Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Exterior Paint: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
June 2010
Paints and Stains
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org editors test exterior paint by simulating up to nine years of exposure to rain, snow and sun. The detailed ratings are available only to subscribers, but anyone can read this summary, which reveals most of the top-performing paints and the best exterior stains.
2. ConsumerReports.org
June 2010
Exterior Paint Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentTwenty-nine exterior paints from major national and regional brands are included in ConsumerReports.org's latest rankings, available only to subscribers. The editors recommend the top five performers. An accompanying guide gives advice on how to pick the right paint and pitfalls to avoid.
3. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Wood Stain Ratings
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org editors test 14 wood stains in rain, snow and sun. Some have been exposed to harsher-than-usual conditions that simulate nine years of normal exposure, while others are still being tested and have only the equivalent of three or six years' exposure. Stains from Behr, Cabot, Olympic, Sears, Sherwin-Williams, Sikkens, Wolman and Woodsman are tested. Three stains hold up well enough to earn ConsumerReports.org's Recommended label, but only subscribers have access to the ratings.
4. Contractor Talk
As of August 2010
Painting and Finish Work
by Contributors to ContractorTalk.com
Our AssessmentThe painting section of this forum is frequented by many professionals. In general, contractors have some clear brand preferences, including Sherwin-Williams, Benjamin Moore, Porter and Duron.
5. DIY Chatroom
As of August 2010
Painting
by Contributors to DIYChatroom.com
Our AssessmentContractors and do-it-yourselfers seeking professional advice frequent this forum. Several threads address which brands of exterior paint and primer to buy. Exterior paints by Sherwin-Williams (especially the Duration and SuperPaint lines) and Benjamin Moore emerge as consensus favorites, and Behr paint is widely disparaged.
6. PaintTalk.com
As of August 2010
General Painting Discussion
by Contributors to PaintTalk.com
Our AssessmentSimilar to the previous two entries, this forum draws a collection of novices and professionals sharing tips on products and techniques. Some users frequent all three sites, and the content is accordingly comparable.
7. AskTheBuilder.com
Not Dated
Independent Deck Finish Results
by Tim Carter
Our AssessmentTim Carter is a professional builder who answers home improvement questions on this website. Here, he reports on a college lab's test of 30 wood sealants. The test is from 2000, but one of the top five finishers -- Sikkens Cetol -- is still a top-rated stain in more recent tests.
8. AskTheBuilder.com
March 23, 2010
March 23, 2010 AskTheBuilder Newsletter and Tips
by Tim Carter
Our AssessmentIn this newsletter, Tim Carter advises a reader to use Sears Weatherbeater Ultra or Sherwin-Williams Duration to paint her vinyl siding, because they both contain urethane resins that will bond well to the vinyl. Elsewhere on his website, Carter says he painted his own house with Sears Weatherbeater Ultra, and it still looks good after nine years.
9. Professional Painting Tips by Jack Pauhl
As of August 2010
Exterior Paint
by Jack Pauhl
Our AssessmentJack Pauhl is an Ohio painting contractor who occasionally reviews paints on his blog, with photos showing their wet and dry appearance. Two exterior paints from ICI are recommended. Unlike other paint pros, Pauhl reports bad experiences with Sherwin-Williams Duration and SuperPaint.
10. OurFixerUpper.com
As of August 2010
Self-Priming Exterior Paint?
by Contributors to OurFixerUpper.com
Our AssessmentOurFixerUpper.com is a website started by people who are remodeling their home. The proprietors query their readers about self-priming exterior paint, and the discussion evolves into identifying the best and worst exterior house paints. The discussion started in 2007, and readers are still commenting. Valspar fares especially well in this forum, perhaps because the original question was about Valspar paint. Behr and Sherwin-Williams both have some supporters and a couple of strong detractors.
11. About.com
Not Dated
All About Paint
by Bob Formisano
Our AssessmentBob Formisano, About.com's guide to home repair, recommends three brands -- Benjamin Moore, Behr and Sherwin-Williams -- and goes on to suggest that readers "look on the side of the can for about 45 percent pigment and resins per volume." Formisano's general expertise is impressive, but his recommendations would carry much more weight with some explanation or reference to testing and specific experience. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
12. JoePullaroInc.com
Not Dated
What Is the Best Paint to Use on the Exterior of My House?
by Joe Pullaro
Our AssessmentJoe Pullaro, a second-generation painting contractor in Florida, lists exterior house paint brands that he says painting contractors recommend most highly: Sherwin-Williams (and its Dutch Boy, Pratt & Lambert and Thompson's WaterSeal brands) and Benjamin Moore. Pullaro specifically likes Sherwin-Williams Duration and SuperPaint and Benjamin Moore MoorLife.
13. PainterForum.com
As of August 2010
What Is the Best Exterior Paint
by Contributors to PainterForum.com
Our AssessmentIn this forum for professional painters and those in associated trades, one of the discussions centers on the best brands of exterior paint, with some posters citing many years of experience. The thread started in 2007, but the brands that get at least two recommendations are the same brands that professional painters are still recommending on other forums, including Benjamin Moore paints and Sherwin-Williams Duration.
14. iHomeline.com
Not Dated
What Paint Will Last?
by Jim Neidner
Our AssessmentContractor and radio host Jim Neidner answers a reader's question about the most enduring exterior paint in this column and recommends buying a top-of-the-line acrylic paint. Half the column is devoted to Sherwin-Williams Duration, but his information is entirely based on the manufacturer's marketing, and he did not try the paint himself.
15. Jim's Home Repair Stuff
Not Dated
Exterior Paints
by "Jim"
Our AssessmentJim's Home Repair Stuff is a sincere enthusiast website, but the proprietor does not reveal his identity. Some of his comments about the testing at a "nationally known consumer product rating magazine" echo some of the criticisms in the painters' forums.
Sponsored Links

Back to top