Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Food Storage Containers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 15 Sources
1. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
March 1, 2009
Dry Storage Containers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentEditors at Cook's Illustrated clearly describe the attributes they're looking for in a dry-storage container: airtight, able to accommodate a 5-pound bag of sugar or flour and wide-mouthed. Six brands are tested, and editors find that all of them seem well-designed. Features, including handles and measurement markings, set the winners apart. All six of the brands are recommended, but only one is highly recommended by testers.
2. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
May 1, 2010
Plastic Storage Containers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated magazine
Our AssessmentEditors of Cook's Illustrated put eight plastic storage containers through rigorous tests. All products are submerged in water to determine how leak proof they are; the containers are also frozen, refrigerated and microwaved to test durability. The containers are then run through 50 dishwasher cycles before going through the tests again. One model survives the tests and earns a highly recommended rating.
3. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
May 1, 2010
Glass Food Storage Containers
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentEditors of Cook's Illustrated put three glass food storage containers through a series of tests. The containers are submerged in water to determine whether they leak; they're also frozen, refrigerated and microwaved to test durability. The containers are then run through 50 dishwasher cycles before being put through the tests again. One model is listed as highly recommended after evaluation.
4. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
Best Storage Containers: For Wet or Dry Foods
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentEditors of Good Housekeeping evaluate 28 food storage containers in a series of tests. Testers evaluated for moisture by placing silica gel beads in each container (the beads change color when exposed to moisture). They also tested for leaks by shaking each container, for stains by filling them with tomato sauce, and for durability by running through 14 dishwasher cycles and dropping them from a counter. After the tests, editors select a top plastic container and a top glass container. Short analyses are given for each container tested.
5. ConsumerReports.org
February 2007
Storing Food the High-Tech Way
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentEditors test three food containers by storing cold cuts, cheese and fresh fruit in them, at room temperature and in the refrigerator for more than a week. They stored pasta sauce in the refrigerator overnight, microwaved the containers and washed them to see whether they stained. We can't quibble with the methodology here, but we wish the review included more brands; only three were tested.
6. Real Simple
Not Dated
The Best Food-Storage Containers
by Editors of Real Simple magazine
Our AssessmentEditors of Real Simple magazine select the best food storage containers in various categories, but they don't reveal how many containers they tested overall. Oxo Pop containers, which form an airtight seal and don't leak, earn a high rating, as does a Snapware Glasslock container. The Rubbermaid Produce container kept lettuce crisp for a week. We'd give this article a higher rating if editors revealed the containers that didn't measure up.
7. Amazon.com
As of September 2010
Storage and Organization: Food Storage Containers
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAt Amazon.com, many food storage containers earn a high average rating, but with a handful of reviews. However, there are a few that receive dozens of positive reviews. The Cupcake Courier, a plastic carrier for up to 36 cupcakes, earns near-perfect reviews from more than 60 owners, many of whom say it's very sturdy. A few owners note that it's bulky and heavy when full. Oxo Good Grips Pop Containers earn high average ratings from customers who say that their sealing mechanism is cleverly designed. The Rubbermaid Easy Find Lids, Lock & Lock and Pyrex Storage Plus containers are also highly rated
8. QVC.com
As of September 2010
Storage & Organization
by Contributors to QVC.com
Our AssessmentAt QVC.com, Lock & Lock containers are highly rated by customers, with most sets earning an average of 4.8 stars out of 5 in dozens of owner reviews. Owners call them durable, airtight, and well made. Not only are they easy to close, owners say, they're stackable. Reviewers also like the colored lids, which make it easy to separate foods by type.
9. Bestcovery.com
Jan. 29, 2010
Best Food Storage Sets
by Mariette Mifflin
Our AssessmentMariette Mifflin, Bestcovery.com's appliances expert, provides her list of the best food storage container sets. She has some specific features she's looking for in a container set, like interchangeable lids, an airtight seal, nesting storage and freezer storage. How she arrived at these picks is unknown, but brief descriptions of each container are provided
10. Bestcovery.com
Jan. 29, 2010
Best Specialty Food Storage Containers
by Mariette Mifflin
Our AssessmentAppliances expert Mariette Mifflin provides her list of the best specialty food containers. Mifflin says a good food storage container will save money by eliminating food waste. Brief descriptions of each of her five picks are provided, but her methods of arriving at her choices are not mentioned.
11. SeriousEats.com
Feb. 10, 2009
Food Storage Containers: What Do You Suggest?
by Contributors to SeriousEats.com
Our AssessmentAt SeriousEats.com's Talk forum, where users share advice on cooking and restaurants, a contributor asks what brands of clear, easy-to-access containers are ideal for a small kitchen. Numerous contributors call Lock & Lock containers airtight, stackable, stain-resistant, and durable.
12. MomsTakeOnThings.com
Oct. 5, 2009
Review: Rubbermaid Easy Find Lids Food Storage System
by "Deb"
Our AssessmentThis blogger, a self-proclaimed "organizational junkie," assesses Rubbermaid's line of storage containers: the Easy Find Lids, Produce Savers, Premier and Lock-Its. She says all containers solve her top two complaints in containers: how to store them, and what to do with the lids. This analysis includes photos of the lids attaching to each container's base. Although she likes all the Rubbermaid products, she says her favorite of the lines is the Produce Savers.
13. Buzzillions.com
As of September 2009
Food Storage Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentBuzzillions.com is a site that collects user reviews from dozens of other websites, and it can be a good place to read reviews from more obscure sites. However, reviews for food-storage containers aren't very plentiful.
14. Viewpoints.com
As of September 2010
Food Storage Container Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com invites customers to rate and review products that they own. Owners can identify themselves as "practical," "budget conscious," "messy," and so forth. The top-rated kitchen storage containers are Rubbermaid Easy Find Storage Lids, earning 4.75 stars out of a possible 5. Many storage containers also included in the reviews earn perfect scores in a single review.
15. Target.com
As of September 2010
Kitchen Storage: Food Storage
by Contributors to Target.com
Our AssessmentThere are a decent number of reviews for food storage containers on Target.com, though most products receive only about a dozen reviews each. Rubbermaid Easy Find Lids receive a perfect rating with close to 20 reviews.
Sponsored Links

Back to top