Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Desktop Publishing Software: Ratings of Sources

Total of 28 Sources
1. PCMag.com
As of Aug. 2011
Photos, Videos & Graphics
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentThis section of the site covers not just desktop publishing software, but also photo and video editing software and illustration tools. PCMag.com awards an Editors' Choice award to Adobe Creative Suite 5 (CS5), which includes InDesign. Microsoft Office, which includes Publisher, also gets an Editors' Choice award.
2. PC World (Australia)
As of Aug. 2011
Graphics and Publishing
by Editors of PC World (Australia)
Our AssessmentPC World Australia occasionally updates its desktop publishing software review section, though not all the latest versions of software are reviewed. Top-rated products include Serif PhotoPlus X4, now in version X5 and Adobe InDesign CS5.
3. Digital Arts (U.K.)
As of Aug. 2011
Reviews
by Editors of Digital Arts
Our AssessmentU.K.-based Digital Arts' magazine, geared towards graphic designers, offers thorough reviews of QuarkXpress9 and Adobe InDesign CS5.5. The reviewers laud Quark's digital publishing tools and the design-driven automation and give it 4 out of 5 stars, while InDesign gets 3.5 stars, partly because it focuses more on digital than print media.
4. Macworld
April 6, 2011
First Look: QuarkXPress 9
by Galen Gruman
Our AssessmentReviewer Galen Gruman finds QuarkXPress 9's new and upgraded tools like the Story Editor to be sophisticated and smart. As with many reviews of this software, the missing live preview for the Shapemaker tool is a bugbear for this reviewer.
5. PC World
March 7, 2011
PagePlus Starter Edition
by Ian Harac
Our AssessmentThis standalone review covers the free PagePlus Starter Edition software. Though the review is short, it's clear that the editor spent some time using the software. Though he has some complaints about its limitations, he gives it a recommendation.
6. Arstechnica.com
June 2011
Indesign CS5.5 review: e-Books Made Easy
by Dave Girard
Our AssessmentThis review looks at the latest updates to the Adobe InDesign Creative Suite, which are meant to improve e-book publication. Editors give it a full walk-through and screenshots are embedded throughout the review. No rating is given, but pros and cons are outlined at the end of the piece.
7. The Epoch Times
March 1, 2010
Corel Releases CorelDraw Graphics Suite X5
by Joshua Philipp
Our AssessmentThis review compares the latest version of CorelDraw (version X5) with its predessor, which the same reviewer looked at last year. The thorough review is accompanied by screenshots. Joshua Philipp concludes that the steep price is mitigated by the thousands of clip art images, photos and fonts and the new templates that come with this software.
8. Computer Shopper
Not Dated
An In-Depth Look: CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X5
by Sally Wiener Grotta and Daniel Grotta
Our AssessmentComputer Shopper editors offer a lengthy and detailed review of CorelDraw Graphics Suite X5. Though the site rates its product reviews, no rating is given in this case. The program's guidance for new and more experienced users is helpful, but editors lament the lack of organization for graphics files.
9. PC Pro (U.K.)
As of Aug. 2011
Software reviews
by Editors of PC Pro (U.K.)
Our AssessmentPC Pro's software reviews are all lumped together, so navigation can be tedious. Tom Arah's reviews of desktop publishing software are thorough, though, and each gets a rating and three subratings, which help with comparison. Top picks include CorelDraw Graphics Suite X5 and Serif PagePlus X5, which he says is easy to use and superior to Microsoft Publisher.
10. Macworld (U.K.)
May 26, 2011
Adobe InDesign CS5.5 review
by Neil Bennett
Our AssessmentE-books and publications destined for iPads are easier to create and design with Adobe's latest InDesign CS5.5 software. However, since the subscription fees for the Digital Publishing Suite can be prohibitive, Bennett doesn't think the upgrade is worth the money for print publishers.
11. TechRadar.com
As of Aug. 2011
Desktop publishing (DTP) software
by Editors of TechRadar
Our AssessmentSeveral desktop publishing software products are reviewed at TechRadar, though by different editors. Products are rated, but there's not a lot of comparison. Serif PagePlus X5 is said to be an excellent middle-ground desktop publishing software, while Microsoft Publisher 2010 and Apple Pages get accolades.
12. Computer Shopper
Not Dated
The Best Free Software: Desktop Publishing
by Editors of ComputerShopper.com
Our AssessmentIn this short feature, editors look at Microsoft Publisher, Adobe InDesign and QuarkXPress and compare them to Scribus and Serif PagePlus, two free software programs. Descriptions are brief and no favorite is chosen.
13. Computeractive (U.K.)
Aug. 31, 2010
Microsoft Publisher 2010
by Simon Williams
Our AssessmentSimon Williams recommends Microsoft Publisher for home users, highlighting the photo-editing tools. The review is brief, but includes a rating as well as pros and cons.
14. Expert Reviews (U.K.)
Nov. 26, 2010
Serif PagePlus X5 review
by Adam Banks
Our AssessmentThis review highlights the affordability of Serif PagePlus X5 software, especially when compared to design giants Quark Xpress and Adobe. Reviewer Adam Banks says the installation is straightforward and the software is easy to use and is frequently updated, though he points to some errors in templates. Expert Reviews gives Serif PagePlus X5 4 out of 5 stars and calls the package a "creative software bargain."
15. PC & Tech Authority (Australia)
Sept. 17, 2010
Review: Microsoft Publisher 2010
by Editors of PC & Tech Authority
Our AssessmentThis brief review covers the improvements of Microsoft Publisher 2010 over the 2007 version, calling it the most improved component of Office 2010. Editors commend the software for allowing users to create commercial print-quality high resolution PDFs and high-quality personal print jobs, as well. Cost may be a factor for some, since the software isn't bundled with all versions of Office.
16. ITReviews.co.uk
July 19, 2010
Microsoft - Publisher 2010 review
by Simon Williams
Our AssessmentMicrosoft Publisher is commended for having a "clean" editing screen, and cleaned-up photo editing tools in this short review. As noted in other reviews, the page navigation, which shows thumbnails of pages and spreads, might seem odd to experienced graphic designers. However, the software is heralded as a solid choice for beginners.
17. IT-Enquirer.com
April 8, 2011
Review: QuarkXPress 9
by Erik Vlietinck
Our AssessmentIn this standalone review of QuarkXPress 9, the reviewer expresses enthusiasm over its new features, including digital publishing capabilities. No rating is given.
18. TopTenReviews.com
Undated
Creative Printing Software Review
by
Our AssessmentTopTenReviews rates and ranks seven desktop publishing products and gives The Print Shop Deluxe its gold award. The software gets high marks for ease of use, text tools, graphics and image tools and for the training tutorials. The site doesn't include Adobe InDesign or Microsoft Publisher in its comparison.
19. CNET
As of Aug. 2011
Illustration Software Reviews
by
Our AssessmentEditors and users review a variety of software products at CNET. Site users gives Adobe InDesign CS5.5 high marks, with an average overall rating of 4 out of 5 stars. Contributors like the integration with Photoshop and Illustrator, but many feel the software slows down their computer. CNET editors give the CorelDraw Graphics Suite a perfect score, which is complemented by readers' ratings. Scribus, a free tool is also recommended.
20. DownloadCrew.com
May 3, 2011
Adobe InDesign CS5.5
by Mike Williams
Our AssessmentThis brief review at a download site finds the Adobe InDesign CS5.5 software to be a "worthy competitor" to QuarkXpress. Mike Williams lauds the improved graphics handling and the ability to quickly and easily browse and organize images.
21. The Techies
Feb. 24, 2010
CorelDraw X5 Review
by "Cremnlin"
Our AssessmentWebsite cofounder "Cremnlin" offers a thorough video walkthrough of CorelDraw X5, comparing it to previous versions. He commends the new "Export for Web" feature, which is customized for people who do web design, as well as the ability to work with Flash. While Cremnlin appreciates the new features, he concludes that the upgrade from X4 isn't worthwhile, unless the new features are critical to the user.
22. Amazon.com
As of Aug. 2011
Home Publishing Software
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentA number of desktop publishing software products are available at Amazon, and users have submitted reviews for most. Some get just a few reviews, some get hundreds and ratings are all over the map. There's not a clear favorite.
23. Walmart.com
As of Aug. 2011
The Print Shop 2.0 Deluxe
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentUsers can submit ratings for products they purchased at Walmart, but many software products have no reviews at all. The Print Shop 2.0 Deluxe has about a dozen reviews, with an overall score of 3 out of 5 stars. Customers say it's is a good value and an improvement over earlier versions of the software. Several customers complain that files created with previous versions are not compatible with the newest version.
24. Gizmo's Freeware
April 30, 2011
Best Free Desktop Publishing Program
by Editors of Gizmo's Freeware
Our AssessmentReviewers highlight the comprehensive tools included with the free PagePlus Starter Edition software, and say that the ads, brochures, flyers, newsletters produced using this software are of good enough quality for small businesses and nonprofit organizations. Users don't have the ability to save files to a PDF for commercial printing needs and the color palette is limited. The review also describes Scribus freeware as professional, capable and a real competitor for advanced design software.
25. Vid35
Oct. 3, 2010
Review: Is Scribus the Open-Source InDesign?
by Alex
Our AssessmentThis blog provides a comprehensive review of Scribus software, ultimately determining that the software has enough functions and capabilities to make it a worthy rival of Adobe InDesign CS5.5. The reviewer lauds the accessible navigation tools and functionality of its drop-down menu, but finds some bugs while testing the software, especially when aligning text.
26. AppleTell.com
March 1, 2010
Appletell reviews iStudio Publisher for Mac OS X
by Katie Gatto
Our AssessmentAs its name suggests, Appletell focuses on Mac products. Reviewer Katie Gatto appreciates the integration of the Apple Pages '09 interface and Photoshop features in iStudio Publisher and gives it a high rating. The review highlights the easy to use labels, templates, menus and keyboard shortcuts.
27. Macworld
Jan. 22, 2009
Apple Pages '09
by Jeff Battersby
Our AssessmentIn this review of Apple Pages '09, Jeff Battersby discusses its improved mail merge capabilities and the ability to insert Numbers charts into Apple Pages documents. Products are rated and pros and cons are clearly outlined.
28. MacObserver.com
April 16, 2010
Pages for iPad
by Jeff Gamet
Our AssessmentThis reviewer covers Apple Pages for iPad, a slimmed-down version for the desktop software. Jeff Gamet says the software is easy to use, and that creating documents is a straightforward process. The review includes screenshots of the interface.
Sponsored Links

Back to top