Sponsored Links
Page: 8 of 8

Diet Pills Reviews and Research

Total of 27 Sources
Supplement Monograms
by Editors of NMCD
Our AssessmentThe NMCD is a comprehensive database of most supplement ingredients. Each monogram includes information on what products it’s found in, its uses, the effectiveness of its use for various ailments and its safety. In addition NMCD lists any possible interactions between other supplements and medications.
2. Pharmacology, Biochemistry and Behavior
Nov. 2010
New Approaches to the Pharmacological Treatment of Obesity: Can They Break Through the Efficacy Barrier?
by Kennett, GA and Clifton, PG
Our AssessmentThis review paper looks at the past and current science to see where there are possibilities for new obesity pharmacotherapies. It describes the different physiological aspects of our bodies’ abilities to regulate calorie balance. It discusses Lorcaserin, Sibutramine, Orlistat and Phentermine.
3. Journal of Obesity
Aug. 10, 2010
An Evidence-Based Review of Fat Modifying Supplemental Weight Loss Products
by Amy M. Egras et al.
Our AssessmentThis review article pulls data from 17 clinical studies to provide an overview of the safety and efficacy of some of the most commonly used dietary supplements for weight loss. The supplements reviewed include: conjugated linoleic acid (CLA), Garcinia cambogia (also known as hydroxycitric acid (HCA), chitosan, pyruvate, Irvingia gabonensis and chia seed. The data on all of the supplements is limited and as a result no recommendation can be made as to their use.
4. American Family Physician
Nov. 1, 2004
Common Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss
by Robert B. Saper, David M. Eisenberg and Russell S. Phillips
Our AssessmentThis review article details some of the most popular dietary supplements on the market, their claims, their efficacy and their safety. The supplements reviewed include: guar gum, chitosan, chromium, ephedra, caffeine, conjugated linolenic acid, ginseng, glucomannan, green tea, hydroxycitric acid (HCA), L-carnitine, psyllium, pyruvate, and St. John’s wort. While ephedra should be avoided due to serious adverse effects, most of the supplements have insufficient evidence to support their claims or establish their safety.
Dietary Supplements for Body-Weight Reduction: A Systematic Review
by Max H. Pittler and Edzard Ernst
Our AssessmentBy completing an extensive search, this review article compiles data on multiple dietary supplements: chitosan, chromium picolinate, Ephedra sinica, Garcinia cambogia, also known as HCA, glucomannan, guar guam, hydroxy-methylbutyrate (HMB), plantago psyllium, pyruvate, yerba mate and yohimbe. There is not enough evidence of efficacy or safety for any dietary supplement to be recommended.
6. Alternative Medicine Review
March 2008
Potential Applications for Alternative Medicine to Treat Obesity in an Aging Population
by E. Paul Cherniak
Our AssessmentThis article reviews the problem of obesity, especially as it relates to older people, and discusses dietary interventions that can be made along with herbal supplements. The dietary supplements discussed include: conjugated linolenic acids (CLA), chitosan, Garcinia cambogia, also known as hydroxycitric acid (HCA), and Citrus aurantium, better known as bitter orange. Given the limited amount of research available on the safety and efficacy of these supplements they were unable to recommend any of them for use in weight loss.
7. Journal of Obesity
Aug. 12, 2010
Experience (Mostly Negative) with the Use of Sympathomimetic Agents for Weight Loss
by Mario A. Inchiosa Jr.
Our AssessmentThis review compiles information on the adverse events associated with sympathomimetic agents that have been used in weight loss. These agents include amphetamine, phentermine, ephedra, sibutramine, also known as Meridia, and synephrine. While some of these have been effective at aiding weight loss, they have been shown to have serious negative effects on the cardiovascular system, including strokes and irregular heart rhythms.
Effect of Conjugated Linoleic Acid on Body Composition and Plasma Lipids in Humans: An Overview of the Literature
by Antonius HM Terpstra
Our AssessmentThis article reviews the studies that have been conducted on the effects of conjugated linoleic acid (CLA) on the body composition of humans. While animal studies had suggested that CLA was effective at reducing plasma lipids, the fat molecules in blood, and increasing lean body mass, the studies on humans offered conflicting results. There was no evidence of CLA helping to lower body weight, but a few studies suggested there might be a slight decrease in body fat.
9. Food and Chemical Toxicology
Jan. 2011
Synephrine: From Trace Concentrations to Massive Consumption in Weight-Loss
by Luciana Grazziotin Rossato et al.
Our AssessmentThis review details the available evidence on synephrine, a popular stimulant used in weight loss. While synephrine is said to be effective at weight loss by thermogenesis, or the production of body heat, very serious side effects have been reported with its use. These include: high blood pressure, irregular heart rhythms, heart attacks and sudden death.
Cinnamon: Potential Role in the Prevention of Insulin Resistance, Metabolic Syndrome and Type 2 Diabetes
by Bolin Qin, Kiran S. Panickar and Richard A. Anderson
Our AssessmentThis review articles compile the results of the human clinical studies that have been done on the effects of cinnamon on insulin resistance, metabolic syndrome and Type 2 diabetes. While not directly studying obesity and weight loss, obesity predisposes you to insulin resistance and Type 2 diabetes. While some studies did not show any significant effects with the use of cinnamon on these ailments, in one study cinnamon was found to decrease body fat and increase lean body mass. More research needs to be done to study specifically the effects of cinnamon on weight loss in humans.
Topics
by Information Specialists at the NCCAM Clearinghouse
Our AssessmentProvided by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), NCCAM has topic pages for multiple supplements. Each page provides basic information on the supplement, such as where it comes from, its uses, the research behind it and the safety concerns.
12. Office of Dietary Supplements
Accessed Oct. 2011
Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets
by NIH Office of Dietary Supplements Staff
Our AssessmentA division of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the ODS provides fact sheets on a variety of dietary supplements. These fact sheets include basic information on each supplement, such as its use, the research backing it and the side effects associated with it.
Obesity and Thermogenesis Related to the Consumption of Caffeine, Ephedrine, Capsaicin and Green Tea
by Kristel Diepvens, Klass R. Westerterp and Margriet S. Westerterp-Plantenga
Our AssessmentThis review article explores the effectiveness, safety and mechanisms of action for caffeine, ephedrine, capsaicin and green tea. While ephedrine is somewhat effective at producing weight loss, its side effects do not make it a feasible option. Capsaicin can be effective, but because of its pungent taste, the dosages are not well tolerated. Caffeine and green tea have shown some efficacy at weight loss, but further research is needed.
14. Nutrition Journal
Mar. 17, 2011
A Proprietary Alpha-Amylase Inhibitor from White Bean (Phaseolus vulgaris): A Review of Clinical Studies on Weight Loss and Glycemic Control
by Marilyn Barrett and Jay K. Udani
Our AssessmentThis review of Phaseolus vulgaris focuses on the clinical studies conducted on Phase 2 Carb Controller made by Pharmachem Laboratories. Though Pharmachem sponsored this review, it compiles the results of 10 clinical studies. Overall, the use of Phase 2 decreased body weight and body fat in comparison to a placebo, though the weight loss was minimal. Few adverse events were reported, none serious, and most consisted of gastrointestinal complaints such as gas, constipation and diarrhea.
15. Appetite
May 2007
Effect of Caralluma Fimbriata Extract on Appetite, Food Intake and Anthropometry in Adult Indian Men and Women
by Rebecca Kuriyan et al.
Our AssessmentThis study examines the effects of Caralluma fimbriata extract on weight loss, body fat, appetite and waist circumference, among other measures of obesity. While the extract did not significantly decrease body weight and body fat, it did significantly decrease hunger and waist circumference over the two months of the study.
16. Obesity
Dec. 3, 2009
Effect of Alginate on Satiation, Appetite, Gastric Function, and Selected Gut Satiety Hormones in Overweight and Obesity
by Suwebatu T. Odunsi et al.
Our AssessmentThis clinical study evaluated the effects of CM3 alginate on fullness or satiety after a meal, stomach function and hormones related to feeling full. The study found that there was no difference in satiety, stomach function or satiety hormones with the use of CM3 alginate compared to a placebo. They suggest further research is needed to verify claims by other studies that alginate can help in weight loss.
17. Obesity
Jan. 31, 2008
Are Non-Prescription Medications Needed for Weight Control?
by George A. Bray
Our AssessmentThis article discusses the problem of obesity in the U.S., and the various methods people use to try to lose weight, including exercise, dietary supplements, group programs etc. It details how extensively dietary supplements are used in the U.S., and the drawbacks of not having greater governmental regulation over them.
Antiobesogenic and Antiatherosclerotic Properties of Caralluma fimbriata Extract
by Soundararajan Kamalakkannan et al.
Our AssessmentThis clinical study examines the effects of Caralluma fimbriata extract (CFE) on body weight and fat in rats. When taking CFE, the rats ate less food, had lower body weight and body fat. Though these results are promising, there is no guarantee that similar results would be seen in humans.
Body Fat Mass Reduction and Up-Regulation of Uncoupling Protein by Novel Lipolysis-Promotion Plant Extract
by Shinobu Mori et al.
Our AssessmentWhile this is an animal study, it is the only research article available on Cirsium oligophyllum. Rats that were given a 10 percent solution of cirsium extract were found to have a moderate reduction in body weight and a substantial reduction in body fat. The effects were enhanced with the addition of caffeine. In addition, the effects of the extract were blocked with the administration of a beta-blocker, confirming the hypothesis that cirsium works via the sympathetic nervous system. While these results are promising, more research is needed as efficacy in rats does not guarantee efficacy in humans.
20. Los Angeles Times
Dec. 13, 2010
Weighing Effectiveness Versus Risk in Obesity Drugs
by Jeannine Stein and Shari Roan
Our AssessmentThis article outlines the effects that prescription drugs may have on weight loss and discusses how the science and the FDA actions affect doctors who are trying to treat obesity. It provides insight into how these drugs are used clinically.
21. Redbook
Aug. 2010
Do Diet Pills Really Work?
by Editors of Redbook
Our AssessmentRedbook tackles the prescription diet pill market by listing the few options available and breaking down what each drug is, the science behind it, the risks associated with it and whether it is worth taking it. Alli, Meridia, Glucophage, Byetta and supplements are discussed, and medical professionals are interviewed.
Hepatotoxicity Associated with Weight-Loss Supplements: A Case for Better Post-Marketing Surveillance
by Ano Lobb
Our AssessmentThis letter to the editor of the World Journal of Gastroenterology provides an overview of the potential for liver damage with some dietary supplements. The author discusses the gaps in establishing the safety of these supplements and previous downfalls, such as with Ephedra.
Vital Signs: State-Specific Obesity Prevalence Among Adults -- United States, 2009
by Sherry, B. et al
Our AssessmentThis paper outlines the results of the 2009 Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System survey data that the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) used to update estimates of national and state-specific obesity prevalence.
24. Mayo Clinic
2010
Over-the-counter Weight-loss Pills: Do They Work?
by Mayo Clinic Staff
Our AssessmentThis overview lists a few weight loss pill ingredients -- both dietary supplements and pharmaceuticals -- and lists each one’s claim, effectiveness and safety. It also gives advice about how to take these substances with your doctor’s guidance. Most state that there is not enough data to determine the effectiveness of their ingredients. They rely on the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database (NMCD) as their primary sources.
25. The Wall Street Journal
Oct. 9, 2010
Abbott Pulls Weight-Loss Drug Off Shelves
by Jonathan D. Rockoff and Jennifer Corbett Dooren
Our AssessmentThis news article describes Abbott Laboratories compliance with the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) request to pull Meridia off the shelves after a New England Journal of Medicine study finds that those taking it are at heightened risk of cardiovascular events; i.e. heart attacks. Though the company cited no adverse reports, they complied. In the course of the article, the pharmaceutical weight-loss category is discussed as having a difficult time keeping products on the market.
26. Los Angeles Times
Dec. 13, 2010
A Closer Look: Weight Loss Drugs
by Jill U. Adams
Our AssessmentThis article looks at all the weight loss drugs that have come before the FDA. It explains what each drug -- Contrave, Qnexa, Lorcaserin (Lorqess), Sibutramine (Meridia), Rimonabant (Zimulti, Acomplia) -- is, how much weight loss it produced, what its safety profile is and any action the FDA took on the drug. Because only one drug is on the market, this article is mostly helpful to give an overview of the obesity pharmacotherapy market.
27. Health
6 Myths (and Facts) About Weight-Loss Supplements
by Editors of Health
Our AssessmentThis article is an overview of six common beliefs about weight loss supplements -- mainly hoodia, bitter orange, green tea, and safety and efficacy of dietary supplements -- and why these beliefs are false.
Sponsored Links

Back to top