Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Folding Bikes: Ratings of Sources

Total of 16 Sources
1. Auto Express
April 2011
Folding Bikes Tested
by Editors of Auto Express
Our AssessmentIt's not every car magazine that tests folding bikes, but the U.K.'s Auto Express does just that. Editors test eight of the latest folding bikes in a variety of conditions, including on potholed streets. Each bike is evaluated on folding ease, comfort, build quality and other factors. The Brompton S1E-X is declared the overall winner. Regrettably, the other top-rated folding bikes are not widely available in the United States.
2. Men's Journal
April 5, 2010
Break-Down Bikes
by Sarah Rose
Our AssessmentMen's Journal tests and rates six foldable bikes, including popular models from Brompton, Strida and Dahon. The individual reviews are not very detailed, but each bike is rated on a 10-point scale and there is a good amount of variation in the overall ratings. The Brompton folding bike is deemed the Best in Class, but the Dahon IOS XL and Montague Boston also get high ratings.
3. Bicycling Magazine
As of Aug. 2011
Folding
by Editors of Bicycling
Our AssessmentBicycling magazine reviews a number of foldable bikes for its 2011 buyer's guide, but the magazine focuses mainly on full-size bikes that can be broken down for travel rather than the small folding bikes used by commuters. Even so, some small folding bikes receive a detailed review, including the Bike Friday Pocket Rocket.
4. VeloVision
As of Aug. 2011
Folding Bike
by Editors of VeloVision
Our AssessmentVeloVision magazine has very thorough and informative reviews of folding bikes, although they're not published online and are only available to magazine subscribers. In each issue, editors discuss at least one foldable bike, although the bikes are not rated.
5. Bicycle Times
As of Aug. 2011
Web Articles
by Editors of Bicycle Times magazine
Our AssessmentBicycle Times magazine focuses on commuter bikes, so it covers folding bikes on occasion. Reviews are lengthy and based on hands-on evaluations, but the bikes aren't rated. Bicycle Times has recent reviews of the Brompton S6L, Xootr Swift and the Dahon IOS P8.
6. The Wall Street Journal
Oct. 6, 2010
The Folding Bike Goes Cool
by Michael Hsu
Our AssessmentThe Wall Street Journal recommends six folding bikes in this recent article. Each bike receives a relatively lengthy overview, but the analysis is based on features and benefits rather than a critical evaluation.
7. The Daily Mail
Aug. 28, 2010
Carry on Commuting: Our Man Gets Carried Away Testing Six of the Best Fold-up Bikes
by Simon Munk
Our AssessmentThe Daily Mail has an excellent review of six folding bikes, and it's particularly helpful because the author and tester -- Simon Munk -- pulls no punches when discussing each bike's shortcomings. Each bike is rated on a 5-point scale. The Brompton M3L-X gets the highest overall rating.
8. T3.com
Aug. 2011
Bike, if you like
by Simon Willis
Our AssessmentBritain's T3 magazine tests and rates five commuter bikes, including one foldable bike. Individual reviews are rather short, but they culminate in an overall rating. Pros and cons are also clearly noted. The Brompton M3 earns high ratings.
9. Momentum
2011
Folding Bikes
by Editors of Momentum magazine
Our AssessmentCanada's Momentum magazine highlights three folding bikes in its annual gear guide. Each bike only receives a one- or two-sentence overview, but it appears that the foldable bikes have been personally tested. Bikes from Bike Friday, Dahon and Strida earn recommendations.
10. BikeRadar.com
As of Aug. 2011
Folding
by Editors of BikeRadar.com
Our AssessmentThis U.K. review site is a good resource for folding bike reviews, but many of the top-rated foldable bikes are not widely available in the U.S. For bikes that are, the reviews are excellent -- detailed and balanced. Each bike is rated on a 5-point scale.
11. Men's Journal
April 29, 2011
Killer Commuters
by Editors of Men's Journal
Our AssessmentMen's Journal has a good test of commuter bikes, but only one folding bike is included -- the Bike Friday Quick Tikit. The bike is not rated, but it is evaluated by a number of testers, and tester comments are included within the brief analysis.
12. Outside Magazine
April 12, 2011
Dahon Speed D7
by Jeremy Spencer
Our AssessmentOutside magazine reviews one folding bike -- the Dahon Speed D7 -- for its annual bike special. The review is based on hands-on testing in a city environment, and it culminates in ratings for versatility and comfort. The Dahon Speed D7 gets high marks for versatility but scores slightly lower for comfort.
13. BikeCommuters.com
As of Aug. 2011
Reviews
by Editors of BikeCommuters.com
Our AssessmentBikeCommuters.com reviews folding bikes on occasion, and its reviews are lengthy and balanced. Editors discuss various considerations, including ride quality, comfort and folding ease. The new Melon Slice folding bike earns a positive review.
14. CommuteByBike.com
As of Aug. 2011
Reviews
by Editors of CommuteByBike.com
Our AssessmentCommuteByBike.com is another bicycling blog that publishes detailed single-product reviews of folding bikes. However, only a few foldable bikes have been reviewed recently, including the Montague Boston and Strida SX.
15. Zest
April 2011
Buy Your Perfect Bike
by Editors of Zest magazine
Our AssessmentZest magazine has a solid review of road, mountain and folding bikes, but only two foldable bikes are included in this review. Unfortunately, the reviews themselves are short on details and don't include any critical comments.
16. Business Week
May 13, 2010
A Commuter Bike You Can Take with You
by Stephen Treffinger
Our AssessmentBusinessWeek.com has a brief single-product review of the Brompton M3LA. The review is terse and lacks balance, but it includes some information on the Brompton folding bike's features.
Sponsored Links

Back to top