Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Gas BBQ Grills: Ratings of Sources

Total of 13 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
Not Dated
Gas Grills
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentThis comparative review includes evaluations of more than 165 gas grills in a variety of price ranges and sizes. Grills are rated on factors including high-temperature cooking, low-temperature cooking, indirect cooking and convenience. A comprehensive buying guide that describes key features and evaluates brands accompanies the ratings.
2. Cook's Illustrated Magazine
May/June 2013
Charcoal Grills
by Editors of Cook's Illustrated
Our AssessmentIn this report, Cook's Illustrated editors rate seven charcoal grills according to grilling performance, heat retention while barbecuing, cleanup and quality of construction. The editors also weigh in on factors like design and ease of assembly in their comprehensive report. Four of the tested models are either recommended or highly recommended.
3. About.com
Not Dated
Before You Buy a Gas Grill
by Derrick Riches
Our AssessmentThis article provides links to Derrick Riches' picks for the best gas grills in six price categories. He also provides a buying guide specific to each price category and a list of his top small grills. The commentary contains useful insider information. In general, Riches says that Weber grills are more expensive, but have better quality than other brands.
4. About.com
Not Dated
Top 10 Charcoal Grills
by Derrick Riches
Our AssessmentDerrick Riches presents his top-10 list of charcoal grills. Each is accompanied by a link to a thorough review. Riches doesn't explain his rating criteria clearly, but he has more than 15 years of experience critiquing grills, so his reviews are worth consulting.
5. About.com
Not Dated
Before You Buy a Smoker
by Derrick Riches
Our AssessmentDerrick Riches rounds up smokers here, and provides a buying guide and links to the top smokers in several price categories. As with his grill reports, reviews are thorough and his expertise shines through.
6. The Guardian
July 13, 2014
The best BBQs reviewed: Britain gets a taste for 'low and slow' cooking
by Kit Buchan
Our AssessmentIn this round up of grills, focusing on low, slow cooking, for the British paper The Guardian, American chef Neil Rankin, an acknowledged expert in barbecue-style cooking, names his top five picks for grills. Although this was written for a British publication, these grills are widely available in the U.S. and include the Big Green Egg and the Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker.
7. Lifehacker.com
June 16, 2013
Five Best Grills
by Alan Henry
Our AssessmentThese top five grills were chosen based upon a poll of LifeHacker.com readers. Each pick includes a review that explains what those who voted for each grill like about it. Among the top five are the Weber Original Kettle, the Weber Genesis Series, and the Big Green Egg.
8. AmazingRibs.com
As of March 2015
Ratings & Reviews Of 500 Grills, Smokers, Pits, Hog Roasters, And More
by Editors of AmazingRibs.com
Our AssessmentAmazingRibs.com offers a resource for shoppers looking for grills, smokers and more. The site includes buyer's guides, in-depth reviews, and roundups covering hundreds of grills. Expert reviewers are knowledgeable and often have hands on experience with the grill they review.
9. Amazon.com
As of March 2015
Gas, Charcoal and Smoker Grills
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com offers the largest number of user reviews for grills and smokers we found, including at least a few comments for almost every model sold. The reviews here provide useful information on the longer-term performance and durability of the grills. Weber and Char-Broil grills get the most reviews and the highest ratings.
10. HomeDepot.com
As of March 2015
Grills and Smokers
by Contributors to HomeDepot.com
Our AssessmentHomeDepot.com carries a wide assortment of grills, with some models garnering only a few reviews and others accumulating more than 100. While many brands are represented, Weber grills generally account for the highest ratings from a large sample. Char-Broil and Brinkman models also earn high scores.
11. Walmart.com
As of March 2015
Grills & Outdoor Cooking
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentWalmart.com sells a wide variety of grills, although many garner only a handful of user reviews. Nevertheless, a few mid- and lower-priced models receive a significant amount of user feedback and high average ratings.
12. Lowes.com
As of March 2015
Grills
by Contributors to Lowes.com
Our AssessmentLike its direct competitor, HomeDepot.com, Lowes.com sells a number of grills in various brands and sizes. Weber and Char-Broil are popular here, but some get only a few reviews, others earn hundreds of ratings.
13. Viewpoints.com
As of March 2015
Grills Reviews
by Contributors to Viewpoints.com
Our AssessmentViewpoints.com is an independent user review site and is not associated with any retailer. The Big Green Egg Extra-Large receives just over 20 reviews and gets a very high average rating of 95 points (out of 100). The Big Green Egg Large earns a 96-point rating, but with fewer reviews. A variety of Weber grills earn scores of 90 points or higher with more than 50 reviewers posting ratings for each.
Sponsored Links

Back to top