Sponsored Links
Page: 5 of 5
In this report

Genealogy Software: Ratings of Sources

Total of 14 Sources
1. Family Tree Magazine
As of March 2010
Software Guide
by Rick Crume
Our AssessmentReviewer Rick Crume rates 12 titles for Windows and five for Macintosh. Crume says "the best choice for you depends on your personal preferences." Overall, he favors RootsMagic and Legacy Family Tree. This site also has loads of tips and tricks for genealogy research, along with an active user forum.
RootsMagic Essentials
by Dick Eastman
Our AssessmentDick Eastman offers a good overview of the free version of RootsMagic, noting that it beats the "old fashioned" Personal Ancestry File in features and usability. This site is also chock-full of genealogy software news, though navigation isn't so easy. Eastman occasionally does hands-on testing of new software or new features.
3. TopTenReviews.com
As of March 2010
2010 Genealogy Software Review Product Comparisons
by Editors of TopTenReviews.com
Our AssessmentThis side-by-side comparison of genealogy software is helpful, though some of the specs are incorrect, so we're dubious of the 2010 date. Although a full editor's review is included for each software title, the reviews don't compare the various programs as much as we'd like. Legacy Family Tree 7.0 Deluxe and Family Tree Maker 2010 are the highest-rated. The editors say both are quality products with good features and options. RootsMagic 4 is third on the list. Though the editors say it is a good program especially for beginners, they point out that product development is less aggressive than with their top two products, "so you won't find innovative features once you begin your research." Ancestral Quest 12 is called a simple program for anyone wanting to get started in genealogy. The Master Genealogist is a "complex program" for people who are as serious about genealogy as the professionals are, but it might be overwhelming for a beginner.
4. Download.com
Oct. 2, 2009
RootsMagic 4.0
by Editors of Download.com
Our AssessmentEditors at Download.com praise RootsMagic's simple directions and excellent layout. One downside is they didn't test the web-enabled features of RootsMagic, as they evaluated only the trial version.
5. MyMac.com
June 17, 2008
MacFamilyTree 5
by Larry Grinnell
Our AssessmentMyMac.com's review of MacFamilyTree 5 is very detailed and includes numerous screenshots. The reviewer is well versed in genealogy research and explores many of MacFamily Tree 5's advanced features, although he doesn't compare it with other Mac genealogy programs, including the popular Reunion 9.
6. MacGenealogist.com
Oct. 19, 2008
MacFamilyTree 5.3 Beta
by Ben Sayer
Our AssessmentMacGenealogist.com offers a reasonably detailed review of MacFamilyTree 5.3 beta, and calls it a promising genealogy database application best suited for those who value a program's appearance as well as how well it works. Reviewer Ben Sayer writes, "It's a particularly good fit for those who want their data on their iPhone and those who want hassle-free, no cost web publishing."
7. Macworld
May 18, 2007
Reunion 9.0
by Jeffery Battersby
Our AssessmentThis latest version of Reunion was four years in the making. Jeffery Battersby writes, "The latest version adds dozens of new features and enhances dozens more, resulting in more than 100 updates to an already-excellent program." Some of the new features include exporting web pages and exporting records to iPods. This application is "beautifully designed, easy to use and a pleasure to work with," Battersby says.
8. Macworld
July 15, 2007
Heredis 10.2
by Jeffery Battersby
Our AssessmentJeffery Battersby says Heredis 10.2 (aka X.2) is a "well-designed and versatile genealogy program." While Macworld's reviews are current and informative, it's frustrating that the reviewer doesn't compare programs with one another or indicate which might be better suited for particular users. Aside from an overall rating, we're not sure which program Battersby thinks is best.
9. About.com
March 27, 2009
RootsMagic 4
by Kimberly Powell
Our AssessmentAbout.com has reviewed RootsMagic in the past, though it doesn't really review the latest version, RootsMagic 4, in any depth. But genealogy guide Kimberly Powell says she has evaluated beta versions of the app and finds it's "an impressive program." She cites the improved source wizard, support for DNA tests, improved navigation and data entry, and integrated web search as positive improvements. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
10. About.com
Not Dated
Personal Ancestral File 5.2
by Kimberly Powell
Our AssessmentAbout.com genealogy guide Kimberly Powell reviews Personal Ancestral File 5.2, and finds that it's "surprisingly powerful and feature-packed, considering that it is a free program." She praises the program's multiple views, including its five-generation pedigree view, as well as its simple data-entry screen. (Note: ConsumerSearch is owned by About.com, but the two don't share an editorial affiliation.)
11. Amazon.com
As of March 2010
Genealogy Software
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentLike many online retailers, Amazon.com lets users post reviews of products they've purchased. Although most current titles get limited or no feedback, there are a few with several useful reviews. Among them, RootsMagic 4 and Reunion 9 get ratings of 4 stars or better with more than 20 reviews.
12. GenSoftReviews
As of March 2010
Genealogy software reviews
by Contributors to GenSoftReviews.com
Our AssessmentNearly 400 programs are rated here by users, and they can be sorted in a number of ways. You can click on the number of reviews to see users' comments. Most programs only have one or two reviews. The Master Genealogist, RootsMagic and Legacy have the most reviews and receive favorable ratings. Reunion, for Macintosh users, also receives high ratings.
13. CNET
Jan. 16, 2007
Geni: Finally, Genealogy Made Easy
by Rafe Needleman
Our AssessmentEditor Rafe Needleman is impressed with what Geni.com offers. He praises its interface, though he notes it lacks many of the finer features available with paid software.
14. Smart Computing
June 2007
Roadmap to Your Roots
by Kylee Dickey
Our AssessmentThis article spotlights RootsMagic Family Atlas, a software program that creates maps of the areas where your ancestors' lived. Reviewer Kylee Dickey says this is especially useful in helping to locate records for your ancestors, because state, county, city and township lines are not always constant. Dickey also says the program is useful in allowing readers of your family history to visualize the areas where ancestors lived. The software is not, however, a genealogy program.
Sponsored Links

Back to top