Sponsored Links
Page: 3 of 3

Flea Control: Ratings of Sources

Total of 16 Sources
1. Dogster.com
April 2, 2013
Ask a Vet: Is Your Flea Control Product Hurting Your Dog?
by Eric Barchas
Our AssessmentEric Barchas, a veterinarian with over a decade of experience, names the flea treatments he considers safest and most effective for dogs. He says the topical treatments like Advantage and Frontline "work better than many products" and "have splendid safety profiles." He also warns against some topical treatments he feels aren't as safe. Dr. Barchas says the oral medicine Comfortis is reliable, but it may cause vomiting in some dogs.
A Dayton, OH Veterinarian Discusses Flea Control: Taking Aim on Fleas
by Staff of Twin Maples Veterinary Hospital
Our AssessmentThe staff of Twin Maples Veterinary Hospital in West Carrollton, Ohio, discuss the flea's life cycle and list their recommended treatments. Their top picks are the oral medicines Comfortis and Trifexis and the topical treatments Vectra 3D, Frontline Plus, and Revolution. You can also find other helpful information, such as how to control fleas in your home or yard.
Recommendations for Flea Control
by Staff of Mid Hudson Animal Hospital
Our AssessmentVets at Mid Hudson Animal Hospital in Hyde Park, N.Y., outline their top picks for flea control. The article is somewhat outdated, as it refers to the original Advantage and Frontline rather than the current Advantage II and Frontline Plus. However, the key ingredients of the products they recommend -- Advantix for Dogs and Advantage for Cats -- are unchanged. The authors do not recommend Frontline, saying many of their clients complain it does not kill the fleas.
4. All Feline Hospital
Not Dated
Flea Eradication
by Staff of All Feline Hospital
Our AssessmentVets at All Feline Hospital in Lincoln, Neb., say that flea-control products sold through vets are "almost all very safe and effective," but they are costly. They say the best over-the counter alternatives are Frontline Plus, Advantage II and Capstar. They also note that any flea treatment must be combined with rigorous vacuuming to remove fleas from the home. They warn against using any flea product with permethrins or pyrethrins on cats.
5. Marvistavet.com
Not Dated
The Flea Control Center
by Editors of Marvistavet.com
Our AssessmentThe staff at the Mar Vista Animal Medical Center in Los Angeles, CA, have assembled one of the more comprehensive information resources we spotted regarding flea control. Articles discuss flea biology, why some flea treatments become less effective over time (and what to do about it), how to spot counterfeit flea treatments and more. There's also a set of tables that list all vet-dispensed flea treatments, their key ingredients, whether they are oral or topical, safety information and more, but no explicit recommendations are made.
6. The Whole Dog Journal
January 2014
Protecting Your Home from Fleas
by Nancy Kerns
Our AssessmentThis article is the introduction to a discussion of flea control and flea-control products, though most of the content is available only to subscribers -- including specific recommendations. That said, there's plenty of good, free advice to be had here, such as sticking only to "oral medications and spot-on products made by the most reputable and responsible manufacturers."
7. Parasites & Vectors
As of March 2015
Home Page
by Contributors to Parasites & Vectors
Our AssessmentParasites & Vectors is an open access scientific journal offering peer-reviewed research into all facets of controlling pests and parasites, including fleas. There are a number of studies dealing with flea control products and their effectiveness on dogs and/or cats, though the most effective way to find them is to search by product. These studies are written for a scientific rather than consumer audience, so much of the information is hard to access, but clear, plain-English conclusions are often provided. Though the research is peer reviewed, some of the authors are employed by flea control product makers.
8. Amazon.com
As of March 2015
Flea Control
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells thousands of flea products, including some with thousands of user reviews. Sorting through reviews can be difficult, as different versions of the same product are often scattered across multiple pages. Products with the most reviews -- such as Frontline Plus, Advantix II and Capstar -- get similar feedback, between 4 and 4.2 stars.
9. Canine Journal
Aug. 13, 2014
Frontline vs Advantage: Keep Your Dog Flea Free
by Sara Logan Wilson
Our AssessmentThis head to head comparison attempts to determine which of the top spot-on flea treatments is best for your dog. Sara Logan Wilson notes that while Advantage II is slight less expensive than Frontline Plus, it lacks the latter's tick protection. Advantage II also works faster, though both products claim to kill fleas within 24 hours. "Bottom line: If ticks are not a concern, Advantage II is the right route for you, but if you are worried about ticks, it's better to pay a bit more and go with Frontline Plus for your pup," Wilson says.
10. 1800PetMeds.com
As of March 2015
Flea & Tick Prevention
by Contributors to 1800PetMeds.com
Our AssessmentThis online pet pharmacy sells many brands of flea control products, and a few products have literally thousands of reviews from pet owners. Navigation is a nuisance, however. While ratings are provided on the main page, you need to click through to each product to see if that rating is based on 1,000 reports, or just one or two. Reviews tend to be much shorter than the ones we see at Amazon.com.
11. PetMedNews.com
As of March 2015
Flea & Tick Preventatives
by Editors of PetMedNews.com
Our AssessmentThough associated with 1800PetMeds.com, PetMedNews.com offers unbiased and helpful news and information on all things related to pet health and well-being. The Flea & Tick Preventatives channel includes articles on how to decide between oral and topical flea treatments, additional steps to eradicate fleas from your home, why it's a bad idea to use flea treatment for dogs on cats, and more.
12. Petco.com
As of March 2015
Flea & Tick
by Contributors to Petco.com
Our AssessmentPetco.com sorts its flea and tick products into separate pages for dogs and cats (this is the landing page for dogs). The most popular products receive lots of feedback -- hundreds in some cases. Unfortunately, once again the number of reviews isn't displayed on the many navigation page, so you'll need to click through to individual products to see that information. Reviews tend to be short, and only a top rating is provided.
13. PetSmart.com
As of March 2015
Flea & Tick
by Contributors to PetSmart.com
Our AssessmentPetSmart.com is another large retailer of flea control and other pet products. The site's shortfalls are similar to Petco -- you need to click through to each product to see the number of reviews its rating is based on. In addition, we see far fewer user reviews posted here than elsewhere, with many getting only a handful, or none at all. Once again, flea and tick products are sorted into separate pages for dogs and cats, and this is the one for dogs.
14. ConsumerReports.org
July 2011
Consider new options for flea and tick protection
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentIn this free article, ConsumerReports.org notes that now that the patent on fipronil has expired, money saving generic versions of Frontline are available. But, while savings can be substantial, some cautions are shared about the least expensive generic products.
15. International Cat Care
Not Dated
Fleas and Flea Control in Cats
by Editors of International Cat Care
Our AssessmentInternational Cat Care is an international organization devoted to the welfare of cats. Its staff recommends "spot on" treatments rather than powders, collars or sprays to control fleas in cats. They also say tablets "can be useful in some situations." However, they do not recommend any specific products over others. The authors warn against relying on "alternative" remedies such as neem oil, which may not be safe or effective.
16. SimpleSteps.org
Not Dated
GreenPaws Flea and Tick Products Directory
by Editors of SimpleSteps.org
Our AssessmentThe directory of flea-control products at SimpleSteps.org, sponsored by the Natural Resources Defense Council, rates the safety of both traditional flea-control products and "natural" remedies, such as essential oils and diatomaceous earth. This site evaluates safety only; there's no information about effectiveness or ease of use. Information is detailed, but not very current; several of the products on the list have been discontinued or replaced and newer products are not discussed.
Sponsored Links

Back to top