Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5

Fitness Trackers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 17 Sources
1. PCMag.com
Dec. 30, 2013
The Best Activity Trackers for Fitness
by Jill Duffy
Our AssessmentEditors test 14 different activity trackers, including both wrist-style and clip-on trackers. They do not say how they test the trackers, but include a full review and 5-point score for each.
2. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Activity Trackers
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors include three activity trackers that can be read in real time and three that require a link to another device for feedback. Each model is evaluated on its features, convenience, step-counter accuracy and how accurately the tracker measures calories burned. Testers climb stairs, use an elliptical machine, walk on a treadmill and pick toys up from the floor to test the trackers.
3. TimeTechland
Jan. 9, 2014
26 Fitness Trackers Ranked from Worst to First
by Ben Taylor
Our AssessmentBen Taylor of FindTheBest.com scores 26 of the most popular activity trackers for this article. To rank each device, Taylor combines reviews from sources like Wired and Men's Health with product features, such as weight and battery life.
4. LiveScience.com
Feb. 26, 2014
Best Fitness Tracker Bands
by Editors of LiveScience.com
Our AssessmentThe staff at LiveScience.com tests nine activity trackers for this review. After wearing the wrist-style trackers, testers rate each on design and comfort, user-friendliness, value of information, and how much the device inspired or motivated activity.
5. Techlicious.com
Oct. 14, 2013
The Best Activity Tracker: Fitbit Flex
by Andrea Smith
Our AssessmentAndrea Smith spends a week testing four models of fitness trackers: the Fitbit Flex, Nike+ FuelBand, Jawbone Up and Misfit Shine. She rates each on simplicity of design, accuracy, battery life and charging, data syncing, integration with fitness apps and built-in alarm.
6. CNET
Not Dated
Watches and Wrist Devices
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentThe editors of CNET review six activity trackers in their comparison of smart watches and wrist devices. With a score of 8.7 out of 10, the Fitbit Force gets the highest rating. Other top performers include the Basis B1, Fitbit Flex, Fitbit One and Nike+ FuelBand SE. (The Fitbit Force has since been recalled and is no longer being sold.)
7. CNET
Sept. 14, 2013
How My Body Rejected Activity Trackers and the 'Quantified Self'
by Danny Sullivan
Our AssessmentTo understand the benefits and accuracy of fitness trackers, Danny Sullivan tests five devices: the Jawbone UP, Nike+ FuelBand, Fitbit One, Fitbit Flex and BodyMedia FIT. Though several have standout features, Sullivan didn't find a tracker that meets all his needs.
8. DigitalTrends.com
As of February 2014
Fitness Apparel Reviews
by Editors of DigitalTrends.com
Our AssessmentDigitalTrends.com offers in-depth reviews of several activity trackers, including the Fitbit Flex and Basis B1, each in separate reports. Reviews include a 5-star score, a summary of pros and cons and a full write-up on features, performance and usability.
9. TheNextWeb.com
Nov. 11, 2013
Know Your Fitbit from Your Fitbug: A Guide to the Best Activity-Trackers on the Market
by Paul Sawers
Our AssessmentPaul Sawers includes eight devices in his list of the best activity trackers. He reviews features and shortcomings, but doesn't mention specific testing or include numerical scores.
10. The New York Times
June 26, 2013
Wearable Devices Nudge You to Health
by David Pogue
Our AssessmentDavid Pogue compares two fitness trackers in this article: the Jawbone UP and the Fitbit Flex. He weighs features side by side, analyzing the design, fitness app, sleep tracking and convenience of each. Pogue doesn't specifically recommend one over the other, saying both excel in separate ways and work well to help you improve your health.
11. SmartWatchNews.org
Not Dated
Top 5 Activity Trackers 2014
by Editors of SmartWatchNews.org
Our AssessmentSmartWatchNews.org, which offers news and insight into the smart-watch market, lists the five best activity trackers for 2014 and five favorite trackers still in development. Editors don't mention any testing methods, but provide a summary of each model's top advantages and disadvantages.
12. The Daily Beast
Nov. 20, 2013
How to Find the Best Fitness Tracker for You
by Brent Rose
Our AssessmentBrent Rose lists the most helpful features every fitness tracker should have and explains the pros and cons of clip-on versus wrist-style devices. He tests dozens of trackers over a year and a half (though he doesn't mention which models), but names three as top models: the Fitbit Force, Withings Pulse and Basis B1. The Fitbit Force was recalled in February 2014 and is no longer being manufactured.
13. TechnologyReview.com
Nov. 27, 2013
Fitness Trackers Still Need to Work Out Kinks
by Rachel Metz
Our AssessmentAfter testing three devices -- the Nike+ FuelBand SE, Fitbit Force and Jawbone UP 24 -- author Rachel Metz isn't sold on fitness trackers. None are comfortable enough for 24-hour wear. With their drastically different step counts, Metz has concerns over their accuracy as well. The Fitbit Force was recalled in February 2014 and is no longer manufactured.
14. Amazon.com
As of February 2014
Fitness Technology
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com includes fitness trackers, smart watches and GPS watches in their wearable fitness-technology category. Only a few activity trackers have more than a dozen reviews. The most-reviewed models include the Fitbit Zip, Fitbit Flex and Withings Pulse, each with hundreds of owner comments. Amazon.com also carries trackers by Polar, Misfit, Nike+ and Basis.
15. BestBuy.com
As of February 2014
Pedometers & Activity Trackers
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentAbout a dozen different activity trackers at BestBuy.com have more than a handful of owner reviews. Fitbit is the most-reviewed brand, with thousands of reviews for models available here. Reviews for activity trackers by Polar, Jawbone, BodyMedia, Withings, Misfit, iHealth and Striiv are also available.
16. Family Circle
Not Dated
The Best Activity Trackers for Staying Fit
by Christina Tynan-Wood
Our AssessmentAuthor and tester Christina Tynan-Wood tries out a number of activity trackers, wearing up to three a day. She recommends eight different models from brands iHealth, Fitbit, Nike+, Jawbone, Misfit, BodyMedia, Withings and Polar. She includes a short description of each activity tracker, but no performance notes or comparative ratings.
17. Vanity Fair
February 2013
Wired Up! Ready to Go!
by James Wolcott
Our AssessmentIn this lighthearted review, James Wolcott tests two activity trackers: the Jawbone UP and the now-obsolete Fitbit Ultra. Wolcott briefly outlines some of each device's perks and drawbacks, discussing the concept of self-tracking in the bulk of the article.
Sponsored Links

Back to top