Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3
In this report

Fitness Trackers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 10 Sources
1. PCMag.com
Dec. 1, 2014
The Best Activity Trackers for Fitness
by Jill Duffy
Our AssessmentPCMag.com regularly tests activity trackers, with top-rated ones appearing in this chart. Both wrist-style and clip-on trackers make the grade, as does a smartwatch. The Basis Peak and Fitbit One tie for first overall, with both receiving 4.5 stars, a rating of Excellent, and an Editor's Choice designation. Links lead to more detailed reviews of each tracker.
2. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Activity Trackers
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors include three activity trackers that can be read in real time and three that require a link to another device for feedback. Each model is evaluated on its features, convenience, step-counter accuracy and how accurately the tracker measures calories burned. Testers climb stairs, use an elliptical machine, walk on a treadmill and pick toys up from the floor to test the trackers.
3. CNET
As of December 2014
Wearable Tech
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentThe editors of CNET review several activity trackers in their reviews of smartwatches and other wearable technology, including the Gamin Vivosmart, the Jawbone UP, and the Basis Peak. They are not ranked against each other, although each product gets an extremely thorough review, a rating that can go up to 5 stars, and an overall score from Poor to Excellent.
4. DigitalTrends.com
As of December 2014
Fitness Apparel Reviews
by Editors of DigitalTrends.com
Our AssessmentDigitalTrends.com offers in-depth reviews of several activity trackers, including the Garmin Vivosmart, Jawbone UP24 and the Fitbit Flex. Reviews include a rating, a summary of pros and cons and a full write-up on features, performance and usability.
5. Amazon.com
As of December 2014
Fitness Trackers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com has hundreds of fitness trackers, and many of them get hundreds and sometimes even thousands of reviews. As a category, fitness trackers don't' get particularly good ratings in general, with even very popular models barely making it into the 4-star range. The exception is the Fitbit One, which is the highest rated fitness tracker on this site, and has thousands of reviews. The Misfit Shine is among the other fitness trackers that score well with owners here.
6. BestBuy.com
As of December 2014
Fitness Trackers
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentThere are a couple of hundred activity trackers available at BestBuy.com, and quite a few get a decent number of reviews -- although not close to the volume at Amazon.com. Fitbit is the most-reviewed brand, with thousands of reviews for models available here. In general, as a category, fitness trackers get higher ratings here than at Amazon.com.
7. Technolicious.com
Oct. 14, 2013
The Best Activity Tracker: Fitbit Flex
by Andrea Smith
Our AssessmentAndrea Smith spends a week testing four models of fitness trackers: the Fitbit Flex, Nike+ FuelBand, Jawbone Up and Misfit Shine. She rates each on simplicity of design, accuracy, battery life and charging, data syncing, integration with fitness apps and built-in alarm.
8. CNET
Sept. 14, 2013
How My Body Rejected Activity Trackers and the 'Quantified Self'
by Danny Sullivan
Our AssessmentTo understand the benefits and accuracy of fitness trackers, Danny Sullivan tests five devices: the Jawbone UP, Nike+ FuelBand, Fitbit One, Fitbit Flex and BodyMedia FIT. Though several have standout features, Sullivan didn't find a tracker that meets all his needs.
9. Gizmodo.com
Nov. 5, 2014
Basis Peak Review: The Best Activity Tracker Yet
by Brent Rose
Our AssessmentThe Basis Peak gets a thorough review here, including wearing and testing. Brent Rose also compares it to its forerunner, the Basis B1. Rose says the Peak is extremely accurate, both in activity tracking, heart monitoring and sleep tracking, and that it's easy to use in general, although the app is convoluted. He'd like to see greater integration with third party software and vibration. He also says it made him break out, but blames that on his sensitive skin.
10. Family Circle
Not Dated
The Best Activity Trackers for Staying Fit
by Christina Tynan-Wood
Our AssessmentAuthor and tester Christina Tynan-Wood tries out a number of activity trackers, wearing up to three a day. She recommends eight different models from brands iHealth, Fitbit, Nike+, Jawbone, Misfit, BodyMedia, Withings and Polar. She includes a short description of each activity tracker, but no performance notes or comparative ratings. Several of these have either been discontinued or the model has been upgraded since this review.
Sponsored Links

Back to top