Sponsored Links
Page: 8 of 8
In this report

Hair Colors: Ratings of Sources

Total of 26 Sources
1. ConsumerReports.org
March 2013
Hair Dye Buying Guide
by Editors of ConsumerReports.org
Our AssessmentConsumerReports.org tests 13 home hair-color kits for efficacy in covering gray hair. Editors say that all perform well, but a few produce excellent results. Testers also evaluate ease of use and features of each of the products tested.
2. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
Best At-Home Haircolor
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping tests nine home hair color formulas for gray coverage and fade resistance. Results vary by shade but Clairol Natural Instincts proves to be the best formula overall for all shades. Revlon ColorSilk's dark brown, burgundy and ultralight natural blonde shades also perform well, topping the brunette, red and blonde hair categories. Clairol Nice 'n Easy in natural dark neutral blonde performs equally well in the blonde category.
3. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
Our Best-Ever Hair Advice
by Leesa Suzman
Our AssessmentTesters at Good Housekeeping try several at-home color kits and rate them on how well they live up to claims. Only the top four are listed, with a brief description of results. Tips for maintaining hair color are also included. The report is a bit dated, but most of the products covered are still available.
4. Good Housekeeping
Not dated
Anti-Aging Hair Products
by Editors of Good Housekeeping
Our AssessmentGood Housekeeping tests 73 products with anti-aging claims, including hair color products that claim to cover gray. Winning products include permanent and demi-permanent colors as well as root touch-up kits. Each product is given a brief description but non-winning products are not discussed.
5. Prevention Magazine
Not dated
Prevention's 2012 Beauty Awards: Best Hair Products
by Katie Becker
Our AssessmentA panel of 275 Prevention readers along with 10 experts test and rate more than 1,700 beauty products to find the best of 2012. Winning products go "above and beyond" what is typically expected of products in the same category. Two at-home hair color products make the list: Couture Colour LuxeBlend Creme Hair Colour and Garnier Nutrisse Nourishing Color Foam. Non-winning products aren't mentioned, however.
6. MakeupAlley.com
As of June 2013
Hair Color
by Contributors to MakeupAlley.com
Our AssessmentMakeupAlley.com does not sell products at their website, but it provides a forum where registered users can rate beauty products on a scale of 1 to 5. There are more than 300 hair-color products listed and most get only a few reviews, although the major brands sometimes attract more than 200 reviews from those who've tried the products. Comments are extremely helpful, involving ease of use, the quality of the resulting color, odor and more. Of those hair colors with the most reviews, products from Revlon, Garnier Nutrisse, Clairol, L'Oréal and Ion rate the highest.
7. InStyle
April 2013
Best Beauty Buys: Hair - Color
by Editors of InStyle magazine
Our AssessmentEvery year editors at InStyle magazine test hundreds of beauty products to find the very best of old and new products in several categories. Three products are chosen for 2013: L'Oréal Paris Couleur Experte, Clairol Nice 'n Easy and Clairol Nice 'n Easy Root Touch-Up, a couple of which have been chosen in multiple years.
8. Allure
October 2012
Best of Beauty 2012: Hair
by Theresa O'Rourke
Our AssessmentAllure editors, cosmetic chemists and dermatologists test thousands of products and choose 245 for the best beauty list. Three products are listed for at-home hair color, including a highlighting kit, a root coverage product and a single process kit. This review would rank higher if editors included any details about the testing results.
9. Allure
Not dated
10 Under $20: Home Hair-Color Kits
by Catherine Q. O'Neill
Our AssessmentAllure magazine recommends 10 budget-priced at-home hair color kits. Each is given a brief description, and while products do appear to have been tested, none are rated or compared.
10. Real Simple
Not dated
Expert Tips on Hair Coloring
by Sarah Smith
Our AssessmentReal Simple turns to professional hairstylist, Rita Hazan, for hair coloring tips and product recommendations. Hazan prefers L'Oréal Paris Superior Preference for blonde shades, Clairol Natural Instincts for brunettes and L'Oréal Paris Feria Multi-Faceted Shimmering Colour for redheads. This article also includes tips for prepping hair before coloring and for maintaining hair color. Products are not rated or compared, however.
11. Allure
Not dated
2012 Readers' Choice Awards
by Meirav Devash
Our AssessmentEditors of Allure magazine tally up readers' votes for best beauty products of 2012. The list of winners includes 53 products in several categories, which consist mostly of tried-and-true products that have been around for awhile. L'Oréal Paris Superior Preference is the only hair color product to make the list.
12. TruthInAging.com
May 20, 2012
Natural Hair Color Choices Grow
by Marta
Our AssessmentA few safe alternatives to mainstream chemical hair colors are suggested by a TruthInAging.com contributor. Although most of the recommended products are not completely natural, they all avoid the worst offenders -- namely PPD and resorcinol. Surya Henna Cream is the only product that has been tested by TruthInAging.com.
13. Redbook
Not dated
Gorgeous Hair Color You Can Get at Home
by Cheryl Kramer Kaye
Our AssessmentCheryl Kramer Kaye offers tips for getting celeb-inspired hair color at home. Suggestions for what to ask for at the salon along with shade recommendations for do-it-yourself kits are listed. It isn't clear if any of the products listed were tested.
14. BellaSugar.com
Sept. 8, 2010
Great Drugstore Hair Color: Tried, Tested, and Loved
by Popsugar Beauty
Our AssessmentBellaSugar.com, lists top-performing home hair coloring kits based on the personal experience of the author, who has been dying her hair since the seventh grade. Each recommendation comes with a brief description explaining why it makes the list. Top picks here are similar to those found in other reviews.
15. Woman's Day
Not dated
How to Color Your Hair at Home
by Editors of Woman's Day
Our AssessmentEditors offer tips for getting professional results when coloring at home. Editors also list tips for fixing and preventing mistakes. Three at-home hair color kits are recommended, but they aren't rated.
16. TotalBeauty.com
As of June 2013
15 Best Hair Color Products
by Contributors to TotalBeauty.com
Our AssessmentUsers at TotalBeauty.com rate and review hundreds of hair color products. Most of the products listed here are only reviewed a handful of times, but some earn dozens of reviews. L'Oréal Paris Excellence Color Creme, Garnier HerbaShine Color Creme, L'Oréal Paris Superior Preference, Clairol Natural Instincts and eSalon Custom Formulated Hair Color earn high ratings from upwards of 120 reviewers.
17. Drugstore.com
As of June 2013
Hair Color
by Contributors to Drugstore.com
Our AssessmentDrugstore.com sells many drugstore items, including at-home hair-color kits, and allows consumers to post reviews and rate products on a scale of 1 to 5 stars. Although the reviews are not as easy to navigate as those at MakeupAlley.com and most product ratings vary from one color to the next, we still found the reviews to be useful in showing which brands are most popular.
18. BeautyHigh.com
March 4, 2013
Cheap Thrill: The Best At-Home Hair Color Kits for Red Carpet Results
by Kristin Booker
Our AssessmentBeautyHigh.com, a beauty blog operated by StyleCaster Media Group, lists the top at-home hair color kits as chosen by a group of hair color fanatics. Each is given a brief description, but none of the products are rated or compared.
19. Walmart.com
As of June 2013
Hair Color
by Contributors to Walmart.com
Our AssessmentSeveral hair dye kits are evaluated and rated by Walmart users. Although many of the products are reviewed hundreds of times, most hair color kits only receive mediocre ratings. Just for Men Mustache, Beard and Sideburns; L'Oréal Paris Superior Preference; L'Oréal Excellence Cream and Samy Fat Foam Permanent Hair Color earn the highest ratings. Reviews aren't as detailed as those listed at MakeupAlley.com and TotalBeauty.com, however.
20. Amazon.com
As of June 2013
Hair Color
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com sells hundreds of hair color products, but they can be hard to find, and they don't always have a lot of reviews. You may do better at this site if you search for a specific product. MakeupAlley.com and TotalBeauty.com are better sources for user reviews of hair color.
21. TheBeautyBrains.com
Nov. 8, 2008
Hair Color Basic Beauty Science
by Right Brain
Our AssessmentIn this article, cosmetic chemists at TheBeautyBrains.com explain the basics of hair color -- the elements that create natural hair color as well as the chemical processes that are necessary to change hair color. A brief history of hair coloring techniques is included, but specific products aren't reviewed.
22. BehindTheChair.com
Not dated
Ask Beth! A Q&A for Color Pros / 2-07
by Editors of BehindTheChair.com
Our AssessmentIn this article Beth Minardi, a New York City hair stylist, answers questions about hair color. Although the discussion is geared toward hairdressers, she offers some great information about the differences between permanent, semi-permanent and demi-permanent hair colors.
23. PaulasChoice.com
Not dated
Drugstore Versus Salon Hair Color
by Editors of PaulasChoice.com
Our AssessmentEditors at PaulasChoice.com -- beauty expert Paula Begoun's retail and informative website -- say that there is little difference between salon and at-home hair color products. At-home kits are a great way to save money and time and are relatively easy to use. Editors say that it's best to see a professional, however, if you want to change hair color by more than three shades, if you are dying your hair red or if you are trying to fix a problem.
24. TheBeautyBrains.com
April 23, 2012
How Does Ammonia Free Hair Color Work?
by Editors of TheBeautyBrains.com
Our AssessmentIn this article, one of the cosmetic chemists at TheBeautyBrains.com explains the difference between permanent and demi-permanent hair colors. According to the article, "ammonia-free" hair color products are not necessarily better for hair or the environment, and they can't produce results as dramatic as those attained with permanent hair color products.
25. TruthInAging.com
Nov. 3, 2010
Henna for Hair - Is It Safe?
by "SarahK"
Our AssessmentThis anonymous reviewer discussed the history of henna as well as its benefits for use on the hair. Editors also discuss Food and Drug Administration warnings about black henna, which isn't actually henna.
26. Prevention Magazine
November 2011
Dye It Your Way
by Jessica Matlin
Our AssessmentPrevention magazine lists three rules for coloring hair at home as well as tips to get a professional look. No specific products are mentioned.
Sponsored Links

Back to top