTech.com
Our AssessmentAnandTech.com has excellent technology reviews, but the site's editors tend to focus on content for do-it-yourselfers who build their own computers. However, the site does have positive reviews of several desktop computer systems, including some less expensive options. Those reviews feature a detailed, multipage analysis and a bottom-line recommendation, but systems are not rated or ranked.
15. HotHardware.com
As of April 2013
Systems
by Editors of HotHardware.com
Our AssessmentHotHardware.com is a well-regarded reviewer of technology. Although the site is a good source for reviews of gaming desktops, coverage of other desktop computers is lacking. On a positive note, reviews are pages long and packed with technical details, including the results of extensive benchmark testing. Ratings are not provided, but top performers earn awards.
16. TrustedReviews.com
As of April 2013
Desktop PC Reviews
by Editors of TrustedReviews.com
Our AssessmentBritain's TrustedReviews.com doesn't review many mainstream or budget desktops, but the site can have a good number of reviews for specialty products like gaming computers, home-theater PCs and net top units. The test-based reviews are excellent, and each computer is rated on a variety of criteria.
17. Wired
As of April 2013
Desktops & Accessories
by Editors of Wired
Our AssessmentWired posts more reviews of scanners and printers than it does desktop computers, but the short reviews that are available are worth a read. Wired's editors pull no punches, and it's easy to see when a computer falls short. Each desktop is rated on a 10-point scale.
18. Arstechnica.com
As of April 2013
Gadgets
by Editors of ArsTechnica.com
Our AssessmentArs Technica is a technology site that reviews laptops and gadgets more often than desktops. Navigation can be tricky and there are no numerical ratings. However, all desktop reviews are backed by testing and it's not hard to tell which computers make the grade.
19. DigitalTrends.com
As of April 2013
Desktop PC Reviews
by Editors of DigitalTrends.com
Our AssessmentDigitalTrends.com has reviewed only a handful of computers during the past year. While the reviews themselves are nicely detailed and reflect thorough testing, but there aren't enough reviews of currently available desktops to make this source as worthwhile as some others.
20. TechRadar.com
As of April 2013
PC & Mac Desktops Rated
by Editors of TechRadar.com
Our AssessmentThis U.K. site hosts its own reviews as well as reviews from a number of sister sites and publications. It reports on desktops only occasionally. Some configurations are not available in the U.S. TechRadar.com's reviews are less comprehensive than some other review sites, but still provide some helpful information. Ratings are given.
21. TomsHardware.com
As of April 2013
Desktops: Articles & Reviews
by Editors of TomsHardware.com
Our AssessmentTomsHardware.com spends most of its time showing readers how to build their own PCs for varying dollar amounts, but once in a while, the publication compares various types of budget-priced desktops in very detailed, multi-page head-to-head reviews. Both all-in-one PCs and net-top units are covered in this manner, though no single winner is named and some of the models are now discontinued.
22. Walmart.com
As of April 2013
Desktop Computers
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentSeveral mainstream and budget desktop computers are rated by customers at Walmart.com, although few receive attention from multiple users. In addition, users can leave rating-only reviews, and the majority chooses to do that rather than leaving descriptions of their experiences. Navigation is a challenge, as you need to click through to see the number of owners leaving feedback.
Sponsored Links

Back to top