Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Fax Machines: Ratings of Sources

Total of 10 Sources
1. Amazon.com
As of March 2014
Fax Machines
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is a great source of user reviews for fax machines. The site is easy to navigate, and the number of reviews a fax machine has received is listed right on the main landing page. We also like the handy box that compares the most helpful positive and critical reviews. Many fax machines get considerable feedback here, but not all of them are current models.
2. Staples.com
As of March 2014
Fax Machines
by Contributors to Staples.com
Our AssessmentAbout a dozen fax machines are sold at Staples.com, and a few of these have reviews from 100 or more users. The fax machine reviews themselves are generally brief, but most include a list of pros and cons and a bottom-line recommendation. The site helpfully sums up the most frequently cited pros and cons and the best uses for each fax machine, making it easy to take in the consensus of user opinions at a glance.
3. Walmart.com
As of March 2014
Fax Machines
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com does not have a separate category for fax machines, and a search for "fax machines" turns up mostly listings for all-in-one printers. However, we found a few dedicated fax machines with reviews from 25 users or more. Reviews are generally short and include ratings for value, print quality, ease of use and how well the fax machine met the user's expectations.
4. PriceGrabber.com
As of March 2014
Faxes & Copiers
by Contributors to PriceGrabber.com
Our AssessmentLots of fax machines are listed at PriceGrabber.com, but as at Amazon.com, not all are current models and not all have reviews from users. Only a few fax machines receive more than a dozen reviews, and most of those are discontinued. The write-ups here are about on a par with those at other user-opinion sites, listing strengths, weaknesses and an overall rating.
5. OfficeMax.com
As of March 2014
Fax Machines
by Contributors to OfficeMax.com
Our AssessmentOnly 10 fax machines are available for sale at OfficeMax.com, and only seven have received any comments from buyers. However, three of those receive strong overall ratings from at least 30 users. The site's summary of pros and cons for each fax machine is useful, but navigation is a nuisance, as you need to click through to each product to see whether a rating is based on one review or dozens.
6. NewEgg.com
As of March 2014
Fax Machines and Copiers
by Contributors to Newegg.com
Our AssessmentNewegg.com is a retailer specializing in computer and technology products. Although fax machines don't get a lot of reviews here, many of the reviews are from users with a higher-than-average level of technical knowledge. The site lets you sort products by number of reviews as well as overall rating, making it easy to find the top-rated products.
7. PCMag.com
Jan. 30, 2013
Canon FaxPhone L190
by Tony Hoffman
Our AssessmentPCMag.com provides the only professional review we've found for a current dedicated fax machine. However, Tony Hoffman's review casts the Canon FaxPhone L190 in the role of an all-in-one printer with robust fax capabilities. Though it's not impressive in that light, Hoffman says that the FaxPhone L190 is "worth consideration as a moderately priced multifunction printer (MFP), especially if you fax a lot and want to integrate a phone and (optional) answering machine."
8. BestBuy.com
As of March 2014
Fax Machines/Copiers
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com sells relatively few fax machines, and fewer still draw a significant number of reviews -- though there is helpful feedback for at least one model, the Brother FAX-575. Reviews are mostly short but include ratings for print quality, features, speed and value, as well as an overall rating and a yes-or-no recommendation.
9. Brother-USA.com
As of March 2014
Fax Machines
by Contributors to Brother-USA.com
Our AssessmentThough we sometimes take user reviews at manufacturers' sites with a grain of salt, the reviews on Brother's U.S. site do not appear to be censored and are surprisingly unbiased. While most of the fax reviews are positive (the site uses a star system), they mirror the ratings and comments on other sites and include critiques of customer service and product performance. Of course, only ratings for Brother fax machines are listed.
10. Epinions.com
As of March 2014
Fax Machines
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentUnlike most user review sites, Epinions.com isn't affiliated with a specific retailer. Tons of fax machines are listed, but most of them are discontinued. Although reviews are fairly detailed, no fax machine receives more than a handful.
Sponsored Links

Back to top