Sponsored Links
Page: 4 of 4
In this report

Hand Held Game Systems: Ratings of Sources

Total of 16 Sources
1. CNET
As of March 2012
Consoles
by Editors of CNET
Our AssessmentCNET is among the better sources of reviews of handheld game systems. Systems are reviewed as they come to market, and the reports are comprehensive and reflect hands-on testing. Each system receives a star rating, so you can see where it stacks up relative to the completion. The Sony PlayStation Vita is called the "most advanced" handheld system to date, but the use of proprietary media and other issues are noted.
2. CNET
March 1, 2012
Sony PS Vita vs. Nintendo 3DS
by Brian Tong
Our AssessmentCNET also has excellent video "prizefights" that pit two handheld game consoles against each other, including the Sony PlayStation Vita and the Nintendo 3DS. Three CNET editors score each console on a variety of criteria, including value, design and gaming performance. Pros and cons of each system are thoroughly explored. In this prizefight, the Sony PlayStation Vita is a clear winner, taking five of six rounds. You can also find a prizefight pitting the older Sony PSP-3000 and the Nintendo DSi on the CNET site (Sony again prevails).
3. DigitalTrends.com
As of March 2012
Video Game System Reviews
by Editors of DigitalTrends.com
Our AssessmentDigitalTrends.com has excellent technology reviews that are detailed and balanced. It's also one of the few reviewers that test all of the major handheld consoles, including the Nintendo 3DS and the Sony PlayStation Vita. Of all the handheld consoles reviewed, the Sony PlayStation Vita earns the highest score and an Editors' Choice award.
4. PCMag.com
As of March 2012
Computer & Console Gaming
by Editors of PCMag.com
Our AssessmentPCMag.com reviews most of the major handheld game systems. Many, including the Nintendo 3DS and Nintendo DSi, XL, earn 4-star ratings. The Sony PlayStation Vita scores similarly, but it also garners an Editors' Choice award as "one of the best handheld game systems to date."
5. Engadget.com
As of March 2012
Gaming
by Editors of Engadget.com
Our AssessmentEngadget.com publishes solid reviews of video game consoles, including handheld game systems. Pros and cons are noted along with a good amount of balanced analysis, and comparisons are sometimes made, but the site has abandoned awarding ratings. Comparing the Sony PlayStation Vita to the Nintendo 3DS, Sean Buckley says the Sony portable is technically stronger but isn't sure if that's enough to pull it ahead of the longer-established 3DS.
6. Amazon.com
As of March 2012
Video Games
by Contributors to Amazon.com
Our AssessmentAmazon.com is the best source for user reviews of handheld game consoles. Nearly every major console is sold here, including older systems like the Nintendo DS Lite. Most handheld consoles earn similar overall ratings, though we see less feedback for the Nintendo 3DS than for other consoles. Early opinions of the Sony PlayStation Vita seem very positive.
7. Wired
As of March 2012
Gaming Gear
by Editors of Wired
Our AssessmentWired is another good source for handheld gaming reviews, because it covers nearly every device on the market. The site has recent reviews of the Sony PlayStation Vita, Nintendo 3DS and DSi XL, but older posts on the Nintendo DSi and Nintendo DS Lite are also helpful. Among all the consoles reviewed, the Nintendo DSi XL gets the highest score (9 out of 10). The Nintendo 3DS gets 8 out of 10, with the review calling it a "true game-changer." The PlayStation Vita gets dinged a little, resulting in its overall score of 7, for its required use of expensive and proprietary add-on memory.
8. GoodGearGuide.com
As of March 2012
Consoles
by Editors of Good Gear Guide
Our AssessmentIt's hard to find reviews of handheld gaming systems because they are intermixed with numerous game and accessory reviews. You'll likely have to use their search box. Analysis is relatively brief, but the site is worth visiting for its balanced coverage and helpful rating system. The Nintendo DSi XL and Sony PlayStation Vita score equally, at 4 out of 5 stars, while the Nintendo 3DS and Sony PSP-3000 earn scored of 3.5 each.
9. T3.com
As of March 2012
Consoles
by Editors of T3.com
Our AssessmentThe British site T3.com is a good source of reviews of handheld game systems. Analysis is less detailed than in our higher-ranked sources, but a 5-point rating system makes it easy to compare consoles. Editors review most of the major systems, with the Nintendo 3DS and Sony PlayStation Vita each earning a 4-star rating; the Nintendo DSi XL scores a 3.
10. BestBuy.com
As of March 2012
Video Games & Gadgets
by Contributors to BestBuy.com
Our AssessmentBestBuy.com has fewer reviews for handheld video games than Amazon.com, but the site is easy to navigate and reviewers say whether they would recommend the system to a friend. However, ratings are similar for most handheld video consoles.
11. TrustedReviews.com
As of March 2012
Game Reviews
by Editors of TrustedReviews.com
Our AssessmentBritain's TrustedReviews.com currently hosts reviews for the two newest handheld game systems, the Sony PlayStation Vita and the Nintendo 3DS. Of the two, the PlayStation Vita earns the highest score, 9 out of 10, as the "ultimate" portable gaming console. The Nintendo 3DS is "well-built and eminently usable," but it also has some shortfalls. It earns a score of 8.
12. Arstechnica.com
As of March 2012
Opposable Thumbs
by Editors of ArsTechnica.com
Our AssessmentArsTechnica.com is a great source for some technology products, but it doesn't cover as many handheld game systems as sources we rank higher, and finding what's here can be a chore. Even so, the reviews here are technically sophisticated and very balanced. Not all of the major handheld consoles have been reviewed. Kyle Orland says the Sony PlayStation Vita "is among the most elegant pieces of gaming-focused technology I've yet seen." Ben Kuchera says that the Nintendo 3DS "works, and works well." The original Nintendo DSi also gets a positive review.
13. TechRadar.com
As of March 2012
Handheld Consoles Rated
by Editors of TechRadar.com
Our AssessmentBritain's TechRadar.com doesn't have the most detailed technology reviews, but the site's coverage is excellent when it comes to handheld game systems. Nintendo systems tend to score highest here, with the Nintendo DSi being the only handheld game console to receive a perfect score. The Nintendo DSi XL and 3DS fall behind by just a half star. The Sony PlayStation Vita is called "brilliant" but is held back by a few negatives; it earns 4 stars.
14. Pocket-lint.com
As of March 2012
Gaming
by Editors of Pocket-Lint.com
Our AssessmentNavigating Pocket-Lint.com is a bit of a chore, because it's difficult to find reports on specific handheld video game consoles among the many game and accessory reviews. Once you find those reviews, however, the site becomes a good source. Products are rated on a 5-star scale. The Sony PlayStation Vita and Nintendo DSi get 4.5-star ratings, while the Nintendo DSi XL, Nintendo 3DS and Sony PSP Go get lower scores.
15. PC World
As of March 2012
Gaming Reviews
by Editors of PC World
Our AssessmentPC World's gaming section is hard to navigate, and it's pretty difficult to find reviews of handheld consoles among the many other news articles and game reviews. Still, editors provide solid reviews of the Sony PlayStation Vita and Nintendo 3DS, which receive 4 out of 5 stars, and the DSi XL, which earns 3 stars. Their review of the Sony PSP-3000 does not carry a star rating but is generally positive.
16. NewEgg.com
As of March 2012
Video Game Consoles
by Contributors to Newegg.com
Our AssessmentNewegg.com doesn't have as many owner-written reviews as Amazon.com or BestBuy.com, but the reviews are usually fairly detailed and reflect a good deal of technical sophistication. There aren't enough reviews to draw any conclusions on the best handheld consoles overall.
Sponsored Links

Back to top