Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

eBook Readers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not dated
E-book Readers
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org tests several popular ebook readers, ranking them from best to worst and recommending models its editors like most. Each e-reader is rated on readability, versatility, responsiveness, page turn, navigation and file support. Battery life and price are also noted.
2. CNET
Nov. 21, 2012
Best E - book Readers
by David Carnoy
Our AssessmentCarnoy includes five ebook readers on this list, giving each a rating and lengthy single-product review. The Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch with GlowLight and Amazon Kindle Paperwhite with Special Offers each snag an Editors' Choice award, but the basic non-illuminated versions of these e-readers also make the cut.
3. PCMag.com
Dec. 19, 2012
The Best Ebook Readers
by Jamie Lendino
Our AssessmentPCMag.com tests plenty of the latest e-readers in lengthy reviews, complete with comparisons to top models, and Lendino lists those that rate highest. Both the basic and backlit versions of the Barnes & Noble Nook Color and Nook Simple Touch and Amazon Kindle earn Editors' Choice badges. There's a range of ratings here, so it's easy to see which ebook readers are best.
4. Laptop Magazine
As of July 2013
eReader Guide
by Editors of Laptop Magazine
Our AssessmentLaptop Magazine rates several of the major ebook readers on the market, and some less well-known ones, too. Reviews are detailed and editors don't hesitate to point out flaws. The Amazon Kindle Keyboard 3G, and both the standard and backlit versions of the Barnes & Noble Nook Simple Touch earn 4 stars out of 5. The standard, non-backlit Nook gets an Editors' Choice nod due to its more wallet-friendly price.
5. TechHive.com
As of July 2013
The Best ebook Readers
by Editors of TechHive.com
Our AssessmentTechHive.com is a sister site of PC World that shares much of the same staff. Editors compile a list of the best ebook readers, including the Amazon Kindle Paperwhite and Barnes & Noble Simple Touch. Analysis is detailed and balanced, and e-readers are rated from 1 to 5.
6. Pocket-lint.com
As of July 2013
eBook Readers
by Editors of Pocket-lint.com
Our AssessmentThis U.K. website covers a large volume of e-reader news and tests many popular devices, including the Amazon Kindle and Kobo's line. While several models are subjected to hands-on impressions, not all get formal reviews or ratings. The Amazon Kindle in particular earns praise in a rare critique of the minor 2012 refresh, and gets 4.5 out of 5 stars.
7. MobileTechReview.com
As of July 2013
eBook Readers
by Lisa Gade
Our AssessmentGade's evaluations are nicely comparative, both with preceding models and competing ones. Articles are detailed, thorough and richly illustrated with photographs and videos. Each e-reader gets a rating, with Barnes & Noble's Nook lineup generally receiving the highest marks. The Amazon Kindle Paperwhite is the first ebook reader to earn an Editor's Choice nod.
8. Wired
As of July 2013
Tablets & E-Book Readers
by Editors of Wired
Our AssessmentWired publishes a selection of ebook reader reviews, but doesn't evaluate as many lesser-known models as other sources. Each e-reader is rated on a 10-point scale. The Amazon Kindle Paperwhite earns a top score of 9 out of 10, with e-readers from Kobo and Barnes & Noble also receiving good ratings.
9. DigitalTrends.com
As of July 2013
Ereader reviews
by Editors of DigitalTrends.com
Our AssessmentEditors at DigitalTrends.com review all the big-name e-readers, and a few receive Editors' Choice designations. Write-ups are lengthy and include close-up images of each product. Amazon and Barnes & Noble ebook readers come out on top.
10. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
ebook Reader
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentIn addition to its proprietary Kindle models, Amazon.com sells most other major e-readers. Not surprisingly, the various versions of the Kindle get the most owner reviews, with the basic model receiving thousands of user comments and a high average rating. Other ebook readers attract far less feedback.
11. PC Advisor
As of July 2013
eReader Reviews
by Editors of PC Advisor
Our AssessmentBritain's PC Advisor reports on e-readers from major and minor brands, scoring each on a 5-point scale. Some are original reviews, while others are borrowed from sister publications like PC World. Editors have stepped up coverage of late, evaluating a handful of lesser-known ebook readers that don't rate highly.
Sponsored Links

Back to top