Sponsored Links
Page: 7 of 7
In this report

Foundation Makeup: Ratings of Sources

Total of 23 Sources
1. PaulasChoice.com
As of June 2013
Beautypedia Reviews
by Paula Begoun
Our AssessmentIn her online database of beauty reviews, Paula Begoun reviews hundreds of products. She relies on the Food and Drug Administration, scientific journals and various studies to rate products for effectiveness and overall safety. Begoun evaluates the ingredients in foundations as well as color range, texture and finish. The high volume of reviews here makes this an overwhelming place to start, but it is a great resource for evaluating formulas that are top-rated at other sites. Also, as dozens of products are all given the "best" rating, it's difficult to draw conclusions about the top products exclusively based on Beautypedia.
2. Choice magazine
March 6, 2013
BB Cream User Trial
by Zoya Sheftalovich
Our AssessmentEditors of Choice magazine tested 10 beauty balms with 34 testers. Each tester evaluated the creams for texture, coverage, effectiveness at moisturizing, and fragrance. Testers were also asked whether they would purchase the item themselves.
3. Good Housekeeping
February 2013
BB Creams
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentFrom the 10 BB creams reviewed, Good Housekeeping editors name a best BB cream and a best budget BB cream. Each earns an overall score of A-minus. Editors describe testers' findings, including a list of top pros and cons for each product. Typically, the Good Housekeeping Research Institute performs some type of lab testing on products, but it's not clear whether there was a lab element in this test.
4. Good Housekeeping
March 2010
Foundation Reviews
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentThe Good Housekeeping Research Institute (GHRI) tests and reviews seven long-wearing foundations, and gives each a letter grade. The four top-rated all receive an A-minus. While the scores are the same, each is given a title like "evens skin tone" or "easy to blend." GHRI also lists major pros and cons for each foundation as well.
5. Choice magazine
Sept. 30, 2009
Mineral Make- up Not So Natural
by Editors of Choice magazine
Our AssessmentEditors of Choice magazine, along with 29 volunteers, test and rate 14 mineral foundations for coverage, ease of application and appearance. Editors explain that most mineral foundations are not as natural as they claim to be and many of them contain a large quantity of synthetic and potentially irritating ingredients. The two top-performing formulas contain ingredients similar to liquid formulas.
6. Allure
Not dated
Best of Beauty: Base
by Theresa O'Rourke
Our AssessmentAllure editors have reviewed thousands of products over the years, and in the latest edition of its best beauty buys, editors select the 12 best base products, including foundation, powder, concealer, tinted moisturizer and more. Each product featured in this slideshow also has a full review page, which includes what it is, how it looks and feels, and why editors like it.
7. Allure
Not dated
The 8 Best Multitasking BB Creams
by Elizabeth Siegel
Our AssessmentIn this review, Siegel lists the eight best beauty balms, according to qualifications like "for mature skin" or "for dull skin." However, it's not clear how these BB creams were selected or whether they were compared to other products.
8. InStyle
Not dated
Best Beauty Buys: Face
by Editors of InStyle magazine
Our AssessmentInStyle editors review hundreds of products with the help of industry experts. The top-rated products for the face are listed by skin tone, but still there are some products that stand out as clear winners -- those that are a best pick for numerous skin colors. InStyle also lists one best budget foundation, but most products are higher end.
9. Redbook
Not dated
2012 Most Valuable Products
by Gina Way
Our AssessmentRedbook asks readers and industry professionals to name the best new products. Top products include foundation, concealer, tinted moisturizer and others. While this review is not dated, it was released during 2012. Each top product includes a tester quote -- but it lacks much direct comparison with competitors.
10. Glamour magazine
Not dated
The 2012 Glammy Awards: The 30 Best Beauty Buys Ever
by Editors of Glamour magazine
Our AssessmentUnlike most other magazine product awards, Glamour lets readers vote for the best products. Each category has one drugstore winner and one specialty winner. Maybelline New York Fit Me! Foundation is named the best drugstore foundation and BareMinerals Original SPF 15 is named the best specialty store foundation. Glamour doesn't draw distinctions between different types of foundation.
11. Real Simple
Not dated
The Best Foundation
by Bora Chang
Our AssessmentReal Simple "road tests" foundations with real testers -- as evidenced by testers' quotes. The best foundations are listed based on the amount of coverage and the skin type they're best for. While testers are quoted, it's not clear exactly how the foundations were tested and how many were tested total.
12. Real Simple
Not dated
The Best Mineral Makeup
by Sarah Smith
Our AssessmentReal Simple routinely tests household and beauty products with real-world users. In this roundup the best mineral makeup, foundation, blush, powder and eye shadow are included. It's not clear whether this test was done before or after Real Simple's foundation road test, but a different foundation is selected as the best mineral foundation here than the product chosen in the foundation roundup.
13. Self Magazine
May 2013
2013 Healthy Beauty Awards: Makeup
by April Franzino
Our AssessmentSelf's annual healthy beauty awards' testing methodology includes 1,600 readers testing more than 1,500 products. Self's test, unlike many others, focuses exclusively on new products (it doesn't specify just how new) and ranks them only against each other, not necessarily against the top products on the market.
14. Shape
Not dated
The 2012 Shape Beauty Awards
by Amber Kallor
Our AssessmentShape describes their testing procedures saying, "We cast a wide net to find the best picks of the year -- asking our staff, readers, and pros to slather, slick, and spritz their way through hundreds of products." Unlike most magazine reviews, Shape doesn't list winners according to category (e.g., "best foundation"); they simply list the 50-plus products they like best.
15. MakeupAlley.com
As of June 2013
Product Reviews
by Contributors to MakeupAlley.com
Our AssessmentReviewers at MakeupAlley.com score products on a scale of 1 to 5 and typically provide very detailed feedback, including their skin type and color. However, reviewers here generally tend to give ratings lower than many other sites, and the huge number of products reviewed makes it difficult to identify standouts. Many of the products listed here are not widely available.
16. TotalBeauty.com
As of June 2013
Reviews
by Contributors to TotalBeauty.com
Our AssessmentTotalBeauty.com compiles hundreds of owner reviews of foundations and concealers. Products aren't divided into quite as many categories here as they are at MakeupAlley.com, which leads to all the best foundations being mineral powders with no favorites for liquids or creams. On the other hand, editors do make it easy to find the top-reviewed products in the foundation and concealer categories. Each is scored on a scale of 1 to 10.
17. Women's Health magazine
March 18, 2013
Find the Right Foundation
by Jill Percia
Our AssessmentWomen's Health describes four newer types of foundation including foam, mineral, BB Cream and "liquid shaker." Jill Percia describes who is best for each one and how to apply them, and then offers a handful of recommendations for each type. Women's Health also provides some suggestions for traditional foundation based on the weather and skin type. Recommendations seem to be provided by industry experts.
18. Sephora.com
As of June 2013
Foundation
by Contributors to Sephora.com
Our AssessmentSephora.com offers a range of high-end foundations and other beauty products. Several top picks here have hundreds or thousands of reviews, which makes for plenty of opinions. However, generally, more times than not, items have 4 or more stars here than at other review sites, making it difficult to identify the best products.
19. Refinery29.com
March 13, 2013
Cover Up! 9 Awesome Concealers that Really Do Hide It All
by Megan McIntyre
Our AssessmentRefinery29.com offers a list of the nine best foundations. Products aren't organized into best picks for specific uses or skin types, but there is a pretty detailed paragraph accompanying each that explains why it's a good option.
20. Refinery29.com
March 22, 2013
Meet Your Match : The 8 Best Foundations for All Skin Tones and Types
by Leeann Duggan
Our AssessmentRefinery29.com is a reliable resource for beauty recommendations. However, this slideshow is somewhat lacking. Duggan claims editors have identified the best foundations for every skin type, but it's not clear whether she means that each of these eight formulas is good for all skin types, or that there's one option that's best for each. The slideshow itself doesn't offer any details on the products selected.
21. Cosmopolitan
Not dated
The Best Beauty Products of 2012
by Marta Topran
Our AssessmentLike many other sites, Cosmopolitan names the best beauty products each year, according to an unspecified testing process, but lacks many of the basic categories listed elsewhere, so it's not clear whether editors simply search for the 30-plus best products or whether they specifically look to fill certain product categories. Reviews aren't very detailed.
22. About.com
Not dated
Best Foundation: Top Picks for Every Skin Type
by Julyne Derrick
Our AssessmentJulyne Derrick, beauty guide for About.com, uses several sources (including beauty magazines, blogs and beauty-review websites) to compile her list of top foundations. Sixteen products make the list. Derrick says she has used a few of the products, but it appears as if most of them were not tested. Foundations listed here are not rated or compared to one another.
23. AllWomenStalk.com
Not dated
7 Best Foundation - Take Your Pick!
by Olga Kaushan
Our AssessmentSeveral women weigh in with their favorite foundations for this blog post at AllWomenStalk.com, a beauty blog. Each product is given a brief description, but none of them is compared to other foundations and reviews are not critical. Most of the foundations listed here are best for oily skin types.

Foundation Makeup Runners Up:

Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Base Mineral Foundation Est. $52

3 picks including: Real Simple, Women's Health magazine…

L'Oreal Paris True Match Super Blendable Makeup SPF 17 Est. $11

2 picks including: Allure, MakeupAlley.com…

Clinique Acne Solutions Liquid Makeup Est. $27

2 picks including: Allure, MakeupAlley.com…

Revlon ColorStay Makeup for Normal/Dry Skin Est. $13

2 picks including: About.com, MakeupAlley.com…

Cover Girl CG Smoothers AquaSmooth Est. $10

1 pick including: About.com, MakeupAlley.com…

Bobbi Brown Foundation Stick Est. $42

1 pick including: About.com, MakeupAlley.com…

image
Jane Iredale PurePressed Base Mineral Foundation SPF 20 - Warm Silk - Refill
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $52.00 $28.94   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
L'Oreal Paris True Match Super-Blendable Compact Makeup, Natural Ivory, 0.30 Ounces
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $10.99 $6.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Clinique Acne Solutions Liquid Makeup 03 Fresh Neutral
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $27.00
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Revlon ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex, Normal/Dry Skin, Fresh Beige 250, 1-Ounce
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $12.99 $2.80   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
CoverGirl Smoothers Aquasmooth Compact Foundation, Buff Beige 725, 0.4-Ounce
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $9.22   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
Bobbi Brown Foundation Stick Warm Walnut #7.5
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $57.15
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top