Sponsored Links
Page: 8 of 8
In this report

Gas BBQ Grills: Ratings of Sources

Total of 23 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
May 2013
Gas Grills
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentThis comparative review includes evaluations of 165 gas grills in a variety of price ranges and sizes. Grills are rated on factors including high-temperature cooking, low-temperature cooking, indirect cooking and convenience. A comprehensive buying guide that describes key features and evaluates brands accompanies the ratings.
2. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
May 1, 2013
Charcoal Grills
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentIn this report, editors rate seven charcoal grills according to grilling performance, heat retention while barbecuing, cleanup and quality of construction. The editors also weigh in on factors like design and ease of assembly in their comprehensive report. Four of the tested models are either recommended or highly recommended.
3. Cook's Country
June 1, 2011
Portable Charcoal Grills
by Editors of Cook's Country
Our AssessmentEditors from this sister publication of Cook's Illustrated evaluate six portable charcoal grills, judging them on factors including portability, durability and cooking performance. Two of the models tested earn unqualified recommendations. Testing criteria are indirectly explained in the introduction, although the actual process isn't clear.
4. Men's Journal
July 29, 2009
The Charcoal Experiment
by Steve Mazzucchi
Our AssessmentAdam Perry Lang, author of the cookbook "Serious Barbeque," tests six charcoal grills and rates each on a scale of 1 to 10. He gives his highest rating to the Big Green Egg, noting that it delivers long-lasting, high heat with relatively few coals. The Weber One-Touch Gold also scores well. The lowest ratings go to the Char-Broil Santa Fe and the Portable Kitchen Grill.
5. About.com
Not dated
Before You Buy a Gas Grill
by Derrick Riches
Our AssessmentThis article provides links to Derrick Riches' picks for the best gas grills in six price categories. He also provides a buying guide specific to each price category and a list of his top small grills. The commentary contains useful insider information. In general, Riches says that Weber grills are more expensive, but have better quality than other brands. Riches updated this report for 2013.
6. About.com
Not dated
Top 10 Charcoal Grills
by Derrick Riches
Our AssessmentDerrick Riches presents his top-10 list of charcoal grills. While the report is undated, he mentions in an introduction that his picks are current for 2013. Five models - the Weber One-Touch Silver, Big Green Egg, Old Smokey #22, Portable Kitchen Cooker and Hasty-Bake Legacy 131 - earn his highest rating. Riches doesn't explain his rating criteria clearly, but he has more than 15 years of experience critiquing grills, so his reviews are worth consulting.
7. About.com
Not dated
Top 10 Portable Grills
by Derrick Riches
Our AssessmentAbout.com's grilling guide Derrick Riches names his top-10 portable grills, which include gas, charcoal and electric styles. The Weber Q-220, Weber Jumbo Joe and Solaire Anywhere earn top reviews.
8. Amazon.com
As of July 2013
Grills
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com offers the largest number of user reviews for charcoal grills we found, including at least a few comments for almost every model sold. The comments here provide useful information on the longer-term performance and durability of the grills. Weber grills get the most reviews and the highest ratings. The Lodge Logic hibachi grill also gets high ratings from a significant number of users.
9. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
Great Grills (Under $500!)
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentEditors at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute test 12 grills that are available for less than $500; gas, charcoal and electric models are considered. The Char-Broil Commercial Series with Infrared is considered the best overall choice, while the Brinkman 4-Burner Gas Grill is named a "budget buy." The editors provide very brief details about how their tests were conducted.
10. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
Best Outdoor Grills of 2013
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentStaff at the Good Housekeeping Research Institute test 12 grills and recommend three, with each recommended grill receiving brief comments from editors. The Weber Spirit Gas Grill is considered best overall, while the Brinkman Medallion 5-Burner Gas Grill is named a "bargain buy," and the Char-Broil Tru Infrared Commercial 4-Burner is called a "total multitasker."
11. Walmart.com
As of July 2013
Grills & Accessories
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com sells a wide variety of grills, although many garner only a handful of user reviews. Nevertheless, a few mid- and lower-priced models receive a significant amount of user feedback and high average ratings. They include the Weber One-Touch Silver, Go-Anywhere Gas Grill and Q-320, as well as Char-Griller, Coleman and George Foreman models.
12. GrillsDirect.com
As of July 2013
Charcoal Grills
by Contributors to GrillsDirect.com
Our AssessmentAs a retailer that deals almost exclusively in grills (and a few other cooking-related items, like turkey fryers), GrillsDirect.com is a great source of user opinions. Many grills sold here have accumulated at least a few user reviews, but only a handful receive high scores and more than 50 reviews, including several Weber models.
13. HomeDepot.com
As of July 2013
Charcoal & Wood Grills
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHome Depot carries a wide assortment of grills, with some models garnering only a few reviews and others accumulating more than 100. While many brands are represented, Weber grills generally account for the highest ratings from a large sample. Char-Broil and Vision Grills models also earn high scores.
14. Lowes.com
As of July 2013
Grills & Outdoor Cooking
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLike its direct competitor, Home Depot, Lowes.com sells a number of grills in various brands and sizes. Consumers have clearly chosen the Char-Griller Charcoal Grill as the best-rated model here, giving it a perfect score with more than 200 reviews. Three Weber models come in as close seconds; though they haven't amassed as many user reviews, they each get perfect scores as well.
15. Sears.com
As of July 2013
Grills
by Contributors to Sears.com
Our AssessmentSears.com sells a number of charcoal grills, but many of them receive few user reviews. For this reason, the Weber One-Touch Silver Kettle Grill stands out with an average 4.5-star (out of 5) rating and nearly 70 reviews.
16. Viewpoints.com
As of July 2013
Grills Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com isn't associated with any particular online retailer; instead, editors collect user opinions about various products in survey-like reviews. The Big Green Egg Extra-Large receives just over 20 reviews and gets a very high average rating of 95 points (out of 100). The Big Green Egg Large earns a 96-point rating, but with fewer reviews. A variety of Weber grills earn scores of 90 points or higher with more than 50 reviewers posting ratings.
17. CBS News
February 11, 2009
Grills Buying Guide, for Any Budget
by Christine Quinlan
Our AssessmentChristine Quinlan, senior editor at Food and Wine magazine, visits CBS's "The Early Show" to discuss gas and charcoal grills. She gives positive reviews of two charcoal grills: the Weber 22.5-inch kettle grill (she doesn't specify a model) for those who want a classic grill and the Lodge Logic Sportsman hibachi grill for, well, sportsmen. Her reviews list the pros and cons of both charcoal grills.
18. Slate Magazine
June 5, 2007
Fired Up: Which Portable Grill Cranks Up the Heat?
by Jude Stewart
Our AssessmentIn this comprehensive and entertaining review, Jude Stewart gets a group of friends together to test seven portable grills rating them based on taste, convenience and performance. The testers ultimately pick the Weber Smokey Joe Gold as their top-rated portable grill. The Weber Go-Anywhere Gas Grill and the Coleman RoadTrip Party Grill also earn high scores.
19. BBQGuys.com
As of July 2013
BBQ Grill Videos & Reviews
by Editors of BBQGuys.com
Our AssessmentRetail site BBQGuys.com posts videos detailing top charcoal grill picks. Site editors issue ratings, but they don't explain what they mean or the criteria on which each brand is ranked. Their in-depth videos give information on each grill's components, heat distribution, adjustability and convenience. Although most reviews are generally positive (they are selling grills, after all), the information can be helpful.
20. Buzzillions.com
As of July 2013
Grill Reviews
by Contributors to Buzzillions.com
Our AssessmentBuzzillions.com collects user reviews from a number of online retailers, forming a fairly cohesive picture of consumers' opinions. We don't give this source much weight, simply because many of the reviews you'll find on Buzzillions.com come from other sources that we've already evaluated, including Amazon.com. However, this is still a useful site to visit if you want a quick snapshot of user opinion about any particular grill.
21. Epinions.com
As of July 2013
Grills $170 to $600
by Contributors to Epinions.com
Our AssessmentMost of the top-rated grills on Epinions.com earn only a handful of reviews. An exception is the Weber Q-220, which earns an average rating of 4 out of 5 stars from nearly 50 reviewers.
22. The Toronto Star
May 16, 2009
Barbeque Season is Heating Up
by Vicky Sanderson
Our AssessmentVicky Sanderson recommends various types of grills: portable, eco-friendly, mid-priced, premium and "alternative." Although she provides a brief description of key features, there's no indication that the grills have been tested or compared to other products. Some of the grills, such as the Napoleon TravelQ, the Big Green Egg and the Weber Genesis series, are available in the United States.
23. The New York Times
July 12, 2011
Green Eggs and Hamburgers
by John T. Edge
Our AssessmentJohn T. Edge describes how the Big Green Egg is winning fans across the country, among both consumers and commercial restaurant owners. While he quotes users, Edge performs no formal product testing or comparative reviews that include competitive products.
Sponsored Links

Back to top