Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Electric Blankets: Ratings of Sources

Total of 11 Sources
1. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
Best Electric Blankets
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentThe editors of Good Housekeeping test eight electric blankets and evaluate them based on quickness of heating and cooling, electrical consumption, ease of washing and readability of the instruction manuals. In a separate roundup, they also examine three heated mattress pads. Though these reviews are getting dated (the testing this round up is based on was done in 2010), top rated electric blankets and heated mattress pads, or their close equivalents, remain available.
Heated Electric Blanket Reviews
by Editors of
Our AssessmentThe Electric Blanket Institute website provides balanced reviews of the products produced by the three manufacturers that currently supply nearly all of the electric blankets sold in the United States. Reviews include pros, cons and a synopsis of what type of user is most likely to be pleased by the company's offerings. Elsewhere on the site is a ratings table in which editors compare and contrast the electric blanket brand families in terms of safety, quality of construction, ease of use and more. Heated mattress pads are also reviewed at this site.
As of November 2015
Electric Blankets
by Contributors to
Our sells a variety of heated bedding, including blankets, mattress pads and throws, and allows customers to post their opinions about products they've purchased. Some heated bedding products receive only a handful of reviews, but others get feedback from more than 1,000 users.
Oct 23, 2015
Electric Blanket Reviews
by Jeffrey Gornstein and contributors to
Our AssessmentNew Jersey-based high-end home products retailer sells a variety of heated bedding. Here, commentary from company president Jeffrey Gornstein includes naming the blanket that gets the most reviews and highest ratings by the site's customers, and a heated mattress pad that he personally uses. He also notes that all user reviews posted on the site come from verified customers.
5. JCPenney
As of November 2015
Blankets & Throws
by Contributors to
Our features electric blankets, throws and mattress pads from popular brands, such as Sunbeam and Biddeford. Some products only get a handful of reviews, but others get dozens, and a few get substantially more, with owners sharing their experiences with the heating performance and reliability.
As of November 2015
Electric Bedding
by Contributors to
Our lists lots of electric blankets for sale. Most only get a handful of reviews, but a few draw more attention, with one model drawing more than 950 reviews. As is the norm, most leave star ratings and a brief comment. Some user questions and answers can also be helpful.
As of November 2015
Electric Warming Blankets
by Contributors to
Our AssessmentCostco is another retailer that lets users leave their opinions about electric blankets. While a few get at least two-dozen reviews each, only six electric blankets are listed.
As of November 2015
Electric Blankets
by Contributors to
Our has decent number of electric blankets, though most products listed are only available through third-party resellers, and most have no more than a handful of reviews. However, Sunbeam heated fleece and plush blankets are an exception, with each racking up hundreds of ratings and comments.
As of November 2015
Heated Bedding
by Contributors to
Our AssessmentOn its website, Bon-Ton Stores allows customers to leave reviews of products they own. Most electric blankets and mattress pads only get a handful of reviews, but a few get substantially more. Finding those can be a chore, however, because, while ratings are displayed on the main page, the number of reviews that rating is based on can only be seen by clicking through to the product page.
As of November 2015
by Contributors to
Our customers share their own experiences with electric blankets and electric mattress pads, providing ratings from 1 star to 5 stars, as well as leaving brief general comments. However, most heated bedding only gets a handful of ratings, or none at all. Using the site is also a little bit of a chore as heated choices are mingled in with standard bedding, though you can filter to zero in on electric blankets and mattress pads.
Nov. 1, 2011
Sunbeam Microplush Heated Electric Warming Blanket
by Sheena Tatum
Our is a Chicago-based product-review site run by Sheena Tatum. She includes a single review of an electric blanket -- the Sunbeam Channeled Microplush Heated Blanket. Tatum's review is brief without many details, and she points out that she has yet to try washing the blanket.

Back to top