Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Espresso Machines: Ratings of Sources

Total of 23 Sources
1. Choice magazine
Dec. 20, 2012
Home Espresso Coffee Machine Reviews
by Rebecca Ciaramidaro
Our AssessmentExperts test 23 manual and semi-automatic espresso machines for taste, ease of use, and programming, temperature and frothing ability. Only two of the top 12 models are available in the U.S.
2. Consumer magazine
March 29, 2012
Espresso Machines
by Editors of Consumer magazine
Our AssessmentEditors at this New Zealand-based magazine test 25 espresso machines, including 14 manual models, two hand-pump espresso machines, five semi-automatic and four capsule espresso makers. They rate each on taste, coffee-making ability and ease of use, and also measure temperature consistency. The three recommended models are available in the U.S., but several others are not.
3. CNET (U.K.)
Sept. 22, 2011
Best Coffee Machines
by Andrew Hoyle
Our AssessmentWhen Hoyle puts five newer espresso machines to the test, the Nespresso CitiZ and Milk by Magimix M190 earns the highest overall rating with a score of 4.5 out of 5. Machines are rated on taste, appearance and ease of use. Four of the five models tested are available in the U.S.
4. CoffeeGeek.com
As of January 2013
Espresso Machine Reviews
by Contributors to CoffeeGeek.com
Our AssessmentIn addition to in-depth editorial reviews, CoffeeGeek.com publishes previews of new espresso machines, as well as owner ratings and guides to roasting your own beans, frothing milk and using equipment. The top-rated machines here -- the Gaggia Classic, Isomac Tea, Rancilio Silvia and the Starbucks Barista -- get feedback from more than 60 owners. We like that members rate each other's ratings, so you can easily cherry-pick among dozens of reviews.
5. ConsumerReports.org
As of January 2013
Espresso Makers
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors test five espresso machines ranging in price from $100 to $1,800, but leave significant manufacturers out of their review. Machines are evaluated based on taste, convenience and frothing; the highest-rated model here is also the most expensive.
6. The Boston Globe
Jan. 13, 2010
High-quality Espresso from Low-end Machines
by Ike DeLorenzo
Our AssessmentDeLorenzo buys a number of used, low-end espresso machines on Craigslist, and experiments with coffees and grinds to see if he can produce great-tasting espresso. He doesn't name each maker, however, instead focusing on the brands of coffee used. The article is nonetheless informative, and DeLorenzo recommends the Rancilio Silvia and Rancilio Rocky coffee grinder as higher-end machines worth the money. Only subscribers can view the article in its entirety.
7. Good Housekeeping
Sept. 15, 2009
Espresso Makers Under $100
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentThe Good Housekeeping Research Institute tests several inexpensive espresso makers for overall taste, temperature, crema and frothing ability. Electric pump machines are said to produce the most authentic espresso, but they can't reach the high temperatures that steam and stovetop machines can. The latter, however, don't produce enough pressure to produce a genuine espresso with crema. The DeLonghi EC155 tops the taste test for pump models, and the Kalorik Espresso Maker Cafeteria Express EXP25022 and Bialetti Brikka are the highest-rated steam and stovetop models.
8. Wired
Nov. 1, 2011
Fuel Rockets: 4 Espresso Machines Tested and Rated
by Dan Kehn
Our AssessmentWired tests four espresso machines, rating each on a scale of one to 10. Editors make espresso, cappuccino and lattes in each, making adjustments to achieve the perfect body, crema, balance and clarity. The Bezzera BZ07 earns the highest score for its easy brew-temperature adjustment and precise steam control knob, but the water reservoir must be refilled frequently.
9. CNNMoney.com
October 2007
A Whole Lotta Lattes
by Charles Passy
Our AssessmentIn this short five-model roundup, editors try each machine, evaluating espresso quality and ease of use. The now-discontinued Breville Die Cast is top-rated; Passy says it's a "solid, smartly designed machine delivering good quality with little hassle." The Gaggia Classic and Capresso Ultima finish just behind.
10. Food & Wine Magazine
March 2008
The Best Pod Espresso Machines
by Kristin Donnelly
Our AssessmentFood & Wine editors test 76 countertop appliances and name winners in nine categories, including pod espresso machines. A winner, runner-up and two honorable mentions are listed, but machines that don't make the cut aren't mentioned. The now-discontinued KitchenAid Pro-Line Series takes the top spot for making a "perfect caramel crema" and for heating up quickly. The Gaggia Classic, which can use either pods or ground coffee, is named runner-up.
11. SeattleCoffeeGear.com
As of January 2013
Espresso Machines
by Contributors to SeattleCoffeeGear.com
Our AssessmentSeattleCoffeeGear.com specializes in coffee and coffee-making equipment for home use, and users can post comments on products they own. Most models sold here accumulate fewer than 15 reviews, but some get feedback from dozens of owners. Top-rated espresso machines include the Rocket Espresso Giotto Evoluzione Espresso Machine - V2 and Rancilio Silvia Espresso Machine Version 3, each of which earn high average ratings in more than 50 reviews.
12. SeriousEats.com
June 13, 2011
Serious Espresso at Home: Finding the Right Machine
by Erin Meister
Our AssessmentMeister, a professional barista, discusses the best espresso machines for home use and recommends a favorite model in different price ranges. She doesn't conduct formal comparison tests, but has used each model she recommends. The handheld Mypressi Twist is named the best cheap option, while the Rancilio Silvia is deemed best for the mid-budget range. Among expensive espresso machines, Meister suggests the Expobar Brewtus or La Marzocco GS/3.
13. CNNMoney.com
July 7, 2008
Proving Grounds
by Chris Lyman
Our AssessmentLyman compares three espresso machines that brew coffee and use special pods to make espressos, lattes and cappuccinos. He gives a brief description and his overall opinion of each, but not much is said about his methods. All three create a "good-quality beverage," he says, but the Tassimo is the easiest to use and the most affordable.
14. Newsweek
March 14, 2008
Hit Me With Your Best Shot
by Tara Weingarten
Our AssessmentNewsweek magazine recommends three espresso machines, each capable of producing enough pressure to make a good cup of espresso at home. However, testing methods aren't explained. The high-end Saeco Primea Touch Plus can make two cups at the same time and cleans itself, and the DeLonghi Lattissima is named a good mid-range option.
15. The Very Blog
Sept. 21, 2011
Colourful Coffee Makers
by "V-Team Cate"
Our AssessmentEditors of this U.K.-based blog focused on fashion, style and home news and gadgets name three espresso and coffee machines in this brief review. The Gaggia Espresso Pure Coffee Maker is deemed best for making both coffee and espresso, while the DeLonghi Icona Espresso/Cappuccino Maker is named for those who want to make only espresso.
16. CoffeeKid.com
Not dated
Getting Into Espresso Machines
by Mark Prince
Our AssessmentHere Prince evaluates 11 top-rated budget and mid-range espresso machines for beginners. Although each model gets a brief description about its pros and cons, they aren't rated or ranked. Prince describes the Rancilio Silvia as "the best machine you can buy under $700," and praises the Gaggia Classic and Gaggia Coffee, as well. He briefly discusses luxury and manual machines, but doesn't recommend them for beginners.
17. Viewpoints.com
As of January 2013
Espresso Machines
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentMost espresso machines earn just a handful of reviews here, but a few models maintain high average ratings in posts from more than 25 users. The DeLonghi EC155 scores 87 out of 100 in nearly 65 owner reviews. The Mr. Coffee Steam Espresso and Cappuccino Machine ECM91 and Bialetti Moka Express also earn high scores from fewer users.
18. SweetMarias.com
As of January 2013
Espresso Machines, Tampers, Etc.
by Editors of SweetMarias.com
Our AssessmentAlthough Sweet Maria's is mainly a purveyor of green coffee beans and home-roasting equipment, experts here recommend a handful of espresso machines, including the Quick Mill Andreja, Gaggia Baby, Gaggia Classic and Rancilio Silvia. There's no comparative testing, but authors dissect each model's construction and performance.
19. Amazon.com
As of January 2013
Espresso Machines
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells hundreds of espresso machines, and several are reviewed dozens of times. The top-rated models of those with more than 200 reviews include the DeLonghi EC155, DeLonghi BAR 32 Retro, Mr. Coffee ECMP50, DeLonghi ESAM3300 Magnifica and the now-discontinued Breville Cafe Roma ESP8XL.
20. Whole Latte Love
As of January 2013
Espresso Machines
by Contributors to WholeLatteLove.com
Our AssessmentThe vast majority of espresso machines at WholeLatteLove.com accumulate just a handful of reviews, if any. While dozens of models are sold here, most are more sophisticated than the average home user requires. The top-rated espresso machines are the Rancilio Silvia and Gaggia Classic; each earns high average ratings in hundreds of owner reviews.
21. CliveCoffee.com
As of January 2013
Espresso Machines
by Contributors to CliveCoffee.com
Our AssessmentCliveCoffee.com sells a number of espresso machines for home use. Editors provide a detailed and fairly balanced review of each model, including both pros and cons. Owners can also contribute feedback, although most of the machines sold here attract just a handful of comments. The Rancilio Silvia V3 gets positive feedback from both editors and users, earning 4.5 stars out of 5 in more than 15 owner reviews.
22. Cooking.com
As of January 2013
Espresso Machines/Makers
by Contributors to Cooking.com
Our AssessmentCooking.com sells about 30 espresso machines, but most receive just one or two user reviews, if any. However, the Bialetti Moka Express gets a high overall rating with feedback from about three dozen owners.
23. SingleServeEspresso.com
As of January 2013
Espresso Machines
by Editors of SingleServeEspresso.com
Our AssessmentThis blog is regularly updated with reviews of espresso makers, coffee supplies and other equipment. Machines aren't rated, but write-ups provide the author's overall impression and details about the unit's mechanics. You can search for machines by name, but this site is most useful once you've narrowed your search to a few models.
Sponsored Links

Back to top