Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Gaming Computers: Ratings of Sources

Total of 21 Sources
1. PCMag.com
As of April 2013
Desktops
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentPCMag.com is a top source for reviews of desktop computers. Desktops are compared within individual write-ups, and a substantial variation in ratings makes it easy to spot the best performers. Ratings are provided and the very best computers earn Editors' Choice awards. Several gaming computers and other high-end desktop models are so honored.
2. CNET
As of April 2013
Desktops
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentCNET's thorough and balanced reviews are complemented by ratings that have grown notably tougher of late. Editors are specific about configurations tested, and they measure performance with applications and benchmarks. Up-to-date lists show Editors' Choice picks in various categories such as performance desktops, all-in-ones and more. CNET doesn't cover as many desktops as PCMag.com, but it's still one of the best sources for computer reviews.
3. Computer Shopper
As of April 2013
Desktop Reviews
by Editors of ComputerShopper.com
Our AssessmentComputerShopper.com tests a number of high-powered desktop computers and publishes detailed, balanced reviews for each one. Various desktops are judged good for business, gaming or families, but only a few win the overall Editors' Choice award.
4. MaximumPC.com
As of April 2013
Systems
by Editors of Maximum PC
Our AssessmentThis high-end enthusiast publication reviews at least one desktop gaming computer in each monthly issue. Write-ups are oriented to gamers who want overclocked CPUs, video cards and RAM, a strategy that maximizes performance and minimizes computer life. Computers are rated and top choices earn the site's Kick Ass! award.
5. The Verge
Dec. 20, 2012
The Best All-in-one PC: We Review the New Touch Screen Windows 8 Desktops
by Sean Hollister
Our AssessmentIn this nine-computer shootout, the Dell XPS One 27 Touch emerges as TheVerge.com's favorite all-in-one desktop PC. In a separate review, however, the Apple iMac 27-inch scores higher. Tests here are thorough and easy to read, and illustrated with photos and videos. We only wish editors tested more desktop computers.
6. ConsumerReports.org
As of April 2013
Desktop Computers
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org's testing and ratings make it easy to compare desktop computers. However, the site focuses on inexpensive models and some of the recommended computers have been discontinued. Unlike other technology reviewers that feature pages of in-depth analysis, ConsumerReports.org editors write only a few short paragraphs about each computer.
7. PC World
As of April 2013
Desktops
by Editors of PC World
Our AssessmentPC World's computer reviews are a mixed bag. Testing is conducted but isn't well documented, and editors evaluate fewer desktops than higher-ranked sources. Write-ups are shorter here, too, but there's enough to get the gist of reviewers' impressions.
8. Engadget.com
As of April 2013
Reviews
by Editors of Engadget.com
Our AssessmentEngadget.com doesn't evaluate as many desktop computers as PCMag.com or CNET, but its testing-based reviews are thorough and balanced. While the site no longer offers numerical ratings, editors leave no doubt about their feelings for a computer. All-in-ones and Apple models get most of the attention here.
9. Macworld
As of April 2013
Desktops
by Editors of Macworld
Our AssessmentMacworld is a good source for reviews of Apple Mac computers, covering all of the latest models as soon as they're released. Testing is comprehensive and discussion is satisfyingly long. Comparisons are made to other Macs, but not PCs.
10. Anandtech.com
As of April 2013
Systems
by Editors of AnandTech.com
Our AssessmentAnandTech.com has excellent reviews of desktop computers. Although the site is geared toward serious computer enthusiasts who can digest these highly technical write-ups, there are some evaluations of boutique gaming systems. Although desktop computers aren't rated, editors sum up their recommendations in concluding paragraphs.
11. TrustedReviews.com
As of April 2013
Desktop PC Reviews
by Editors of TrustedReviews.com
Our AssessmentThis British-based technology site has a small but useful selection of computer reviews. Desktop models are tested extensively and rated on a variety of criteria; overall ratings are also given. The best computers receive a Recommended award, although no current PCs earn that distinction.
12. HotHardware.com
As of April 2013
Systems
by Editors of HotHardware.com
Our AssessmentHotHardware.com periodically evaluates specialty computers in comprehensive and balanced reviews. Testing, documentation and relevant comparisons are excellent. Editors don't rate products, but they do hand out Approved, Recommended and Editor's Choice awards. Only a few desktop computers have been reviewed recently.
13. DigitalTrends.com
As of April 2013
Desktop PC Reviews
by Matt Smith
Our AssessmentAlthough its reviews are relatively detailed, DigitalTrends.com doesn't test as many desktop computers as better sources do. Only a few desktop models earn Editors' Choice awards, including gaming PCs from Maingear and Falcon and a mainstream model from Velocity Micro.
14. About.com
As of April 2013
Personal Computer Reviews
by Mark Kyrnin
Our AssessmentAbout.com's guide to PC hardware reviews several computers, and lists the top models in several different classes such as best all-in-ones, best performance desktops and more. Evaluations are based on features and expected performance, but there's no mention of testing being conducted.
15. PC World (Australia)
As of April 2013
Desktop PCs
by Editors of PC World (Australia)
Our AssessmentThese reviews aren't as detailed as at some other sites, but they offer numerical ratings based on hands-on testing and are more in-depth than the evaluations at its U.S. counterpart. However, several write-ups are picked up from that site. Fewer desktop computers are covered here and some of them aren't available on U.S. shores.
16. PCMag.com
Feb. 20, 2013
Readers' Choice Awards 2013 Winners: Laptops and Desktops
by Ben Gottesman
Our AssessmentPCMag.com conducts yearly surveys of service and support. Readers report instances of repair, experiences with tech support and their general satisfaction with their computers. Apple wins the Readers' Choice award for desktops, earning the highest ratings in every category. Asus, the top Windows pick, also gets a Readers' Choice award. Lenovo and Acer earn Honorable Mentions. Dell posts the lowest ratings among desktop computers.
17. HardwareHeaven.com
As of April 2013
Desktops
by Editors of HardwareHeaven.com
Our AssessmentThis is a good source for reviews of high-end gaming computers designed for serious gamers. Although the site focuses on content for do-it-yourselfers who build their own gaming desktops, editors do review some complete systems but recent write-ups are few and far between. The technical reviews may be overkill for the average reader, but serious computer game players will find them well worth a read. Desktop computers are rated on criteria like build quality, design and performance, and the best models receive Recommended ratings.
18. Wired
As of April 2013
Desktops & Accessories
by Editors of Wired
Our AssessmentWired reviews desktop computers only on occasion, and the critiques aren't as detailed as sources we rank higher. Even so, the testing-based evaluations are fun to read. Each desktop is rated on a 10-point scale, and editors are quick to point out pros and cons.
19. BestBuy.com
As of April 2013
Desktop and All-in-one Computers
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com has a small selection of desktop computers suitable for gaming and other tasks that require high performance. User reviews are reasonably detailed, and several high-end desktops attract dozens of posts.
20. NewEgg.com
As of April 2013
Desktop PCs
by Contributors to Newegg.com
Our AssessmentThis tech retailer lets users post reviews of desktop computers they own. Reviewers are required to state their technical proficiency and how long they've owned/used the computer, so it's easier to put individual write-ups into context. Although a number of high-end computers, including gaming computers, are listed, most get only a handful of reviews.
21. Amazon.com
As of April 2013
Desktops
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is normally a good spot for reading user reviews, but its desktop computer category can be hard to navigate. You can sort posts to find the highest-rated models, but discontinued computers are mixed in with current ones. A handful of high-performance computers earn high ratings with a dozen or more reviews posted.
Sponsored Links

Back to top