Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Electric Shavers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 14 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Electric Razors
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors of ConsumerReports.org tested 13 electric shavers, including both foil and rotary models. Each model is rated for shaving, cleaning, noise and features, plus given an overall comparative rating.
2. Amazon.com
As of May 2014
Electric Shavers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentElectric shavers on Amazon.com draw lots of reviews -- sometimes more than a thousand -- from owners. These customer reviews provide valuable insight into how the shavers perform after weeks, months or even years of real-world use. The men's shavers that stand out from the pack have a 4.5-star or better overall rating after at least 100 user reviews.
3. Gizmodo.com
Jan. 16, 2013
The Best Electric Razor
by Andrew Tarantola
Our AssessmentThe author tests four electric razors on up to three days of stubble. Each shaver receives an overall star rating out of 5, with comfort and efficiency as the primary criteria; durability and maintenance costs are taken into account as well. Each shaver receives a very brief review with a few balanced, though not exactly in-depth, comments. Ultimately, just one of the shavers -- the Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D -- receives an unreserved recommendation.
4. Gizmodo.com
Feb. 11, 2013
Remington Black Diamond 5800 Lightning Review: A Spartan Shave at a Phenomenal Price
by Andrew Tarantola
Our AssessmentThe author reviews the Remington Black Diamond 5800 Lightning foil shaver. Although it's not perfect -- for example, he says it gives great results but he can feel it tugging a bit as he shaves -- at about $50 it's such a good value that he jokingly recommends buying two.
5. Gizmodo.com
Feb. 19, 2013
Philips Norelco Click & Style Razor: A Warm Welcome to Electric Shavers
by Eric Limer
Our AssessmentThe author conducts a fast review of the Philips Norelco Click & Style Razor, and recommends it for beginners just entering the world of electric shaving. He says it's cost-effective and, although it lacks advanced features, its interchangeable heads give good results.
Finding the Best Electric Shaver…Sounds Like a Job for an Expert
by Tyler Stokes
Our AssessmentThe author of this article posts lengthy video reviews of a number of electric shavers on YouTube. Each model receives a thorough analysis and a brief test, usually on a couple days' worth of stubble. The author says he has a thick, quick-growing beard, and he occasionally produces video or text reviews that compare two models directly.
7. Wired
July 26, 2011
Blade Runners: 4 Cordless Electric Razors Tested
by Steven Leckart
Our AssessmentAn undisclosed number of testers evaluate two foil shavers and two rotary shavers; it's not clear whether the author is included. Every model receives a short list of pros and cons, plus comments about the quality and ease of the shave provided. A Braun model is the clear winner and receives an Editor's Pick designation.
8. The Wall Street Journal
Aug. 16, 2013
Testing Out Men's Electric Shavers
by Steve Garbarino
Our AssessmentThe author and unidentified helpers evaluate six different electric shavers. Although no comparative ratings are issued (or direct comparisons made), hands-on testing was conducted with several days of growth. The reviews are balanced and objective, and two models stand out as clear favorites.
9. Drugstore.com
As of May 2014
Electronic Shavers
by Contributors to Drugstore.com
Our AssessmentDrugstore.com lists dozens of electric shavers for sale, but most models receive only a handful of customer reviews. Standout models have more than 20 reviews and a 4.5-star or better overall rating; the Braun Series 7-790 Pulsonic Shaving System gets the thumbs-up from more than 100 users.
10. Walmart.com
As of May 2014
Electric Shavers
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentSome of the electric shavers posted for sale on Walmart.com receive dozens of reviews, while others garner only a handful. Of those models that secure more than 20 reviews, several stand out with a 4.5-star or better overall rating out of 5 possible. One exceedingly popular electric shaver, the Braun Series 7-790cc, receives a 4.6-star average rating after more than 440 user reviews.
11. NewEgg.com
As of May 2014
Shavers & Trimmers for Men
by Contributors to Newegg.com
Our AssessmentLike a few other retail sites that focus on consumer electronics, Newegg.com has added men's shavers to its repertoire. A healthy number of models garner 20 or more reviews; the most popular shavers have more than 50 user reviews. Standout models have a rating of at least 4 out of 5 eggs after taking 20 or more user reviews into account.
12. BestBuy.com
As of May 2014
Shavers & Trimmers
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentWithin the last year, only a few of BestBuy.com's electric shavers garnered enough user reviews to form a good picture of user opinion. Now, however, user reviews have gained some momentum and we're able to identify models that receive a 4.5-star or better rating after at least 20 user reviews.
13. Target.com
As of May 2014
Shaving & Grooming
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentTarget.com sells a decent collection of electric shavers, most of which receive at least a few user reviews. Ultimately, those with at least a dozen user comments and a 4.5-star or better rating stand out head and shoulders above the rest.
14. Apartment Therapy.com
Oct. 11, 2012
The Best Electric Shaver: Braun Series 7 790cc Pulsonic Shaver
by Gregory Han
Our AssessmentAlthough this review isn't comparative, it's the only "best shaver" selection on this website and is clearly based on hands-on testing. The review is thorough and balanced, highlighting the copious pros and a few skimpy cons related to this shaver.
Sponsored Links

Back to top