Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Digital Voice Recorders: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. DV Magazine
June 17, 2011
The Great Portable Digital Audio Recorder Comparison -- Which Is Best For You?
by Rob Sandall
Our AssessmentRob Sandall offers a detailed roundup of digital audio recorders from Roland, Zoom, Tascam and Olympus, complete with a talking and guitar musical sound clip taken simultaneously on each recorder from the same session for comparison. All the recorders tested are said to have strengths and weaknesses, though two favorites are named. On the downside, some of the recorders -- including one of the recommended models -- are discontinued.
2. Amazon.com
As of April 2013
Digital Voice Recorders
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com's users are eager to review and rate the products they've purchased, making it a good spot to track down consumer consensus on the latest digital voice recorders. While some digital audio recorders attract only a handful of comments, others receive lots, and in some cases hundreds of reviews. Like most user-review sites, the quality of the feedback can vary. Some reviews are highly detailed, others a line or two at best.
3. BHPhotoVideo.com
As of April 2013
Portable Digital Recorders
by Contributors to BHPhotoVideo.com
Our AssessmentThanks to its large, tech-savvy customer base, B&H's site is full of detailed customer reviews on digital audio recorders aimed at music- and audio-recording enthusiasts. Elsewhere on the site you will find reviews of voice recorders that are ideal for school and work. In addition to ratings, reviewers typically post whether or not they would recommend the digital audio recorder to a friend. Those reviewers who have been verified as actually having bought the digital recorder are identified.
Audio Recorders
by Jeremy Rue
Our AssessmentJeremy Rue's rundown of digital recorders explores the strengths and weaknesses of each model, based on his own experiences and the experiences of others using the devices during workshops at the Knight Digital Media Center at the University of California, Berkeley, Graduate School of Journalism. Most recorders have positives and negatives noted, and no specific digital audio recorder is recommended.
5. Radio magazine
As of April 2013
Field Reports
by Contributors to Radio magazine
Our AssessmentRadio magazine has several reviews of digital audio recorders, primarily written by working broadcast professionals. The reviews are variable in quality but provide valuable insights into how each recorder performs. No ratings are assigned, and finding the reviews takes a little patience as they are listed alongside reviews of many other types of gear.
6. MusiciansFriend.com
As of April 2013
Digital Recorders
by Contributors to MusiciansFriend.Com
Our AssessmentAt MusiciansFriend.com, digital audio recorders tend to get a few dozen reviews at best. However, users are often professional musicians or dedicated amateurs who've put their digital audio recorders through extensive practical use. Like user reviews everywhere, quality is variable, but some offer relatively detailed comments.
7. Staples.com
As of April 2013
Digital Voice Recorders
by Contributors to Staples.Com
Our AssessmentCustomer reviews for digital voice recorders on Staples.com offer some excellent feedback and perspective from everyday users who record meetings, interviews, and general audio at home and in the office. A solid spread of mid-range and cheaper digital recorder models is included on the site. Reviews tend to be shorter and more to the point than we see elsewhere.
8. BestBuy.com
As of April 2013
Voice Recorders
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com's customer review base isn't anywhere as robust as sites like Amazon.com. Most digital voice recorders only get a handful of reviews, but some draw more feedback than others.
9. PCMag.com
As of April 2013
Digital Voice Recorders
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentAfter a gap of several years, PCMag.com recently posted a small handful of reviews of digital voice recorders. The reviews are thorough in their scope and cover the full range of features of each device. No recently reviewed digital voice recorder does particularly well in the editors' eyes, however.
10. Hammacher.com
Not Dated
The Best Digital Voice Recorder
by Editors of Hammacher.com
Our AssessmentThe Olympus DM-620 is Hammacher Schlemmer's recommended pick in their digital audio recorder product category. This brief review details the model's various features, citing its ability to make clear recordings up to 55 feet away from the audio source as a distinct plus. Testing is claimed to be done by the Hammacher Schlemmer Institute, but the criteria and methods are not described.
11. About.com
Not Dated
Top 8 Digital Voice Recorders
by Susan Ward
Our AssessmentCanadian business writer Susan Ward's article covers a range of digital voice recorders in this piece. The Zoom H4n is listed as the top pick, referencing CNET's review of the recorder which recommends the model for musicians and podcasters. Some of the other models in the article are discontinued, and it's not clear how much, if any, hands-on testing was used to determine the selections.
Sponsored Links

Back to top