Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Electric Shavers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 16 Sources
Not Dated
Electric Razors
by Editors of
Our AssessmentEditors of rate nine electric shavers, including both foil and rotary models. Each model is scored on its shaving prowess, ease of cleaning, noise level and features, plus given an overall score that can be compared to similar shavers.
Oct. 7, 2015
The Best Electric Razor
by Alexander George
Our AssessmentAlexander George researches electric shavers, talks with barbers, and then personally tests what look to be the top shavers to find the very best ones. A top pick is named, as is an alternative that should serve fine for those with "thick, problem-free hair." The latest update reports that testing by "six men of different hair types and shaving habits" over a six-month period confirms that the article's top choice is still recommended.
As of November 2015
Electric Shavers
by Contributors to
Our AssessmentElectric shavers on draw lots of reviews -- sometimes numbering into the thousands -- from owners. This feedback provides valuable insight into how the shavers perform after weeks, months or even years of real-world use.
Not Dated
Electric Razors Review
by Jessica Stone
Our rates 11 electric razors on their shaving performance and considers other factors, such as ease of use and design. In a departure from what we often see at this site, testing is hands-on and well documented. Issues, such as needing multiple passes or areas of the face that present particular challenges to a given razor, are noted. However, despite the current 2016 date on the report, several of the shavers listed are discontinued.
Jan. 16, 2013
The Best Electric Razor
by Andrew Tarantola
Our AssessmentThe author tests four electric razors on up to three days of stubble. Each shaver receives an overall star rating out of 5, with comfort and efficiency as the primary criteria; durability and maintenance costs are taken into account as well. Each shaver receives a very brief review with a few balanced, though not exactly in-depth, comments.
Oct. 26, 2013
The Shaving Gear Worth Your Money
by Shane Roberts
Our AssessmentThe author lists his favorite shaving products, including an electric shaver. The selection is made based on both research and extensive personal use. He also notes that the comparison review Gizmodo conducts (see above) came to a different conclusion as to which electric shaver is best. Gizmodo also hosts a number of additional reviews of electric shavers elsewhere on the site.
Finding the Best Electric Shaver…Sounds Like a Job for an Expert
by Tyler Stokes
Our AssessmentThe owner of this web site posts lengthy video reviews of a number of electric shavers on YouTube. Each model receives a thorough analysis and a brief test, usually on a couple days' worth of stubble. The author says he has a thick, quick-growing beard, and he occasionally produces video or text reviews that compare two models directly.
8. The Wall Street Journal
Aug. 16, 2013
Testing Out Men's Electric Shavers
by Steve Garbarino
Our AssessmentThe author and unidentified helpers evaluate six different electric shavers. Although no comparative ratings are issued (or direct comparisons made), hands-on testing was conducted with several days of growth. The reviews are balanced and objective, and two models stand out as clear favorites.
As of November 2015
Electronic Shavers
by Contributors to
Our lists dozens of electric shavers for sale. Most models receive only a handful of customer reviews, but a couple draw more feedback -- over 100 in at least one case. Comments are typically brief, but a list of pros, cons and best uses can be left, as can be a bottom line assessment of whether or not the user would recommend their shaver to a friend.
As of November 2015
Electric Shavers -- Men
by Contributors to
Our AssessmentMany of the electric shavers posted for sale on receive dozens of reviews, and some receive well more than 100. Many shavers with extensive feedback score similarly -- and many are well liked -- but a few edge ahead of the pack with stronger overall feedback.
As of November 2015
Shavers & Trimmers for Men
by Contributors to
Our AssessmentLike a few other retail sites that focus on consumer electronics, has added men's shavers to its repertoire. A healthy number of models garner 20 or more reviews; the most popular shavers have more than 50 user reviews. Standout models have a rating of at least 4 out of 5 eggs after taking 20 or more user reviews into account.
As of November 2015
Men's Shavers
by Contributors to
Our is another site with lots of electric razors, with many receiving feedback that reaches into the hundreds. Once again, scores are close together for most shavers -- and most are fairly strong -- but a handful of those with substantial feedback rate just a little bit better than others.
As of November 2015
Men's Grooming -- Electric Shavers
by Contributors to
Our sells a decent collection of electric shavers, most of which receive at least a few user reviews. Feedback closely tracks what we see at other user review sites; those shavers with lots of reviews often score similarly, but a handful with substantial feedback (sometimes over 100 reviews) have somewhat higher scores.
14. Men's Journal
Not Dated
Finding the Right Electric Razor
by Jeff Foss
Our AssessmentThough discussion is skimpy, this gallery article provides information on four electric razors tested by Men's Journal. Jeff Foss says that each was used on "a variety of faces covered with everything from thick stubble to light scruff," and under wet and dry conditions.
Mar. 17, 2015
The Best Mens' Shaver Under $100
by Robert E. Calem and Josh Kirschne
Our editors research budget electric razors and test one model. A March 2015 update of this October 2013 article notes that the chosen razor continues to satisfy one year later. We appreciate that this review is hands-on, but the lack of testing of other shavers limits its usefulness. A similar article from the same time period (but not since updated) on the site also names the best electric shaver regardless of price, but also limits testing to one model.
16. Apartment
Oct. 11, 2012
The Best Electric Shaver: Braun Series 7 790cc Pulsonic Shaver
by Gregory Han
Our AssessmentAlthough Gregory Han names the Braun Series 7 790cc the "best shaver," it's also the only electric shaver reviewed on this website. However, the review is clearly based on hands-on testing and is thorough and balanced, highlighting the copious pros and a few skimpy cons related to this shaver.

Back to top