Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Electric Blankets: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. Good Housekeeping
January 2010
Electric Blanket Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentThe editors of Good Housekeeping test seven electric blankets and evaluate them based on quickness of heating and cooling, electrical consumption, ease of washing and readability of the instruction manuals. In a separate roundup, they also examine three heated mattress pads. Though these reviews are getting dated, top rated electric blankets and heated mattress pads, or their close equivalents, remain available.
What to Look for When Purchasing Electric Blankets or Heated Mattress Pads
by Editors of ElectricBlanketInstitute.com
Our AssessmentThe Electric Blanket Institute website includes a buyer's guide, in which editors compare and contrast the leading electric blanket brands in terms of safety, quality of construction and ease of use. The site does not compare individual products but provides an overview of each brand's products and key advantages and disadvantages.
3. Amazon.com
As of December 2014
Electric Blankets
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells a variety of heated bedding, including blankets, mattress pads and throws, and allows customers to post their opinions about products they've purchased. Some heated bedding products receive only a handful of reviews, but others get feedback from more than 1,000 users.
4. ComfortHouse.com
As of December 2014
Electric Blankets & Electric Mattress Pads
by Jeffrey Gornstein and contributors to ComfortHouse.com
Our AssessmentNew Jersey-based high-end home products retailer ComfortHouse.com sells a variety of heated bedding. Company president Jeffrey Gornstein provides some commentary, and customers contribute product reviews. A linked 2013 blog post offers some guidelines on picking either an electric blanket or an electric mattress pad.
5. Bonton.com
As of December 2014
Heated Bedding
by Contributors to Bonton.com
Our AssessmentOn its website, Bon-Ton Stores allows customers to leave reviews of products they own. Most electric blankets and mattress pads only get a handful of reviews, but a few get close to a hundred. Finding those can be a chore, however, because, while ratings are displayed on the main page, the number of reviews that rating is based on can only be seen by clicking through to the product page.
6. Target.com
As of December 2014
Bedding
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com customers share their own experiences with electric blankets and electric mattress pads, providing ratings from 1 star to 5 stars, as well as leaving usually brief general comments. Most heated bedding only gets a handful of ratings, or none at all, but the Biddeford Microplush Electric Blanket draws roughly 90 user reviews.
7. JCPenney
As of December 2014
Blankets & Throws
by Contributors to JCPenney.com
Our AssessmentJCPenney.com features electric blankets, throws and mattress pads from popular brands, such as Sunbeam and Biddeford. Some products only get a handful of reviews, but others get dozens, with owners sharing their experiences with the heating performance and reliability.
8. Kohls.com
As of December 2014
Electric Bedding
by Contributors to Kohls.com
Our AssessmentKohls.com lists lots of electric blankets for sale. Most only get a handful of reviews, but a few draw more attention, with one model drawing more than 400 reviews. As is the norm, most leave star ratings and a brief comment. Some user questions and answers can also be helpful.
9. BedBathAndBeyond.com
As of December 2014
Bedding
by Contributors to BedBathAndBeyond.com
Our AssessmentBedBathAndBeyond.com only lists a handful of electric blankets, and most only get a handful of user reviews. Still, it's worth a visit to see if an electric blanket you are considering rates well with the site's customers.
10. Costco.com
As of December 2014
Electric Warming Blankets
by Contributors to Costco.com
Our AssessmentCostco is another retailer that lets users leave their opinions about electric blankets. While a couple get a fair number of reviews, only four electric blankets are listed.
11. Walmart.com
As of December 2014
Electric Blankets
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com has relatively few reviews of electric blankets, and most products listed are only available through third-party resellers. However, the Sunbeam Heated Plush Electric Blanket is an exception, racking up about 280 user reviews.
12. OhMyGiftGuide.com
Nov. 1, 2011
Sunbeam Microplush Heated Electric Warming Blanket
by Sheena Tatum
Our AssessmentOhMyGiftGuide.com is a Chicago-based product-review site run by Sheena Tatum. She includes a single review of an electric blanket -- the Sunbeam Channeled Microplush Heated Blanket. Tatum's review is brief without many details, and she points out that she has yet to try washing the blanket.
Sponsored Links

Back to top