Sponsored Links
Page: 6 of 6

Eye Cream: Ratings of Sources

Total of 27 Sources
1. PaulasChoice.com
As of March 2013
Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime)
by Paula Begoun
Our AssessmentIn this database of product reviews, skin-care expert Paula Begoun rates products from more than 200 makeup and skin-care lines. She cites medical journals, industry reports and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration among her research sources as she discusses product effectiveness, possible side effects and value. Begoun says eye creams are exactly the same as facial moisturizers and can be used for the same purposes. She has reviewed nearly all of the products other reviewers have tried, making her website an excellent reference.
2. Good Housekeeping
June 2010
Erase Dark Under-Eye Circles
by The Good Housekeeping Research Institute
Our AssessmentStaff at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute test several dark circle treatments. None of the eye creams makes a significant difference, but Biopelle Auriderm Illume Eye Cream lightens dark circles slightly. Links to individual reviews for other tested formulas are on a separate page.
3. ConsumerReports.org
October 2009
Do Eye Creams Make a Visible Difference?
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentThis article is available to subscribers at http://www.consumerreports.org.

ConsumerReports.org editors test 16 eye creams to measure their wrinkle-fighting abilities. Although some perform better than others, none can completely eliminate wrinkles, and editors say price is no indicator of a product's effectiveness. Two of the top-performing eye creams aren't sold in the U.S. but are available online.
4. ConsumerReports.org
August 2011
Wrinkle Creams: Miracle or Mirage?
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors at ConsumerReports.org evaluate seven wrinkle creams and one standard moisturizer for efficacy and overall tolerance. Although the products tested aren't eye creams, before and after pictures show that they're effective on the eye area. Much like the eye creams mentioned in a separate report, each anti-wrinkle cream shows results for some of the testers but not for others. Most results are barely visible to the naked eye, but all of the creams are considered to be effective moisturizers.
5. Good Housekeeping
October 2010
The Winners of Good Housekeeping's First Annual Anti-Aging Awards
by Leesa Suzman
Our AssessmentVolunteers help experts at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute test 90 skin-care products with an anti-aging claim, including eye creams. Products are used for six to eight weeks, then are analyzed and rated. Two eye creams make the list of winners, but products that don't make the cut aren't mentioned.
6. Allure
October 2012
Best of Beauty: Skin Care
by Theresa O'Rourke
Our AssessmentAllure magazine editors, along with cosmetics chemists and dermatologists, test thousands of products and choose 245 as the best in their respective categories. The magazine's 2012 eye cream winners include products from StriVectin-SD, RoC, Garnier, Clinique, Shiseido and Burt's Bees. However, eye creams aren't compared or critiqued.
7. InStyle
May 2012
Best Beauty Buys: Skin
by Editors of InStyle
Our AssessmentInStyle magazine editors interview experts and test hundreds of products in every beauty category from cleansers and moisturizers to shampoos and conditioners. Only one eye cream makes the list of winners. Neocutis Lumiere Bio-restorative Eye Cream with PSP is chosen for the fourth consecutive year for its high concentration of ingredients that help reduce puffiness and dark circles. However, editors don't explain why it's chosen over others.
8. Health
June 2012
Health's 2012 Beauty Awards: Face
by Diana Cerqueira and Rozalynn S. Frazier
Our AssessmentHealth magazine's editors test and rate new beauty products, then list a winner in each category and describe its benefits. However, the judging criteria are unclear. Shiseido Benefiance WrinkleResist24 Eye Contour Cream and the recently discontinued Aveeno Positively Radiant Eye Illuminator are named the best eye creams but aren't compared to other eye products.
9. Shape
September 2012
The 2012 Shape Beauty Awards
by Amber Kallor
Our AssessmentFor the ninth consecutive year, Shape magazine readers and staff and beauty experts weigh in on several beauty products in multiple categories. RoC Multi Correxion Nourish Stress Repair Eye Cream is the only eye cream to make the list.
10. Better Nutrition
April 2012
Top 25 Products of 2012
by Editors of Better Nutrition
Our AssessmentThe editors of Better Nutrition magazine test countless samples of beauty products to determine the best natural products of 2012. Home Health Goji Berry Eye Cream is the only eye cream named, but testing criteria aren't clear.
11. TotalBeauty.com
Not dated
2012 TotalBeauty.com Awards: Face & Body
by Editors of TotalBeauty.com
Our AssessmentThe editors of TotalBeauty.com test more than 500 new beauty products, and readers weigh in on their favorites. Several products are named as winners or honorable mentions in the Face & Body, Makeup and Hair categories. However, non-winning products aren't mentioned and testing criteria aren't clear. TotalBeauty.com also allows registered users to rate and review products. As expected, all the Readers' Choice winners earn high overall ratings from users.
12. Women's Health magazine
Not dated
2012 Beauty Awards: Face Makeup & Skincare Products
by Editors of Women's Health
Our AssessmentEditors at Women's Health magazine name the top beauty products of 2012 based on experts' and readers' opinions. Clinique All About Eyes and Olay Professional Pro-X Eye Restoration Complex are named best eye creams, but editors don't explain why. Non-winning products aren't mentioned.
13. MakeupAlley.com
As of March 2012
Skincare - Face Treatments (Eye)
by Contributors to MakeupAlley.com
Our AssessmentHundreds of eye treatments are reviewed by members of this website, and it's easy to find the highest-rated and most-reviewed products. Some receive hundreds of comments while others get only a few. Among those with many reviews, Burt's Bees Repair Serum, Kiehl's Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado and Boscia Enlivening Amino-AG Eye Treatment are rated highest.
14. CEW.org
Not dated
2012 Beauty Awards: Winners
by CEW Associates
Our AssessmentFor this list of 2012 Insiders' Beauty Award winners, Cosmetic Executive Women (CEW) members, industry professionals and beauty experts choose products that are "the most innovative beauty products of the year." Each category has several subcategories with high- and low-priced winners. Estee Lauder Idealist Cooling Eye Illuminator and Garnier Ultra-Lift Anti-Wrinkle Eye Roller make the list of winning eye treatments, but it isn't clear why they were chosen over others. Each gets only a brief description from the manufacturer.
15. Allure
Not dated
2012 Readers' Choice Awards
by Meirav Devash
Our AssessmentAllure magazine readers weigh in on their favorite beauty products to choose the 2012 annual Readers' Choice Awards winners. Two eye creams are named -- Olay Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum and Clinique All About Eyes -- and have won praise for at least two consecutive years.
16. Men's Health
Not dated
The 2012 Men's Health Grooming Awards: Face
by Editors of Men's Health
Our AssessmentEditors at Men's Health magazine poll men from around the world to learn their grooming habits, preferences and concerns. Several skin-care products for the body, face, hair and teeth are recommended, but it isn't clear if any were tested and reviews for each aren't critical. Lab Series Skincare for Men Max LS Instant Eye Lift is the only eye cream to make the list.
17. Allure
Not dated
Allure Says: The 12 Best Eye Creams
by Kayleigh Donahue
Our AssessmentEditors at Allure magazine recommend 12 specially formulated eye creams to treat a variety of issues, from dark circles and puffiness to crow's feet and sensitive skin. A couple of natural options are also listed. Descriptions of each cream are brief, and it isn't clear if they were tested.
18. InStyle
June 2011
Simple Beauty Solutions: How to Get Rid of Puffy Eyes
by Editors of InStyle
Our AssessmentInStyle magazine discusses the causes of puffy eyes in your 20s, 30s, 40s and 50s, and provides treatment tips. Older product recommendations for quick fixes and regular daily use are listed, but editors don't explain why the products were chosen or what makes them better than others.
19. ABC News
Sept. 4, 2012
Comparing Drug Store Eye Creams
by Elisabeth Leamy
Our AssessmentThis ABC News video shares information about eye creams from a panel of dermatologists. Wrinkles, dark circles and puffy eyes are discussed, along with the ingredients to look for to treat each condition. They recommend SkinMedica TNS Eye Repair and Olay Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum.
20. About.com
Not dated
Best Eye Creams
by Julyne Derrick
Our AssessmentAbout.com's beauty guide lists 13 top-performing eye creams for fine lines, dark circles and puffiness. Each gets a brief description, but the creams aren't rated or compared.
21. Drugstore.com
As of March 2013
Eye Treatments
by Contributors to Drugstore.com
Our AssessmentConsumers can read and post reviews for products sold at Drugstore.com. Most of the eye treatments listed are reviewed at least once, but a few accumulate upward of 50 comments. Of those with the most reviews, RoC Retinol Correxion Eye Cream, Olay Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum, Kiss My Face Potent & Pure Eyewitness Eye Repair Creme and Physician's Formula Luxury Eye Cream for Normal to Dry Skin rate the highest.
22. Amazon.com
As of March 2013
Skin Care: Eyes
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentThere are thousands of eye creams listed for sale at Amazon.com, but most receive only a handful of user reviews. Of those with more than 50 posts, products from Olay, Burt's Bees and Aubrey Organics get the highest scores.
23. Self Magazine
May 2012
Healthy Beauty Awards: Face
by Editors of Self
Our AssessmentThe editors of Self magazine list the best beauty products of 2012, as chosen by readers. Twenty products make the list for facial skin care, including three eye treatments. La Roche-Posay Sustiane+ Eyes is named the best anti-aging eye cream, and the recently discontinued Aveeno Positively Radiant Eye Illuminator makes the list as best brightening eye cream. However, no comparison information is given and judging criteria is unclear.
24. Redbook
Not dated
2012 Most Valuable Products
by Gina Way
Our AssessmentRedbook editors list the best beauty products of the year in several categories. The recently discontinued Aveeno Positively Radiant Eye Illuminator is the only eye cream to make the list, but products aren't rated or compared.
25. Dermatology Times
March 1, 2010
Under-Eye Circles Have Many Causes, But Few Effective Treatments
by Zoe Diana Draelos, M.D.
Our AssessmentIn this medical news magazine, physicians explain that dark under-eye circles are resistant to treatment and have many causes. They say some treatments like antihistamines and cosmetic concealers may help, but it's hard to evaluate the effectiveness of mass-market potions.
26. WebMD.com
April 12, 2012
Banish the Bags Under Your Eyes
by Shelley Levitt
Our AssessmentWebMD.com editors explain the causes of under-eye puffiness, dark circles and other common beauty issues. Experts say dark circles are often misidentified, making them hard to solve. Most conditions are best treated by a medical professional with surgery or laser treatment. No specific products are mentioned.
27. Dermatology Times
Sept. 2010
Seeing Is Believing
by Editors of Dermatology Times
Our AssessmentDr. Joel Schlessinger, a board-certified dermatologist, answers common questions about treating dark under-eye circles. He says the ailment is hereditary and the best over-the-counter treatments contain retinol. He doesn't recommend laser treatments because they could damage your vision.

Eye Cream Runners Up:

Olay Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum *Est. $22 for 0.5 oz.

5 picks including: ABC News, Drugstore.com…

Olay Professional Pro-X Eye Restoration Complex *Est. $45 for 0.5 oz.

4 picks including: About.com, Good Housekeeping…

Clinique All About Eyes *Est. $30 for 0.5 oz.

3 picks including: Allure, MakeupAlley.com…

image
Olay Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum, 0.5 Fluid Ounce
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $19.99 $13.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Olay Professional ProX Eye Restoration Complex 0.5 FL OZ
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $42.00 $19.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Aveeno Positively Radiant Eye Illuminator, 0.5 Ounce
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $13.49 $7.90   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
All About Eyes by Clinique - 1324180401
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $44.37
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Garnier Skin Renew Anti-Puff Eye Roller, 0.50 Fluid Ounce (Packaging May Vary)
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $12.99 $4.53   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Olay Regenerist Eye Regenerating Cream Plus Touch Of Concealer 0.5 Fl Oz
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $19.99 $14.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Clarins by Clarins Sun Wrinkle Control Eye Contour Cream Very High Protection SPF30--/0.7OZ - Eye Care
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $30.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Burt's Bees Healthy Treatment Repair Serum, 1 Fluid Ounce
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $17.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Neocutis Lumiere Bio-restorative Eye Cream with PSP, Anti-aging, 0.5 Ounce
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $80.00 $48.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top