Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Garbage Disposals: Ratings of Sources

Total of 12 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
June 2013
Garbage Disposers
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org publishes the findings of its latest garbage disposal tests, rating 12 continuous feed and two batch feed disposers on performance in the areas of speed, fineness of grind, grinding of vegetable scraps and noise. A video demonstrates how the testers examine products, but the report's full results are available to subscribers only.
2. Amazon.com
As of September 2013
Garbage Disposals
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com, which allows users to share their experiences with products they've purchased or used, is a valuable resource of consumer opinion on a variety of items. Garbage disposals receive fewer posts than some product categories, but top-rated models like the Waste King Legend 8000 attract nearly 1,300 comments.
3. HandyManHowTo.com
Nov. 18, 2010
How to Replace a Garbage Disposal - Part 1 (to 5)
by Bob Jackson
Our AssessmentOn his do-it-yourself how-to website, Jackson describes in detail how to install a Waste King Legend 8000. He also notes his level of satisfaction with the product after installation.
4. HomeDepot.com
As of September 2013
Disposers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com allows customers to review products it carries at its retail outlets as well as online. It sells InSinkErator, General Electric and other brands of garbage disposals.
5. Lowes.com
As of September 2013
Garbage Disposals
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLike many online retailers, Lowes.com offers customers the chance to review products on its website. The chain carries many garbage disposals from brands including InSinkErator, General Electric and KitchenAid, and reviewers typically comment on their installation and performance. In the case of the GE GFC520V, Lowes.com includes both owner comments from the manufacturer's website and its own customers.
6. ABT.com
As of September 2013
Garbage Disposals
by Contributors to Abt.com
Our AssessmentThis website for the Chicago-area independent appliance and electrical store Abt carries a variety of disposer models across brands, including KitchenAid and General Electric, and allows customer reviews. When users post feedback, they can choose to also name pros and cons.
7. Costco.com
As of September 2013
Garbage Disposals
by Contributors to Costco.com
Our AssessmentCostco.com users can also post feedback on products they purchase. The site carries only a few garbage disposals, but some of the more popular models receive up to 100 reviews. Owners primarily comment on product speed, noise and ease of installation.
8. Walmart.com
As of September 2013
Garbage Disposals
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com allows customers to share reviews about products they've purchased or used. About 50 garbage disposals are available, and owners typically provide feedback on their installation, noise and food-grinding abilities.
9. Build.com
As of September 2013
Garbage Disposals
by Contributors to Build.com
Our AssessmentThis online home improvement company offers a selection of garbage disposals, mostly from InSinkErator and Waste King. Owners can post feedback for models they own, and ask questions of customer service representatives or other users in a public forum.
10. HHGregg.com
As of September 2013
Disposals
by Contributors to HHGregg.com
Our AssessmentConsumer electronics retail site HHGregg.com offers only a few garbage disposals, with the KitchenAid KCDB250G getting the most positive reviews. Pros, cons and "best uses" are identified, and owners can share whether they'd recommend the disposer to a friend.
11. Overstock.com
As of September 2013
Garbage Disposals
by Contributors to Overstock.com
Our AssessmentOverstock.com occasionally offers garbage disposals, often Waste King models. Hundreds of purchasers post reviews commenting on their durability, performance and ease of installation.
12. TerryLove.com
As of September 2013
Terry Love Plumbing & Remodel DIY Forum and Blog
by Contributors to TerryLove.com
Our AssessmentSeattle-based Terry Love of Love Plumbing & Remodel moderates this popular plumbing forum where homeowners and plumbers can ask and answer questions on do-it-yourself projects and other topics. Garbage disposals are discussed in a few threads, and one of the most often recommended is the InSinkErator Evolution Excel.

Garbage Disposals Runners Up:

InSinkErator Evolution Excel 1 Horsepower Disposer Est. $320

4 picks including: Amazon.com, HomeDepot.com…

General Electric GFC520V ½ Horsepower Disposer Est. $110

3 picks including: Amazon.com, Lowes.com…

KitchenAid KCDS075T ¾ Horsepower Disposer Est. $250

3 picks including: Amazon.com, ConsumerReports.org…

image
Kitchen Aid KCDB250G 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $119.00 $79.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
InSinkErator Evolution Excel 1.0 HP Household Garbage Disposer
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $625.00 $291.99   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
General Electric GFC520V 1/2 Horsepower Continuous Feed Disposall Large Capacity Food Waste Disposer, Black
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $99.00 $71.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
image
KitchenAid Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Buy from Amazon.com
from Amazon.com
New: $269.00 $212.00   
In Stock.
Average Customer Review:  
Sponsored Links

Back to top