Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Electric Grills: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. Cook's Illustrated
May 2014
Electric Griddles
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentCook's Illustrated editors test seven griddles, evaluating them for cooking bacon, pancakes and French toast, as well as for heat distribution and ease of cleaning. Three models are Recommended, one is Recommended with Reservations, and three are Not Recommended.
2. Fine Cooking
Not Dated
Equipment Review: The Best Panini Presses
by Joanne Kellar Bouknight
Our AssessmentThe experts at Fine Cooking test 11 electric panini presses and choose three as the best, giving helpful details about how each performed in the testing. Their number one pick overall was the Cuisinart Griddler. They also note that you can go low-tech by using a handheld panini press on a cast iron grill.
3. Food & Wine Magazine
Not Dated
The Best Panini Presses
by Kristin Donnelly
Our AssessmentThe experts at Food & Wine tested 76 countertop appliances and picked their favorites in nine categories, including panini presses, giving a short review of just a few sentences for each item. Their top pick was the Cuisinart Griddler. The Krups FDE-3 and GE Panini Grill 169078 are honorable mentions.
4. Popular Mechanics
Not Dated
Balcony BBQ: We Test 5 Hot Outdoor Electric Grills
by Heidi Davis
Our AssessmentTesters evaluate five balcony-friendly electric grills by cooking a variety of vegetables and meats, including the Weber Q-Series and the Char-Broil Patio Bistro. Heidi Davis provides detailed commentary on the test results for each grill and an overall evaluation for each, but the grills are not ranked or rated against each other.
Not Dated
Top Electric Grills
by Derrick Riches
Our AssessmentDerrick Riches,'s Barbecues & Grilling expert, lists his seven picks for the best electric grills; most of the listings are accompanied by a full review. Several of the grills in our report make this list, including the Weber Q-1400, the Char-Broil Patio Bistro and the George Foreman Indoor/Outdoor Grill. Grills are ranked by Riches in order of performance and features.
As of September 2015
Electric Grills
by Contributors to
Our carries hundreds of electric grills and many of them get hundreds, or even thousands, of reviews. Quite a few get better than 4.3 stars out of 5. Reviews tend to be detailed and thorough, with many reviewers making lists of pros and cons, or even posting video of them using their product. Char-Broil, George Foreman, Delonghi, Cuisinart and Weber are some of the top-rated electric grills here.  This site also has many reviews for both electric griddles and sandwich presses.
As of September 2015
Electric Grill
by Contributors to
Our AssessmentA search for electric grills at brings up several categories, including accessories and electric grills, griddles and hot plates, so you can easily narrow your search. Like, carries many brands with Brinkman and Weber very highly rated models -- although none get the sheer volume of ratings that electric grills at do. However, reviewers can say if they would recommend the electric grill to a friend. We also found this site helpful for reviews of electric griddles and sandwich presses.
As of September 2015
Electric Grills
by Contributors to
Our has a robust selection of electric griddles. Many get hundreds of user reviews and owner input tends to be very thorough. As with a few other sites, owners can indicate if they would recommend the grill to a friend. also carries electric griddles and panini presses, which get similar feedback.
As of September 2015
Electric Grills
by Contributors to
Our offers a good variety in the electric grilling category. Our top picks receive at least 30 user reviews and an average rating of 4.5 stars or better, except for the Cuisinart GR-4N griddle, which has fewer reviews but is clearly the most popular in its subcategory. Reviewers can also say if they would recommend the product. Panini presses and electric griddles are also available here and get similar reviews.
As of September 2015
Electric Grills
by Contributors to
Our AssessmentAt first glance the electric grills sold on don't get as many reviews overall as on other retail websites, but that's because each color of some of the most popular grills is listed as a separate item with its own reviews, making this site somewhat more difficult to navigate to find the best products. However, this is a good place to go to find reviews for specific grills, sandwich presses and griddles once you've narrowed down your choice.
As of September 2015
Electric Grills
by Contributors to
Our offers a small but adequate selection of electric grills, electric griddles and panini presses, although they receive many fewer reviews than elsewhere.  Still, a couple of models from Char-Broil stand out.
Not Dated
Top 10 Electric Grills
by Tony Matassa
Our AssessmentIt's unclear whether any hands-on testing was conducted on these electric grills or how frequently it's updated. However, the author of this "best of" listing on a retail site is a lifelong chef who appears to be very knowledgeable about all things grilling. The expert picks closely parallel the site's user reviews as well. Each of the 10 "best electric grills" gets a brief overview and they are ranked in order of Tony Matassa's top choice.
Not Dated
Reviews and Ratings of Grills, Smokers, Barbecue Pits & Outdoor Ovens
by Max Good
Our AssessmentMax Good, director of equipment reviews for offers this roundup of the best electric grills. Each grill is ranked and rated -- some receive badges for value or are stamped as not recommended. Each grill gets a thorough review and suggestions for situations where the grill may be most appropriate, such as small capacity cooking needs.
14. Good Housekeeping
Not Dated
Indoor Grill Champs
by Editor of
Our AssessmentThe editors at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute tests 11 indoor grills, including the Cuisinart Griddler. Comments on the grills are extremely brief and, while they say they tested these electric grills, there are very few details on the type of testing they did or what the results of their testing revealed.
Sept. 21, 2011
Which Panini Press Should I Buy? Breville vs. Cuisinart
by Kathy Strahs
Our AssessmentThis panini-loving blogger pits two of the most popular models against each other in a head-to-head comparison. Her testing includes ease of cleaning, versatility, healthy cooking options, ease of use, price and a range of other considerations. Ultimately, she declares a slight preference for the Breville model, but only because it fits her cooking style better than the Cuisinart.

Back to top